We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is in central Girona and has the most fantastic shower in the world! It's like a wet room and it's huge!

Brilliant Hotel - lovely service and excellently positioned. We visited in early November and had a room which was easy to get to from a convenient lift - and extremely good value for money. Staff on reception were attentive and friendly.

Almost as good as the amazing shower was the underground car park which is not always a possibility with a city Hotel but this one had one (cornering was difficult as space is restricted) and we were very grateful.

What a great place Girona is. We went when the festival was on and had a wonderful time. Food in the area was good value for money, airfares were unbelievably cheap as was car hire and the Hotel was just the icing on the cake.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lifts and make sure you get one with the new showers in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    266
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
308
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November. The rooms very nice and quite modern, no complaints. The hotel is in the new part of town, but walking distance to the medieval part of town, plus close to a square full of restaurants. It was also walking distance to the train station (which we discovered after taking a cab the first day.)

We had the breakfast, since there were no cafes really close (and it was cold outside). The breakfast was fine, quite adequate. There was also a very nice bar on ground level where we hung out at various times. It was open early for coffee, which was nice.

The front desk staff were helpful and nice as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rancher1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in downtown Girona with various Restaurants nearby.

Rooms are well appointed and gives a new hotel look and feel.

Staff is extremely courteous and front office staff was welcoming and supportive.

Breakfast was good and nothing to complain about. Staff in breakfast area was extremely helpful and cheerful- something that I don't find in Europe often.

Hotel has several levels of underground car park as well.

They have a nice lounge bar.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulTikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in Nov. 2013. We booked a "Superior" room but it was very small with a window looking into an internal light well, very little daylight, no view. The room was very clean and had been updated recently. The shower was excellent. Staff were friendly. We stayed on a Room Only basis so I cant comment on breakfast which was available at €12-50 per person.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 410, very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was a perfect first stop on our trip to Spain. We requested a quiet room and the hotel was very good about meeting any special needs that we had. The room and service was great. I thought the rates were very reasonable. We spent one week here in October 2013. Be sure you get the Gran Ultonia not the older Ultonia. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the busy street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaBaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in Girona for one night in late october. Ultonia was very well located close to the old town. The hotel was clean and simple a little bit old but for sure ok. The hotel also had a parking in the house, that was great. We arrived late in the night and it was no problem the staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn´t have breakfast on the hotel but it was really easy to find a cafe just in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfkalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I spent a couple of nights at this excellently located hotel. The room was reasonably sized with a large bathroom with a good powerful shower. All the sights of Girona are on the hotels doorstep, with the old town being just a short walk away, with plenty of bars and restaurants within a five minute walk. If you have flown in by Ryanair to Girona airport, the connecting bus station is a ten minute walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing