We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Honeymooners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from two stays at this hotel for our honeymoon and it could not have more perfect. We had a superior room which overlooked the pool. The room was very spacious with one of the most comfortable and biggest beds I have ever slept in. The aircon was very efficient and welcomed as it was very hot during our stay. Great having the pool to relax by at the end of the day and the staff are very efficient and friendly. Very central location near loads of bars and restaurants so we didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
We will be visiting Girona on a regular basis as we love it so much and will definitely be staying here every time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lbolton646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    123
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
63
270
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Junior Suite on the top floor...wow! This was a perfect room could not fund fault, they had even turned on the air conditioning for our arrival! Breakfast was great, buffet style with the most gorgeous freshly squeezed orange juice. Pool area was small but perfectly formed and very well kept. We ate a fee meals at the hotel and I have to say Gian Carlo was the perfect host/chef, he also makes a mean G&T! Please stay here if you get the chance!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic - right in the city centre, with cafes and restaurants on the doorstep and less than 5 minutes walk to the old city. Its city centre location did make it a little tricky to find (you're confronted by a bollard before getting close to the hotel) however we found out that there's a call button next to the bollard and the hotel can let you through to unload your cases, before parking the car in the nearby garage. The parking initially seems expensive at €21 per day, but in comparison to other major cities it's not too bad (and we knew of the charge in advance).

Our room was very spacious, amazingly comfortable large bed, great bathroom with walk in shower and had everything we needed. I agree with other reviews about the rooms being a bit dark though - ours was also a standard room with one window opening onto the light well in the centre of the building - I'm not sure whether you have to book a superior room to get one with a proper window... But having said that, this did not ruin our stay as we spent very little time in the room itself.

The pool/garden area was a lovely spot to unwind and read at the end of a more hectic day wandering the streets of Girona. We didn't eat at the hotel due to the vast number of options so close by, but the breakfast always smelled good and eating dinner in the garden looked very appealing. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful.

Overall a really good choice for a visit to Girona and good value for money for the type of hotel too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a party of four. Upon arrival we found both rooms had been upgraded to suites. The rooms were wonderful and super spacious. The staff were attentive and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The pool area is again perfect, especially after a long hot day navigating the tiny streets if this amazing city. I will be back and I will stay here! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmiles1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although the reason we're having to stay is French ATC strikes, and we were pretty irritated after a 2 hour bus journey from Barca to Girona in order to get back to the UK in good time, we were pleasantly surprised.

Only downside is lack of restaurants nearby. It was a 'cafeteria tapas' meal or nothing.

Clean, decent staff, large bed, nice bath.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good location and very solicitous, professional staff-a relief after some other hotels. The room was well-lit, but that didn't make up for the single window that opened into an air shaft in the interior of the building. Also, our fridge didn't work and it took two calls to get it fixed. Breakfast was pricey, but worth it--nice variety of meats, cheeses, and breads and freshly-squeezed orange juice!

Room Tip: Make sure your room window isn't on the interior air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nord 1901 went far above our expectations travelling as a young couple hitting up Cellar De Can Roca. The lobby is decked out with modern amenities, excellent decor and overall modern clean and capable feeling. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even helping us find the best secret tapas in the city after 12 am. The pool area is a little oasis in the city that makes it definitely unique. Overall, highly recommend it as one of the best city hotels I've ever seen in Spain or even broader Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Property: Nord 1901
Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing