We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suitable for one night sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ultonia Girona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suitable for one night sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is perfect, close to the old town, but it stays on the noisy street. Staff is polite and gives hints on walking in the city, also provides with map. There is terrible stink of smoke in the room. Also walls are made of carton, so you hear all noises around and even water splash in the toilets of neighbour rooms. Beds are more likely couches with mattress.

Room Tip: High level of noise in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olga0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Olga0606,

We are sorry for any resentment we might have caused for you because of the delay in reacting to your message. Our team values all the opinions of our guests and we will take into account every observation.

Our team is truly sorry to hear that the room was not up to your expectations. We are working hard to find a way to make the rooms more quiet. We hope to have the opportunity to change your negative experiences during your next visit at Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    161
    81
    35
    20
See reviews for
75
157
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay Area
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

In May 2014 we stayed at the Ultonia while touring the walled city. We found the Ultonia to be a very convenient walk to everything. The hotel was comfortable and the staff was really nice, although we didn't care for their restaurant suggestions. based on location, value and comfort, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. There are only a few, but the balcony was huge and a really nice pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear GatorFans,

We are sorry for any resentment we might have caused for you because of the delay in reacting to your message. Our team values all the opinions of our guests and we will take into account every observation.

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The location is suberb and the city starts from hotel's doorstep. Thankfully the hotel is surrounded by a lot of different restaurants and bars, so there is enough options for every taste.

We wish to have the opportunity to see you as our guest, once again, in the future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girdwood
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Ultonia was perfectly located for our time in Girona. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to from the train station, and less to walk over to the old town. Plenty of restaurants were near by. The rooms were fantastic and the employees were very helpful and all spoke English. A great value.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deathhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Deathhat,

Please accept our deepest apology for the delay in replying your kindest review. We value the opinions of our customers and thank you for taking the time to write your message.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed such a relaxed holiday in our hotel and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Moreover we feel proud of your comments in relation to our hardworking staff.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Hotel has the advantage of being relatively close to the train station and the old town. The latter is I suspect the main reason most people visit Girona. I had to cut short my trip by one night due to a change in flight times (thanks Ryanair), and the staff at the Hotel were sympathetic enough to add in some free meals to partly compensate. They were very helpful throughout my stay, and the room was clean and comfortable. However, I suspect the room I was allocated is 'reserved' for the reduced rate as it had NO window! Not that it bothered me unduly as I was out most of the day, but this was very unusual and would not suit anyone bothered by claustrophobia! Perhaps a warning would be in order?

Room Tip: Not that easy to find - check it on a map first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touchingcloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Touchingcloth,

Hotels Ultonia Girona regrets the delay in responding your review. We are thankful for the time you spent in telling us about your stay at our hotel. It is important for us to hear the voice and opinions of our customers.

Our team is truly sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with a room that you wished for. We always listen to guests requests but sometimes we can not fulfil all expectations. Unfortunately we have some interior rooms that have a small or no windows at all. We will take this fact into consideration when guests check in to these rooms. Thank you for pointing this out.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best regards,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived at this hotel in the middle of the night after missing our flight / arriving in Barcelona too late to catch a train to Girona / being ripped off by a taxi driver and it was exactly what we needed. The receptionist was friendly and sympathetic, the room was clean and the hotel is close to this great little burger joint called 'Frankfurter' which was still serving food at that time. We stayed for 3 nights and don't have a single complaint - the hotel offers great value for money and I would definintely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Laura067,

We sincerely apologize the delay in answering your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your great experience in Hotels Ultonia Girona. We value your opinion.

Thank you a lot for your awesome review, I will transmit with pleasure your comments to all the staff, they will be thrilled to hear your compliments. I, personally, am happy to hear that after a tough night our team was able to make you feel welcome and appreciated.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed in Hotel Ultonia around Christmas time. The staff was very nice and efficient, the check in was quick and the bar service as well. We were very surprised with the refurbished room we got on the 7th floor as we didn't book one. It also had a big balcony with an amazing view.
The room was very well cleaned and the Internet worked perfectly.
The only disappoint thing about the hotel is the lack of TV channels in English, however it's not a big deal as we were there to enjoy the city.
The location is also very good as you can find everything you need around it.
Overall, it was a great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear SaraBranches,

Please accept our deepest apology for the delay in replying your kindest review. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your message.

Christmas time in Girona is exciting and the city looks amazing. We are glad to hear that your expectations were fulfilled and your family enjoyed the stay. You were lucky to have the opportunity to enjoy a room with a balcony. This is possible in 5 rooms in the hotel.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allocated a room - 8th floor - needing refurbishment, after requesting a move, it was arranged without fuss. We found the location excellent. Girona is a beautiful city and the Old Town accessible by several bridges, one of which designed and built by Eiffel, brought immediate charm - crossing from one world to the next. The proximity to the major square and it's many delightful restaurants, the adjacent streets/alleyways with some gorgeous shops - all made for a great stay. As an exploration point for Catalonia, the central location, ease of movement in and out - due to the hotel's proximity to major freeways,made many locations possible. We found Hotel Ultonia good value for money. So many nearby towns/areas worth exploring - Olot with it's religious statue museum, art and history museum featuring examples from the Olot school - a direct link to the French Barbizon movement, and at Banyoles the world famous Banyoles Mandible, amazingly being actually housed in the small local museum. Along the route, an active archeological dig in the karst caves which are visitable at certain times of the year. The volcanic region is beautiful and worth a visit, also Besalu,Figueres, each with history and topical charm, all within 50kms of Girona. Explore - we did.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not allocated 8th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#13 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margarit
Hotel Margarit
#11 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via Jaume I n. 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ultonia Girona 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultonia Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing