We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel looks brand new and is high quality but very well priced. Good to see clever use of lights and lifts. The lights in hallways are all sensor controlled and one lift is always at the ground floor and open ready for quick use - seemingly a very small thing but very convenient. The rooms are quite a good size and immaculately clean. Very well located within a five minute walk to the Old Town via the impressive Independence Square. They have on site car parking available at a reasonable price. It is under the hotel and accessible by lift.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Wam111,

We are sincerely sorry for the delay in responding to your great review about Gran Ultonia. We appreciate the time you used to share your opinions with us. Thank you for your awesome comments. We are glad to hear that we have reached to suit your needs and expectations.

Thank you for pointing out some important factors that will make our guests feel welcome and wanted. Please visit us soon again at Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Best regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    258
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
303
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is brilliant for access to Girona, the old town, shops, bars and restaurants. We were there whilst the flower festival was on and staff provided us with maps etc to help us make the most of it.
Very clean hotel and the room was spotless with a very comfy double bed. Hotel is on a main road but not noisy at all (we stayed on the first floor). We chose not to have the breakfast at 12.5 euros as there are many cafes within 2 minutes of the hotel selling coffee, pastries, etc for breakfast at a fraction of the price.
Staff were all very polite and helpful, no coffee and tea in the rooms but coffee machine on the landing (1 euro) but there was a mini bar in the room.
The shower in the room was one of the best for this type of hotel, there was a power shower and rainfall shower and plenty of toiletries provided.
Only disappointment was the rooftop bar wasnt open and the downstairs bar had run out of cava!
Cab from Girona airport cost 27 euros. Hotel has parking. We would stay there again without hesitation. For the price it was amazing value, we payed 147 euros for 2 nights, which was outstanding value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fremaycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Fremaycha,

We are sincerely sorry for the delay in responding to your great review about Gran Ultonia. We appreciate the time you used to share your opinions with us.

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of our hotel at TripAdvisor. It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to know that your experience met your expectations in almost every aspect, as it is due to their effort and dedication, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately you had to experience the shortage of cava in the hotel facilities. We will make sure that this happens never again.

We wish to have the opportunity to see you as our guest, once again, in the future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Hotel is great, it is so close to lots of bars restaurants and the train station for that matter but we didn't use it so i cannot comment on that, We lanned at the airport and took a cab to the hotel cost us 27 EUROS which is a fair price as about 15min drive. The hotel is on a main road however not noisy, We didn't arrive until 1am however the staff were great told us where to go to get a drink very helpful Giving us map to show us were to go the next day. He also told us we could stay for free untill 2pm as we requested a late checkout.
We went up to our room to unpack Where the room was lovely, clean a big, Bathroom was brilliant choice of power shower or waterfall shower plus showergels, Comb,shower cap,soap etc.
There is a Free safe -Not laptopsize, We went for a wonder and found a bar that the hotel recommended "Cocktails and" it was called great little place open till 3am. Next day we went out early to one of the local restaurants for breakfast which was just around the corner in the main square which comes alive in the afternoon,
We wondered around the town all day was so beautiful and hotel it suited very well to all amities
We came back to our room at 1pm to find the door had been double locked so had to get the maid to unnlock it as all our stuff was inside, Someone didnt get the message about late stay Clearly,We then had a quick and easy check out will stay again when back in the city.
We would have liked to used the roof top bar it was opening two days after we left typical

view was not great but we did not spend much time in there, No tea and coffee making factiy in the room you can call room service or go down to vending machine.

Overall fantastic will stay again hopefully for longer

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixieboo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Pixieboo23,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are glad to hear that we have reached to suit your needs and expectations. Moreover we feel proud of your comments in relation to our hardworking staff that has a genuine passion for hospitality.

We really have to reconsider the possibility to add coffee/tea making facilities to the rooms. Thank you for pointing out this lack of service.

Hopefully we will see you as our guest soon in the future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions, both times in the 4* rooms which were very clean and comfortable with modern fully equipped bathrooms. The hotel is only a two/three minute walk from the main plaza with its bars and restaurants, and within 10 mins walk of the cathedral and old quarter of the city. We opted not to include breakfast on the second trip as it was at best of average quality and the main plaza offers several excellent choices at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Peter M,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are happy to receive your kind review. We want you to know that your opinion is highly valued and very important for us because we aim to improve our services constantly.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your time during both of your stays in Hotel Gran Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

You really can't go much wrong with this place if arriving by train. It is a short walk away- no more than 10 minutes walk and only 5 minutes from the old town. The rooms are what you expect of a good 3 star, clean decent sized and an excellent shower. Let down by lack of coffee making facilities and lack of any originality. However the free wifi is excellent and the room was very quiet so a good night sleep can be had even on the lower floors. Service was good and we had no issues . I would stay here again for an overnighter but possibly head for a more characterful place if longer than a couple of days

Room Tip: courtyard room will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Laurenw129,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is really wonderful to hear you had a great stay in our hotel and that our efforts have brought positive results. Even though it seems like we need to improve the amenities in the rooms before your next visit.

We wish to have the opportunity to see you as our guest, once again, in the future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A fabulous hotel in a really central location with spacious and modern rooms. It was a perfect base for exploring Girona and really easy to find from the train station. Definitely worth more money than what we paid for it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Lucy495,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed such a relaxed holiday in our hotel and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Moreover we feel proud of your comments in relation to our facilities and location.

Please come back soon as we want to make sure that you enjoy your stay once again in Gran Ultonia.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for a few nights last month and thought it was great.

It's everything you want in a hotel: it was quiet, clean and in a great location.

It's not quite in the old town, but only a 5-10 minute walk away from it. And it's a reasonable walk from the train station as well.

It's about a 5min walk from the Parc de la Devesa where there's a big Staurday market, and just around the corner is Txalaka - an awesome tapas place. (Cheap, super casual and lots of fun)

The breakfast was OK as well. Not amazing, but deinfitely worth the money and served in a nice sunny room as well.

We'll definitely stay again when we visit Girona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Billionz,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you so much for the awesome review. Our location is the best you can get. In the middle of transtation, park, old town and the best restaurants in Girona. We look forward to welcome you back and pamper you with our genuine hospitality.

Kind regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing