We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic night in Girona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic night in Girona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hotel Gran Ultonia is very close to all the amenities for Girona a first class hotel if you are staying for one night they do a special offer luxury room sparkling wine, orange juice, water, chocolates, and scented rose petals on the bed and late check out You must ring the Hotel 24hrs before for the offer If you want to stay longer the Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and friendly staff a very pleasant place to spend a few days

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshireman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    253
    66
    9
    12
See reviews for
81
294
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent two nights at the Gran Ultonia whilst exploring Girona. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and well appointed with excellent facilities; the bathroom was fabulous. The Gran Ultonia is also superbly located for sightseeing in the old part of the city and for shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveontnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked rooms at the Gran Ultonia and the price was very good. But to be honest I was a bit disappointed because I was told certain things which we didn't get. For example, I was told that all the rooms that we booked would have balconies. That was not the case. We had no view at all that was worth looking at and no balcony. Plus they advertise the free mini bar. I don't know about you, but when we heard that, our expectations were more than 2 bottles of water in each refrigerator. Yes the room was clean though there was someone's hair in the bidet from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. Also the bed was hard as a rock and we are all used to sleeping on firm mattresses. The bathroom was new and lovely. But the little sliver of a bar of soap that is in the bathroom is honestly a bit embarrassing. I think they could do a bit better with that. On a positive note, the staff is lovely, in particular Eduard. Though I wish when I spoke to them on the phone when making the reservation, they didn't lead me to believe that we would be getting rooms with balconies. The location is excellent but I honestly would not consider this a **** hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerachel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed one night in the Gran Ultonia on our motorcycle trip through Spain. The rooms and property were quite nice (although there was some construction happening next door), but the service was excellent, with almost everyone we dealt with going out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Degan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam20dj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Very nice hotel in the city center..New facilities,relax big roo very good facilities in bathroom..Everything was perfect

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam20dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Gran Ultonia in Girona is an excellent hotel for seeing the many attractions in Girona. It is walking distance from the old city as well as restaurants in the new part of the city. Reception staff are extremely helpful (in English), and the rooms and bathroom are modern and comfortable. We took advantage of their 67€ romantic package which included late check out and couldn't have been more pleased. Parking was extra and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic in Girona. It was great to park in the hotel garage and forget about the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here one night in June 2012 during our trip to Girona and were very pleased with our stay. The room was large, clean and modern, the staff were very attentive and the breakfast is a great value. Highly worth the reasonable cost and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Hotel Ultonia Girona
#12 of 20 in Girona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing