We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great service!”

Bike Breaks Girona Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIKE BREAKS, the Girona Cycle Centre is operated and owned by the husband and wife team of Dave and Saskia who have lived in the Girona area, providing mountain bike holidays, road bike holidays, touring bike trips and guiding services for many years. Both are avid riders and qualified guides and regularly compete in both local cross country races and European cup downhill marathon competitions.Their aim; to create a ´one stop shop´ of services and information for visiting cyclists and local riders alike, anyone who wants to ride in the Girona area. From bike hire or equipment hire, day trips, Bike shop, shower facility, private guiding service to all-in cycle holiday packages and everything in between… we can help.Anything do to with cycling in Girona ... come to us..!!!
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people, great service!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently returned from a short trip in Girona where Dave and the team at Bike Breaks couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

They were happy to swap over a stem on a road bike I'd hired that I'd bought with me to ensure I had a decent fit on the bike and provided me with some great routes around the surrounding area.

Thanks all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    8
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By far the coolest way to see Catalonia”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked the Bubbles, Wheels, and Steam tour with BikeBreaks Girona for the first part of our honeymoon. First off, Gieuseppe was absolutely charming and made our trip WELL worth the expense. He was funny, entertaining, and helpful whenever we needed anything. He made us feel comfortable, and though he has a thick accent, his English fluency was never a problem. He allowed us to pick and choose our route and even helped guide us into and around Old Town Girona for our last day. I cannot recommend this more highly, as it's such an amazing way to see Spain, and the serenity of the countryside will absolutely amaze you. We made it all the way to Cadaqués, which was absolutely breathtaking. Given the chance, we would book this same tour again.

Pros:

- Guides are fluent in English
- Bikes are top-notch
- Spanish drivers in the area are VERY accustomed to cyclists and give you a wide berth
- The hotel is absolutely out of this world divine, and right on the beach!
- The massage was an added bonus, and the masseuses were great
- Includes hotel breakfast, which is fantastic
- Everyone in the office speaks English, so booking was painless and professional
- The support car was invaluable
- The tour is flexible. Ride as much or as little as you want, wherever you want to go!

Cons

- We only had one. We were a little ambitious about our cycling prowess. We've never ridden very far at one time and wanted to try something brand new and exciting for our honeymoon. It is critical for those who aren't accustomed to road bikes that you bring adequate gear. You will need spandex shorts with plenty of cushion. We were VERY saddle sore after riding just over 42 miles the first day. This was our own fault and in no way reflects poorly on BikeBreaks, but I do hope people avoid our stupid mistake and come prepared. Lotion for chafing and painkillers are a last resort, but at the very least you should be used to riding on a thin seat for long distances before you arrive. The swelling went down fairly quickly, but it definitely limited the distance we could cover on our second and third day.

Overall this experience was fantastic and we would do it again. We had a blast and never regretted spending the money for a moment. We cannot thank BikeBreaks enough for helping us see Spain in a way we never could have imagined, and we hope that everybody thinking about doing this tour takes the plunge. We promise you won't regret it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cycle heaven!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent 6 days in Girona cycling on Cannondale rentals from Dave at Bike Breaks and had a great time! Girona is like Whistler for the road cycling crowd, great roads, courteous drivers, great food and friendly people everywhere. Renting the Bikes was easy and Dave makes sure they are fit for you. They are in top condition and perform well. The routes go from easy to challenging with distances of 50 to 100+k and elevations of 200 to 1500m. Dave and his staff are very good at helping you pick the appropriate routes based on your level of riding so you can feel comfortable in your choices.
If you are thinking of riding in Spain contact Bike Breaks, you'll have a great time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome bikes, awesome service!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our group of 6 intermediate cyclists from Canada rented bikes from Bikebreaks for our 6 day visit in Girona. The cannondale bikes were durable and performed very well. The best part was Dave and his wife, saskia - they were super helpful and friendly - as were all the other staff. It seemed they couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs. They took pride in their business and it was obvious they considered it successful only if we had a great experience - and we did. They provided route maps (for a small fee), gave us a free guided tour on Thursday as well as lots of advice for stops along the way.

We did a 40k out and back the first day, a 60k, 75k then a few 100k days. The roads are in good shape and the drivers courteous. If you like challenging cycling in a gorgeous setting and need bikes and maps ... Bikebreaks is the place for you - they know how to treat you right.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annabanana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect cycle hire and tour guide ( thanks Mr Dan! )”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Girona came highly recommended as a cycling destination, the thing that made it perfect was dealing with BikeBreaks, girona's cycle centre team. Saskia & Dave whom own and work there have extensive knowledge and expertise of the area. They provided us with a top rate tour guide who couldnt have been more helpful if he tried…… even tho he was the father of Dan Martin, that didn't stop him getting a heap of lip from us, mind you he did get his own back riding up Rocacorber!!!!
Cannot recommend this company enough, 5 star! ( just as a note, do not get dispondent if you do not get an email back quickly, they are busy and it is also 'Mañana over there! a phone call might be best)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bike Breaks Girona Day Tours also viewed

 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Bike Breaks Girona Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing