We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in a fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a fab location”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here on the 11th August for 4 nights. We found the room clean, tidy and very comfortable. The room service was very good and helpful. The reception staff were especially good and very helpful with local knowledge a big plus. We are definitely coming back again and look forward to meeting our new friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor is great, as there is very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Carolyn N,

We sincerely apologize the delay in answering your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in Hotels Ultonia Girona. We value your opinion.

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are glad to hear that we have reached to suit your needs and expectations. I will pass on with pleasure your comments to all the staff, they will be thrilled to hear your compliments. The team is happy to be able to help you to get to know our lovely city.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    169
    83
    35
    20
See reviews for
79
165
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When booking we thought we would be staying in a clean, comfortable hotel in a convenient location. We weren't wrong but in actual fact found the room to be spacious, attractive and modern with a lovely big bathroom including a swanky shower! Despite only staying two nights, our room was refreshed after the first night. We thought it was such a sweet touch to return and find our two year old's pyjamas neatly folded! Our overall impression of the hotel was that it was a lot more upmarket than it appears on popular booking sites. It was a lovely stroll to the old town, close to a square and great cafés for breakfast. The staff members were smart and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Rachel C,

Please accept our deepest apology for the delay in replying your kindest review. Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic message. I will transmit with pleasure your comments to all the staff, they will be thrilled to hear your compliments.

Our goal is to exceed customers expectations and we are delighted to hear that you were more than satisfied with your decision to stay at Hotels Ultonia Girona.

We look forward to welcome you back and pamper you with our genuine hospitality.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We are frequent visitors to Girona. We live in Sitges and enjoy spending several weekends a year in Girona. Recently, we adopted a dog and knew that this would potentially handicap our ability to spend some weekend away. However, we discovered the Hotel Ultonia Girona is pet friendly and have been so pleased so far with our experience. Our dog is perfectly trained, clean, and with us the entire time... but was welcomed as just a part of normal check in without any fanfare. We were welcomed with 2 vouchers for cava on the 5th floor and were allowed to have the dog accompany us there as well. It was beautiful! The bar staff was amazing, accommodating and friendly. They even brought Emilio water and greeting him with a hug. This has been a great experience at this hotel. We are responsible pet owners who have a well behaved pet and will leave our room spotless. This hotel so far has been a 10 out of 10... and we will come back soon! It's clean, the people are so nice, the bar is incredible! Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SIEMPRESITGETAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear SIEMPRESITGETAN,

Hotels Ultonia Girona regrets the delay in responding your review. We are thankful for the time you spent in telling us about your stay at our hotel. It is important for us to hear the voice and opinions of our customers.

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are glad to hear that we have reached to suit your needs and expectations. We welcome dogs as a part of the family without any extra charges. I am delighted to hear that the staff in the reception and the bar were able to fulfill your wishes. We are proud of the rooftop bar that is open for the summer season, thursday to saturday nights.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,684 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Conveniently placed, it's about a hundred yards from the Plaça Independencia, with several restaurants, and after that you get to the river and the old town. Helpful, English speaking staff on reception. Comfortable room. Modern lifts. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear ELear,

We sincerely apologize the delay in answering your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

We would like to thank you for having chosen us and for your candid comments as these constantly help us to improve or grow where needed. We greatly value your feedback. We can’t wait to make your stay an unforgettable moment again.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were upgraded to the 'gran' section of the hotel and it was very comfortable. Clean and spacious room with giant size bed. The hotel seems a little out of the way but in fact its only a short walk to the river and lots of eating option.
As we found out, generally there is not a lot of English outside the main cities however hotel staff were very good especially as we left clothing on the room and they arranged to forward it to our next hotel.
Breakfast provided a good choice of food for a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Ask if you can be upgraded to the 'gran' section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OUTBiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear OUTBiking,

Hotels Ultonia Girona regrets the delay in responding your review. We are thankful for the time you spent in telling us about your stay at our hotel. It is important for us to hear the voice and opinions of our customers.

We are thrilled to hear that you both enjoyed your stay in Gran Ultonia. Sometimes guests are upgraded from Ultonia to Gran Ultonia due to overbookings. Our location is perfect for city holidays. The park, restaurants and old town are in a short walking distance.

Our team is delighted to know that you appreciated our language and hospitality skills. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 3 rd trip in 12 months!
Staff very helpful, rooms very good and would recommend you upgrade for a small additional cost.
Well placed for the Old Town and also has a roof top terrace bar with fantastic views!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Michael M,

We sincerely apologize the delay in answering your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in Hotels Ultonia Girona. We value your opinion and want to improve our services. Your voice has been heard.

Our team appreciates your kind words and we continue to fullfil the wishes of our guests. Please, visit us soon since we will be more than happy to deliver to you the best service ever so that you can experience a wonderful and unforgettable experience again.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice comfortable hotel with a good location on Gran Via de Jaume. We had a lovely room on the 7th floor which was very bright and airy. The Terrace Bar on the 5th floor offers great views of Girona. Just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Old Town where you will find an abundance of cafes, bars and restaurants. The Frankfurter bar across the road is a nice place to end your evening, they also have an extensive snack menu. I sincerely hope I will return to Girona and I would stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Dear Sandra Q,

Please accept our deepest apology for the delay in replying your kindest review. We value the opinions of our customers and thank you for taking the time to write your message.

We feel extremely honored with your comments and deeply grateful to them. Our location could not be better and we want all the guests to enjoy Girona as much as you did. Unfortunately The Frankfurter bar closed after your stay. But no worries, there are many new options to choose from for late-night-snack.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotels Ultonia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotels Ultonia Girona in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#15 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via Jaume I n. 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ultonia Girona 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultonia Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing