We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant, modern hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant, modern hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night in August 2013. It is very clean and modern and the rooms are spacious and bright. Staff were friendly and efficient. The best feature by far is the roof top pool which has some great views over the mountains. There are only 6 sun-loungers which seems a little off but other than that it was fine. It takes about 10 mins to walk into the centre which can be through the tree-lined park which is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abvlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    431
    144
    43
    26
See reviews for
130
513
26
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I normally stay here for business because its location is good for me. Also, it's quite modern and having stayed in other hotels in Girona this one works for me.

The restaurant is good but always seems quite empty and a bit cold. The pool isn't heated so not for use for the feint hearted in the winter! If you want to take some exercise there is a park close by where you can run.

The walk to town is 10/15mins and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and my husband really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was great. Really comfortable, clean and stylish. Also a really good size and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel. Not sure if the aircon worked or not as it did not get very cold. For us it was really ok though, we don't need an ice cold room. And because the hotel is in a really quiet neighborhood you can also leave the window open.

The rooftop pool was really nice and adequate in size. The bar was also nice but a bit expensive. We haven't been to the restaurant and did not have breakfast there, so I can't say anything about that.

The only negative we can really come up with is the distance to the city centre, so for restaurants, you had to walk for about 15/20 min. The good thing is, that the area feels very safe, so coming back late at night is not an issue.

For us it was still perfect though as we had a rental car to discover the coast for 3 days and didn't have to walk to the centre every day. There is also plenty of free parking in the area and a big supermarket just around the corner.

Would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotOnTheI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at URH Girona from Monday - Friday at the start of September. The glorious late summer weather allowed us to make full use of the small but adequate rooftop pool & terrace bar facilities. It was a pity the rooftop bar only opens Thursday - Sunday from the start of September or we'd have been up there every night! Thursday night was an al fresco film night with a couple of old classics being projected on a large screen. 
We had days out at Tossa De Mar & a rather quieter, picturesque beach at Sa Conca which is reached through an exclusive, gated estate of villas hidden behind high fences & security cameras.  Both destinations are within 45 minutes drive and well worth the trip. 
We can highly recommend  the URH Hotel. The decor is tasteful, modern & quite 'funky'. Everywhere is very clean and the staff were unfailingly polite & helpful. Our 4th floor room overlooked the street but it was well soundproofed and the beds were as comfortable as any hotel beds I've ever slept in. The hotel food was also spot on. It is worth taking the bed & breakfast option with plenty of choice in a pleasant dining room. We also ate from the lunchtime a la carte menu before leaving for the airport. 
The hotel is on the edge of the city centre but it is a pleasant enough 10-15 minute walk to the main attractions. We ate tapas at Xic on the Placa Independencia. Prices were very reasonable, the food was excellent and the service friendly. By contrast, we emailed El Celler De Can Roca which is rated the 'best restaurant in the world' but we are unable to rate it as we didn't get the courtesy of a response. 
As documented elsewhere on Tripadvisor, there is plenty to see in the historic city of Girona and we will definitely be booking our Ryanair flights for a repeat city & beach break next year. 

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeeyaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel seemed to offer everyrhing that we needed as first time travellers to Girona, but in some ways it disapponted...
Comfortable, clean and fresh rooms, but somehow the bar and restaurant did not live up to expectations....lacking character or choice and pricey!
Our stay did not start well with probkems with the lifts which were not explained by reception, and caused us a lot of unnecessary frustration.
Overall though, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ythsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Great modern, well designed fresh rooms. Very clean, we did have two single beds pushed together as other reviews state instead of one double but didnt bother us. Pool isnt huge but is a lovely place to relax. Films shown on a night on the roof terrace and bar open, great atmosphere and views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanadrobgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This Hotel is a joke staff could not run a bath check-in was shocking for some reason I had to do it twice then when I got the room card went up and the room to find it not made up so goes back down and wait for the to be cleaned at this point not ONE WORD LIKE SORRY FROM STAFF gets card back goes up to room looks like it’s been cleaned this time.

Gets bath on the night only to find pubic hairs in it by this point I was dead inside so washed it myself

People make mistakes this hotel big one was not staying sorry

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davehull1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Property: Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Address: Carrer Mossen Joan Pons 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing