We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a short 4 night break in May this year. If, like us, you wanted a hotel with swimming pool in the heart of the city of Girona the choices are limited. I think from research there are about 4 and this hotel i'm pleased to say turned out an excellent choice. The rooftop pool is quite small but there is ample space and great views of the city and the Pyrenees. The accommodation was excellent, rooms clean and modern and comfortable beds. We traveled by train from Barcelona and the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the railway station. You can walk into Girona centre via the open park in about the same time. The hotel restaurant provides an excellent buffet breakfast and a good choice of evening meals. There are also some good eateries within close proximity of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring Girona, Figueres, and the Costa Brava coastline.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views, the superior rooms which have balconies are at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MondoMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my husband. The hotel has been recently refurbished so everywhere is emaculate and the rooms are beautiful, particularly the bathrooms.
We had the breakfast on 2 mornings and it was of a good quality with a range of hot and cold options and pastries. We also ate at the restaurant twice, they have a 3 course menu with wine, water and coffee for €14 which is a bargain and the food was excellent, the menu changes on a daily basis with 3 options for each course.
There are impressive mountain views from the rooftop terrace but we didn't use the bar or pool.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train and bus station. We got a taxi when we arrived which I would recommend as the streets are a bit of a maze. It's about a 15/20 minute walk to the old city through the park which has a bustling market on a Saturday.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ljs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After visiting Barcelona I wanted a hotel that would be close to the Girona airport. Well this hotel required a 25 min bus ride and 7 min walk from the station. However once we got there the amenities and hotel were great! If you are up for a bit of adventure getting to this hotel us for you. My only issue was the location. It is nit right by the airport and there is no shuttle service

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A little far out for tourists visiting the centre but otherwise very good if you're passing through by car or just there for business, so much so, even returned for the €14 3 course evening meal which was fab

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room, as we stopped by without reservations. The clerk actually ran out and caught us as we were about to drive away to tell us the just had a reservation. Walking to the old town was close and cool! The room was super nice, really liked the stone bathroom. Great coffee machines and wonderful breakfast (included)!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackin614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'll say it straight away, I liked this hotel!
A modern hotel.
Nice airy reception. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Good parking facilities.
Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean
Good size bathroom.
Restaurant large and airy albeit a bit noisy due to all the marble and tiling. Good food.
Breakfast excellent.
Easy to walk into the centre of Girona.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just book and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

As said, the breakfast is very nice!

The hotel is clean & modern, and rooms look exactly like they do on the website. Air-con is good- also shuts off if you don't want to use it.

Some reviewers comment that the hotel is "far away" from the city center, but we have to disagree - if you can walk 10 min (15 tops!), you won't have a problem here. The area is not the old town of course, but value-for-money wise, I would choose this hotel again. Everything is very walkable in Girona, so don't rule this place out thinking it's too far!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kait_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
879 reviews
1 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Address: Carrer Mossen Joan Pons 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £38 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing