We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight in this hotel whilst en route to Barcelona and back to the UK at the end of a holiday.The hotel is very well situated, being roughly halfway between the railway/bus station and the old historical part of the town - just a few minutes walk either way. Staff were efficient, courteous, helpful and spoke good English. Our room was nicely furnished, comfortable, very clean and with one of the best showers I have ever experienced in a hotel. The rooftop terrace was a pleasant additional amenity. Breakfast was fresh and entirely adequate, but was a bit lacking in creativity - it could do with more innovation.

Room Tip: The road is quite busy, so guests preferring a quieter room may prefer one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryphaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Tryphaena,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for sharing your positive review. I know you have many hotels to choose from for your trip through Girona. Knowing that our guests enjoy their stays is most rewarding and it is always a great source of motivation for us to keep doing our best and constantly make further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back and pamper you with our genuine hospitality.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    258
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
303
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rasquera
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were a little concerned that our internet booking through a well advertised company was non refundable. Now we know why! A wonderful entrance and reception deteriorated once we left the lifts. Our room was past the service lift and consisted of two separate rooms. The first had two beds in it, leading to another large room with two more beds pushed together without covers. There were no tiles or carpet anywhere just false wood floors. No tiles in the bathroom just lined walls. A toilet was stuck in a corner void and the shower was over the bath, slippery with no grab rail. There was a picture on the wall and a TV with an almost empty mini bar.
The two small windows had close up views of large extractor pipes again in dark voids. It was an oppressive feeling room and sleep was interrupted by strange noises all night, Possibly a service/luggage lift.
It was without doubt the worst room we have stayed in anywhere in the World, We didn't have breakfast, just needed to get out and on the road. To our next venue, thankfully a Parador.
The hotel position was great, near the main square and just over the bridges to the beautiful Old Town. The in house parking was a bit tight for a large car, the parking opposite looked a safer bet!
As retired hotel owners, living in Spain we immediately concluded that these were staff rooms/store rooms that had been tweaked to provide INTERNET booking companies with cheap rooms to enhance their appeal/ratings.
Very poor indeed. Had the room been refundable we would have left there and then.

Room Tip: Don't book a non refundable room. Don't expect your room to be as offered in the brochure. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry_humphreys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Barry_humphreys10,

We are sincerely sorry for the delay in responding to your review about Hotels Ultonia. We appreciate the time you used to share your opinions with us.

Our team is truly sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with a room that you wished for. We always listen to guests requests but sometimes we can not fulfil all expectations. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and whenever you wish, please contact us at jordi.moure@hotelsultoniagirona.com.

We hope to have the opportunity to change your negative experiences during your next visit at Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Kind regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

To be honest, I was a little nervous as we approached this hotel on our motorcycles. The neighborhood coming toward the hotel did not look too good, but once we found the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. Lots of motorcycle parking right out front. We grabbed our bags and checked in. The lobby is nicely appointed with a TV showing lots of the nearby sights. The reception was efficient, polite and friendly. We went up to the room first with our bags before taking the bikes to the garage (free secure parking for motorcycles) and was PLEASANTLY surprised by the room. It was a decent sized room, clean and modern. The bathroom was large and efficiently laid out, I esp liked the extra large shower! We went down to move the bikes to the parking which was behind and under the building and required us to take a circuitous route to get there. There is a severe curb to get up into the parking garage, but it was manageable...just be aware. The motorcycle parking is an interesting small space just out from the elevators. Not too many bikes can park there, and there was 1 bike there already, but we managed easily. We got a map from the front desk and walked toward the old town, and there was a square with lots of restaurants literally ONE block away. Amazing! We picked a tapas place that overlooked the river. Once we finished eating, we walked across the bridge and into the old town. No more than 2 mins from the front door of the hotel. We explored the city and loved every minute of it. The room was surprisingly quiet, the beds European firm, but comfortable, as were the pillows! I was definitely disappointed to have to leave the next morning. Breakfast was a small buffet of breads, sliced meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt and juices, but they also had scrambled eggs and bacon. Not spectacular, but a nice room overlooking the intersection below. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear TandCfromHawaii,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are glad to hear that we have reached to suit your needs and expectations. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy the hotel as well as the city. I will transmit with pleasure your comments to all the staff, they will be thrilled to hear your compliments.

The underground parking is roomy for motorcycles. A little bit tricky to get there but all our guests manage it in the end. We truly hope that you will have a chance to return to Girona and we would be so grateful to be able to welcome you back.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
265 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The reception is very kind and helpful - and I was pleased that my room was already available when I arrived. The rooms are spacious and the shower is great. No tub. The aircon works perhaps a little too well. The hotel is well located - only a two block walk from the main square with many good restaurants and the bridge to the Old Town. Breakfast was "ok." The staff was not good at replenishing the eggs and other hot items, but otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Icrane66,

We are sincerely sorry for the delay in responding to your great review about Gran Ultonia. We appreciate the time you used to share your opinions with us.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed such a relaxed holiday in our hotel and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Moreover we feel proud of your comments in relation to our hardworking staff that has a genuine passion for hospitality.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed only one night, got an upgrade and because it was my wife's birthday we came back from an evening out to a complimentary bottle of Cava on ice which was a lovely surprise. They didn't have to do this but it was a nice touch. Room was perfect, clean and spacious, and the car park location was excellent as well. Girona is a beautiful city and the hotel is right by the old town, location could not be better and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Ralph O,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delayed response. We are grateful for sharing your experience with us.

Thank you for your sweet words towards our staff, which I will transmit with pleasure to all of them. We aim to make our guests stay somewhat special and we had a great opportunity to do so for you. You are more than welcome!

We look forward to welcome you back and pamper you with our genuine hospitality.

Best regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent just one night in Girona and must recommend Garn Ultonia as a very good choice becouse of its great central location with easy access by car. (though its garage is very narrow so be careful :)
Rooms nice with big bathroom, free wi-fi of course and again the location!
We did opt for breakfast yet it is not something special for the price would better go to the caffe down the street...

Room Tip: We were at the top floor yet the noise from the street was rather loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Kopalk,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delayed response. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for recommending our hotel. You are right about the parking facilities. Because it is situated practically under the hotel with direct elevator connection to the hotel, it is narrow. But it has been proven that only the biggest vans can not enter, but we always have different options to offer, for example near by public garage. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast buffet did not offer enough for you.

We wish to have the opportunity to see you as our guest, once again, and change your bad impressions in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Hotel Gran Ultonia is situated in a brilliant central location, close to the cathedral and just a few minutes walk from restaurants and old town

We have stayed in the Gran Ultonia on several occasions.

The rooms are excellent with modern tiled floors, comfortable bed and brilliant walk in shower.

The staff are very good and polite.

Breakfast has a good varied selection

The hotel has private parking a little tight if you have a big car.

This is a great hotel well maintained and well worth staying at if your going to Girona

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Peter K,

We are sincerely sorry for the delay in responding to your great review about Gran Ultonia. We appreciate the time you used to share your opinions with us.


What is really amazing is your confidence in us. We feel extremely honored with your comments and deeply grateful to them. In Hotels Ultonia Girona our main objective is to give an exquisite service to all our customers, and our recompense is the guest satisfaction.

We truly hope that you will have a chance to return to Girona more ofter and we would be so grateful to be able to welcome you back to Hotels Ultonia.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing