We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost worth coming just for the breakfast!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Almost worth coming just for the breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Breakfast is amazing, wish I'd taken a photo.

This hotel is a little out of the way from the town centre though, 20 minute walk. Swimming pool really is, as other reviewers have stated, tiny, and sun loungers get taken quickly. Roof area seems to have been done a bit on the cheap and shows signs of wear and tear. It certainly couldn’t be described as luxurious and looks far better in the photos.

Rooms were perfectly nice.

Probably better hotel options in town a bit which were in a similar price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumbermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    384
    124
    37
    22
See reviews for
111
453
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights in September. My first impression of the hotel was how well maintained and clean it was. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are a good size with excellent beds and showers. They also include TV's which have a good range of English language channels for a continental hotel. The hotel itself is fairly quiet and is located a little outside of the city centre, however, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to reach the main square and Old Town. Another plus point is the breakfast, which has a fabulous range of options and really sets you up well for a day exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galbers1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evrehailles, Belgium
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a very stylish hotel and the room was very spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. Perhaps most importantly though, the GPS could not find it until we called the hotel and learned that the street is really called Mossan Joan Pons. The old city is not far away - a short drive or a long walk. Breakfast was was quite good quality food and a nice variety of options. The free Wifi was fine. There is underground parking behind the hotel with elevator access. All in all it was an amazing value, if you don't mind not being in a charming setting.

Room Tip: you do hear a little of the street noise, but I'm not sure you can escape that no matter which s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I visited this hotel last december with my wife. The hotel is very modern and has a nice decoration. The room was cozy, perfectly clean and very comfortable. Restaurant food was very good as well, the dinner menu had a very good value/quality! Staff were delightful, the hotel is 15/20 min walking from the Historical centre but as the hotel have a parking I didn t mind to leave the car and walk. Is a very good place for a city break in Girona!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have just come back from a break in gerona the hotel as everyone has said was clean and friendly. However it was as a shame that the hotel closed the pool and terrace above as there was nowhere to relax outside and maybe take in the views while having a drink. Although staff very pleasant on eating in one night asked if they had a menu in English told No , asked if they had a bottle of rioja No and no other red wine offered! Bit strange as it is a Spanish wine and only one type of beer (pilsner).

Carlisle

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a modernised, clean hotel with everything you could need for a city break.
The staff were friendly, the facilities were good and I got an excellent deal.

It is a 15-20 minute stroll to the old city - however it is in the University district so it is safe and there are good bars and restaurants within 2 or 3 minutes walk.
There are closer hotels to the city - but the difference to get to the key sites is <10 minutes
The hotel is close to a main road but it was incredibly quiet - I am a really light sleeper and wasn't disturbed at all.
If you need to be close to the Bus or Train Station it is a very good choice as it is a ten minute stroll.

I found it was a good base to explore ALL areas of the city and i was incredibly happy at the quality I got for the money I spent... Well worth a tiny bit of extra walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location isn't in a nice part of town. It's on a busy urban road near nothing nice. It's about a 20 minute walk from the old town.

The staff make you feel like it's an imposition having to deal with you. This wasn't our experience in any of the other hotels we stayed at in Spain.

On our second day, we came back to the hotel after a day of sight seeing and couldn't get into our room. We went back down to reception where the staff member re-set our room card and sent us up to try again. Back we went and it still didn't work, so went down to reception again where the guy made out like we didn't know how to use a room key so he came with us back to our room. And again the key card didn't work. So we went back down to reception where he called maintenance guy and sent us to the bar. But there was no one at the bar to take our order. So we went back to reception and he called someone to come serve at the bar. Then a girl came to the bar, rolling her eyes at how inconvenient it was to have to come and serve us and got us a drink each... And there we waited for 45 minutes while they fixed our door lock. We just wanted to get into our room, shower and lie down. After that, we got no apology from anyone AND we were given the bill to pay for our drink..?

Also, we put the 'do not disturb' sign on our door and the cleaning lady came in anyway while we were getting dressed in the morning. Pretty awkward. What's the point in having those signs if you're just going to ignore them?

The room was fine (apart from obvious problem with the lock). The bathroom has strange placement of the lights. There were no lights over the shower so, although the rest of the bathroom is well lit, it's really dark where you're showering.

When we were checking out, we were asked about how we found our stay, and I recounted our experience. The girl at reception clearly didn't really want to know how our stay was so asked me to write down our email address so her boss could contact us. That was a week ago and no one has contacted us. Are we surprised? Ah, no.

Overall, really pretty poor experience and I wouldn't recommend it. Stay somewhere closer into town and with staff who actually care about customer service rather than people who make you feel like you're an imposition.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atamsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.8 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Property: Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Address: Carrer Mossen Joan Pons 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing