We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,convenient,good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allocated a room - 8th floor - needing refurbishment, after requesting a move, it was arranged without fuss. We found the location excellent. Girona is a beautiful city and the Old Town accessible by several bridges, one of which designed and built by Eiffel, brought immediate charm - crossing from one world to the next. The proximity to the major square and it's many delightful restaurants, the adjacent streets/alleyways with some gorgeous shops - all made for a great stay. As an exploration point for Catalonia, the central location, ease of movement in and out - due to the hotel's proximity to major freeways,made many locations possible. We found Hotel Ultonia good value for money. So many nearby towns/areas worth exploring - Olot with it's religious statue museum, art and history museum featuring examples from the Olot school - a direct link to the French Barbizon movement, and at Banyoles the world famous Banyoles Mandible, amazingly being actually housed in the small local museum. Along the route, an active archeological dig in the karst caves which are visitable at certain times of the year. The volcanic region is beautiful and worth a visit, also Besalu,Figueres, each with history and topical charm, all within 50kms of Girona. Explore - we did.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not allocated 8th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ultonia (gran ultonia) last month for 2 nights when we visited Girona. This is an excellent hotel and for such a great price; The hotel was recently upgraded to a 4 star hotel but at the price of a 3 star (60eu per night) It's a deal given the level of comfort, quality and size of rooms, great breakfast, good service, the only issue was the internet, connection was terrible. we were at a short walking distance to the Old Jewish district which is spectacular, very good tapas restaurant recommended by the hotel staff, indoor parking etc. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel with some trepidation after reading the mixed reviews but we had an excellent night's stay. The only problem for us was uncomfortable pillows, other than that the staff were helpful and friendly, and our room was on the 7th floor and had a little roof terrace which had great views up to the old quarter and the cathedral. About a 15-minute walk from the station so there are nearer ones, but then it is very close to the river and old quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked this Hotel for a number of reasons, 1. It's proximity to the train station which was good 2. We only required an quick overnight stay between arriving from the airport in Girona and then leaving the next morning by bus so wanted something cheap 'n' cheerful.
There were no available rooms in the 'gran Ultonia' so we booked here knowing to expect a more basic standard, I didn't have any false expectations.
Our check-in went fine and we were directed to our room which was about as basic as you can get, the mattress on the bed was incredibly thin and old but as we had a young child who needed to get to bed we figured it would suffice for the night. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel. The walls were quite thin as we were able to hear people conversing in the room next to us, although outside noise wasn't really a problem.
We had Wi-Fi which was really handy and the check-in staff told us where we could grab a quick bite to eat nearby - very helpful
HOWEVER in the morning (about 6am) when we woke, my husband got up to use the bathroom and straight away noticed that the carpet in the bedroom outside the bathroom was soaking wet and the bathroom floor was flooded - there was about an inch high of murky looking water all over the bathroom floor (he had stood in this in his bare feet). We were unsure of whether this was a burst pipe / sewer or what type of water this was, but it was brown in colour. My husband walked down to reception to report this (didn't phone as we didn't want to wake our son) and he was told by the duty-manager that 'they were aware of the leak' ......... at this point we still weren't made aware if this was 'clean' water that was all over the floor as it looked dirty and brown.
We requested new towels as, in order to walk in the bedroom we had to place the towels we had on the floor to soak up some of the water ... we never received the towels, nobody came to our room to check it out, we couldn't have showers, we weren't offered an alternative room or anything.
Eventually we left the hotel room, as it was not a safe or hygienic environment to have a little child and went out to get some breakfast (decided against eating in the hotel). On return, it was clear that although some of the water had subsided, nobody had been to the room and we still hadn't received fresh towels. There was a dirty scum left on the floor and around the bath etc from the leak so there was no way we could use the facilities there and to be honest, at this stage just wanted to get out of there.
When we went to check out of the hotel we again mentioned this to the person at the desk and they just shrugged their shoulders as if to say 'oops' .... no apology, no explanation and really no way to treat a guest. Any hotel can have an issue a burst pipe or a leak but this was so badly handled, we felt that they didn't care and couldn't be bothered helping us.

Another point is that we were up on the 4th floor and the windows are easy enough to open and they just open straight out, fully with nothing but a sheer drop to the street below - it wasn't an issue with our 3 year old but I would be nervous for somebody with an active/inquisitive child as the bed being pushed up against the wall meant that the windows were at a perfect height for climbing etc
Overall a really poor experience, very disappointing :-(

Room Tip: From what we saw, unless you can get into the 'Gran' Ultonia then you're better off goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found the Ultonia to be a great hotel regarding position, value for money, facilities and accessibility. Although billed as outside the old town it is just a two minute walk to the restaurants and old city bustle. If you are arriving by car this is ideal – well signposted, secure underground garaging. The hotel is modern and very clean; rooms are well appointed, super shower. Rates seem very competitive. Staff are courteous and efficient. Couldn’t fault it really except for one small element: entry to the underground car park is very easy. No mention is made of any charge but it is there in the very small print of the registration form and at €14 a night seemed a little steep. But that is cheaper than the municipal car park nearby unless you want to park elsewhere and walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoalfaceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The 3 star hotel gives great value and is within easy walking distance of the historic city centre. It is very clean and offers affordable parking. Our room had only a small internal window so had no view but was nice and quiet. We did not avail of breakfast which was €12.50 each but got a satisfactory alternative closeby for €4 each.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice option if you want to stay one-two nights in Girona.
On the half way from Train/Bus station and old city - no need to use public transport.
Rooms are a bit musty but quiet and clean.
May be a queue at reception at peak hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ultonia Girona

Address: Gran Via Jaume I n. 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ultonia Girona 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultonia Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing