We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Costabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costabella
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed at the hotel in May in a triple room with my husband and son. The room was pleasantly decorated and although not huge was perfectly adequate, there were three full size, and very comfortable, single beds and and ithe room was spotlessly clean, as in fact was the whole hotel.
The swimming pool was a welcome addition and one of the main reasons I choose this hotel over others in the area. The pool is not huge but provided a lovely area to relax in the sun after a busy day sightseeing.

The buffet breakfast was excellant with plenty of choice of fruit, cereals, bread, pastries and hot eggs, bacon and sausage.

The walk into Girona, at a steady stroll, probably takes about 20 minutes but there is a bus stop across the road from the hotel, outside the hospital, where you can catch a bus into the old city.

We took a taxi to and from Girona airport to the hotel and it cost us about £30 for each journey. We also took the train into Barcelona one day and the cost of this, on a train that took 1 hour 20 min was £21.50 return.

The hotel has free wi-fi.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the wonderful city of Girona.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613AlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    217
    60
    17
    15
See reviews for
83
230
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We found this place completely by chance thanks to the sat nav, what a result! Lovely staff that really go out of their way to help you, this was defiantly the best hotel we stayed in on our tour through Europe. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend to anybody for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was my first experience of a Spanish hotel and it was very good. Situated on a main road but very little road noise it is a short walk from the centre of the town. I was welcomed warmly, in English fortuantly as my Spanish is minute and quickly checked in. A great room overlooking the hospital with large hills behind that. A very tasty meal in the resturant with excellent local wine.
problems getting on WIFI which I was using for my rolling bookings but was sorted.
The area is spectacular and there are some lovely golf courses there 50 to 60 €s a round. the local course is fabulas but a ride on buggy would be a must.
Not far from the Med.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this place just for a night.

We liked the set up of the room. It was neat and clean. Towels etc were amply provided.
Wifi was good.
This place is 20 mins walk from the town centre or you can take the bus (L2). The hotel guy arranged a taxi to Girona airport at a fixed price of 25 euros.
This place is not fully AC. It wither works as a heater or a cooler. I was feeling bit hot but unfortunately could not cool myself as it was only a "heating" season.
The other weird thing was that i could not pull the curtain over the window but rather a shutter is provided to close it. The lift is bit small and I felt a bit cramped.
Nice place to stay, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed in Hotel Costabella in March 2013 to attend a wedding nearby. It is an easy stroll into Girona (I was worried previously that it would be a large distance from the city, but it is not!) and only cost 5 euros approx in a taxi if you preferred to do that.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good value and the staff were very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Have stayed at this superb hotel on three occassions, never disappointed.
The staff are very professional but also friendly, the rooms are spacious, well decorated and spotlessly clean, free wi fi is available. Large free car park.
The hotel's restaurant is really good, a limited choice but truly excellent, good value for money.
The buffet breakfast is excellent value for money and one of the best encountered
One of our most favourite stays..

Room Tip: All rooms have similar layout and can be recommended throughout the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritchieChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed the last night of our journey around Spain and Portugal at this hotel - it was very easy to find, being conveient to the AP7, and our reception on arrival was very friendly. The hotel appeared to be recently renovated in all areas - our room was extremely comfortable and well fitted out even having to allow for accommodating our rather large dog. Given that the hotel is a little distance for the centre of the city, we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel - the food was excellent and this was repeated at breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
2.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costabella

Property: Hotel Costabella
Address: Avinguda Franca, 61 | Girona 17007, 17007 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costabella 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandstone Hotel located 2 km from Gerona train station & 10 km from Gerona Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabella Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing