We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service”
Review of Curcuma

Curcuma
Ranked #34 of 514 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Kyoto, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A hotel staff recommended here.It's a small restaurant ,but there were nice service and good food.A relaxed atmosphere inside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuchicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    93
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value in lovely, friendly Tapas restaurant”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ate here twice on our visit to Girona, once for the set lunch, which is incredible value, and then for the tapas menu in the evening. Very welcoming owner who speaks good English and will guide you through the menu, and suggest matching wines which were also very inexpensive. Apart from us I think almost everyone else was local, which I always take as a good sign. Atmosphere is very relaxed, nice decor, very clean, and service was attentive and friendly.

We chose from the tapas menu, though there is also the option of a set tapas tasting menu. Our favourites were the sea bass and the rabbit. Really enjoyed it and will definitely return when we go back to Girona, which is a lovely city and great choice for a short break.

Some reviews have commented on difficulty in finding the restaurant. It's actually very central and not hard to find - but the trick is when you go up Carrer Nou del Teatre, don't go very far, turn right on the little square before the real estate office and it's diagonally across the square.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woburnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Poor reservation Handling Skills”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Would have loved to add this to my lost of reviews around the world but the owner was apparently a bit careless on the way he handled my reservation which he himself confirmed one month ago. After I arrived with my family... "ups"... he had not made a note of my reservation and he did not have a space for us nor he offered anything else but his apologies. I must note that we were extremely punctual on showing up at the exact accorded for time. He apparently still has a lot to learn about restaurant management. From Australia to Russia, from Germany to Japan, I had never gone through such an experience. It was a very sour flavor for such a lover of the Catalonian nation as I am!

Helpful?
2 Thank docoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana Rose
Level 6 Contributor
952 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas to Share - Great Value”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had dinner here one night. It's a small restaurant, with a wonderful atmosphere. The wait staff was very helpful and the pace for dinner was perfect. It's a very popular place so reservations are advisable.

The concept here is 'tapas to share'. There are maybe 15 or so dishes to choose from and we tried 6 between the two of us, plus 2 different desserts. Everything we had was delicious: the asparagus, the cannelloni, the duck, the lamb, and the fish dishes. We also wanted to try the escargot, but they were out. Great local wines and awesome warm bread to soak up the savory sauces. The final price was also great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapas restaurant”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Yesterday we visited Restaurant Curcuma in Girona. A kind reception by the owner and a glas of cava to welcome us. A nice selection of wines and tapas or rather small tasty dishes of vegetables,fish or meat. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. Worthwhile a visit when you come to Girona!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curcuma also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Curcuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing