We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Costabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costabella
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very pleasant, friendly and clean hotel with all the amenities required for a short stay. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and the staff efficient. The hotel is a 30 minute walk from the train and bus station but we followed the signs and found it very easily. The hotel is opposite the hospital and is on a busy main road and is therefore on a bus route although we didn't use public transport to walk into the city as you were there before you knew it. However, we felt the distance was too far to go back to the hotel once you were out for the day. We had two double rooms for single use and requested double beds but got two big twin beds in each room instead but not a problem. All in all, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived late afternoon after a 7 hour drive from southern Spain and were greeted by a friendly Receptionist who spoke good English. We were given the key to Room 306 and on entering found it to be very clean with no smell of cigarette smoke. I had seen a comment in another review that there was no plug for the bath. We found the same in our room, but this was quickly and efficiently remedied by the Receptionist. In fact, we ended up getting 2 plugs delivered to the room shortly after request, the 2nd plug being a much better fit than the 1st one.

We had read the comment that there was no pavement en route to the cathedral area. All you have to do is cross the road from the hotel to the hospital opposite and walk behind the bush. The pavement then commences and leads you into town. We had a lovely meal at the Casa Casieta in the Plaza, which offered a spectacular view of the illuminated cathedral.

Breakfast the following morning was good and plentiful. We did our usual trick of taking a bag with us and loading up with food for lunch.

We would certainly stay at this hotel again; hopefully when the weather is warmer and the pool in use. A good stopover if you are driving from south Spain back to England, good value for money, friendly and helpful staff. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FIONA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very good hotel, only 10 minute walk into the centre of Girona (well worth a visit), we stayed here as visiting family in L;estartit which was only 30 minutes drive away. The hotel itself was in a good location, easy find (opposite hospital and hypermarket). It was clean, comfortable and value for money. The swimming pool quite small (got busy towards the end of the afternoon, not enough sunbeds, too many children but ok mornings).
The hotel was good value for money, good location, clean and comfortable. No balcony at all in any rooms. Worth a short stay visit.

Room Tip: All rooms the same, no balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel was fine for an overnight stay and would be fine for a couple of nights. It is a ten/fifteen minute walk into Girona. The pool is welcome/needed in the height of summer. We chose to eat dinner in Girona but the hotel was cooking up a BBQ by the poolside at reasonable prices. The breakfast was of good quality. The rooms were of a high standard. The extra bed for our 12 year old was a decent "bed" rather than a "put you up". There were games such as chess and others as well as a TV in the downstairs lounge. We would stay here again and recommend it to others. We had adjoining rooms with our adult children which were slightly apart from the other rooms on the same floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stopped there for a couple of nights after holidaying in Spain/France. The hotel had nice rooms, friendly staff, good facilities and breakfast was well presented. It was ideal for exploring both Girona and Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It's not luxury at all but has all the basic. It's out of the city but we had a car. I booked it through dhr for only 52€ and I am totally satisfied. Clean, kind staff, English fluently, free parking.
Wi fi was still our of order!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xarisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We just spent 6 days at the Hotel Costabella and had a lovely time - the staff are friendly and helpful and the pool was just the right size for families with young children. There is a bus stop outside that takes you to the old town and there are coaches that go to Barcelona and the surrounding areas. It is also very near a supermarket and as there is a fridge in the room this meant that we could have fresh food for picnics by the pool.

The rooms themselves are a bit dated and a little bit shabby but did not affect our holiday in anyway - the breakfast is a great buffet with something to suit everyone including a range of cold meats, pastries, fresh bread, bacon and eggs and a fresh orange juicer. No good if you are trying to keep an eye on your waistline!

Most people seemed to use the hotel more of a motel staying one night only which meant that most of the time we had the pool to ourselves which was immaculate.

Only drawback would be that the latest bus back was at about 9.00pm which meant taxi rides each night after dinner as most good restaurants start serving at about 8 -8.30 pm. That said the cost was only about 7 euros so not really an issue unless you are on a very tight budget.

Girona itself is gorgeous, friendly and I will most definitely go back for long weekends in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.1 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
2.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.3 mi away
Ibis budget Girona Costa Brava
0.1 mi away
Ibis Girona Costa Brava
Ibis Girona Costa Brava
#11 of 20 in Girona
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costabella

Address: Avinguda Franca, 61 | Girona 17007, 17007 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range: £41 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costabella 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandstone Hotel located 2 km from Gerona train station & 10 km from Gerona Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Costabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabella Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing