We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved it so so much!”
Review of Hotel Costabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costabella
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We loved this hotel. The pool was always quiet which meant we had nearly the whole day to swim around ourselves, great place to get a tan! Breakfast was lovely, tortilla, bacon, eggs, hotdog sausages in the hot section. Then lots of rolls and bread. The cake section was fantastic, with pastries or every shape and size, from almond to chocolate. Fruits, yoghurts etc also available, even wine if you feel like it!

Staff are friendly and helpful and free internet is a great bonus. Rooms are spacious and have full kingsize beds, fantastic! Air con is freezing cold and wonderful during the hot month of August!

Girona itself is just fantastic, a 15 min walk to the heart of the old town. Go sit at the lizaran bar for cheap drink and wild measures! Would reccomend bora bora for some lovely food. Every restautant in the 10 days we were there was great. Blanc and lizzaran are another 2 fab places to eat!

Please go, and please stay here, its the best! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costabella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

This is a superb find and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Girona. The room was spacious , clean , cool and comfortable. The staff , in all areas of the hotel were so friendly and helpful we never fel awkward asking for help or advice . I can't imagine why the russian visitors in another review found anyone rude - it just didn't happen with us ! Breakfast was a plentiful and varied choice of all fresh foods. The pool is quiet , clean and with it's own shower /changing room making it convenient if you are staying on after checking out if your flight is in the afternoon. Be warned about taxis from the airport - expect to pay 25-30 Euros each way ! Getting into town - previous reviewers must have been going in via another route ? 10-15mins brisk stroll (yes they do have pavements !!!) but you can easily take a bus for 1 Euro from outside the hotel and they run every half hour. Girona , like much of Europe is expensive . Restauraunts often have the same set menus in many different languages. For a bit of variety it is worth looking for a more authentic menu and if in doubt staff are only to happy to translate. If you come across the restaurant Vinil I would recommned it for fresh , tasty cuisine . A great week end in a lovely hotel in a super town !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjsjsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Highly recommendable hotel. Superb value for a 3 star. Spotlessly clean, most friendly and helpful staff (perfect English and nothing a problem), excellent breakfast (fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, hot food, breads, pastries, coffees, teas etc.), good size room, large bathroom, toiletries replenished daily, flat screen TV, free internet, two reception rooms off lobby with TV & internet facilities (one smoking) and a swimming pool, sun terrace, & gym to boot !
All this for less than €75 !! I've yet to find better value !
Yes, ok it's a little bit of a walk from the town centre - about 15 mins - but one can always get a taxi (€7) or get a bus from the hospital across the road if you're not the walking type. Anyway, we found the walk to be great for us after a few beers, a nice meal and a bottle of vino. And the walk is perfectly safe - ignore the nonsense from the Russian reviewer about no footpaths, dangerous roads etc and his comments about the rude staff.
Lovely walled town, plenty to explore, loads of shops (unfortunately!) and great selection of reasonably priced restaurants - although, if you like your food piping hot be very clear about when you want your courses served.
We had a wonderful 3 night break in the Hotel Costabella and I would recommend it highly. By the way, if funds are low a little hint to save a few euro - get the bus from the airport to town centre for €2.40 and then get taxi to the hotel, you save nearly €20 by not getting taxi directly to hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Hotel is very good all round. Nice rooms, clean, a tad on the small side but bathroom more than makes up for this. Nice reception staff. Lovely pool area which is a massive bonus in a city. Pool area is small although extremely pleasent, relaxing and clean. Hotel has a small gym, jacuzzi and sauna which you can use for 9euros pp. Just outside the city so be prepared for a 15-20minute walk. There is a small bar area and public room where internet is available. Hotel serves evening meals at approx 15euros pp 3 course which was nice. Breakfast is more continental with a good choice. Small selection of hot things although they were very cold when we tried so avoided eating. Good all round hotel. Clean,comfortable,friendly and welcoming. Would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEJHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The hotel turned out to be detestable.

First of all the location - on the outskirts of Girona, far from the town centre and you will not enjoy the walk as there is even no pavement so you will have to walk right on the road!

The rooms. We got a room on the first floor and were shocked upon opening the window as we found out that the level of the ground was higher than our heads!!!!

The staff. Absolutely unhelpful. "I don't know" - was the most frequent answer. "How long does it take to get to the centre" - "I don't know". "What place could you recommend to dine out in the town?" - "I don't know." "What is the temperature of the water in the pool? Do people swim in it at the beginning of April)" - and again "I don't know"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And at last the category of people staying there. It is a common thing for a group of people there to open the doors of their rooms, to turn on TVs very loud and to shout something to guys sitting in another room watching TV. And it happened every evening and nobody cared so we made a conclusion it was an ordinary thing there.

Hateful, hideous hotel. Do not go.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed at the Costabella for two nights in june09. got a very good rate thro the Ryanair website. The room was a large double with well stocked bathroom, flat screen TV and reasonably priced mini bar. The old town is a 10 min walk or euro8 taxi ride. The pool was much appreciated in the hot weather although the pool furniture was a little hard on the back

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Arrived expecting to have a lovely last night of our countryside holiday in the city of Girona and enjoy a nice cool swim.

The hotel is not a leisurely 10 minute stroll into the centre as other reviews suggest (not even the hotel staff claimed the walk to be this quick) but a good 20 minute walk along a dual carriageway on the cycle path for much of the walk (no pavement).

The relaxing swim was accompanied by the noise of the traffic on aforementioned main road which really is a small stones throw from the pool and the sound of which was accompanied by what I assume was the outlet for the hotel's aircon system, also by the pool.

All was clean and sparkly except for our bath which was coated in scum that I could wipe off with my finger.

Don't get me wrong, you could do a lot worse, but I felt cheated out of a nice night and only paid £70 on laterooms. This is a business hotel, a decent travelodge type place, and not a holiday hotel. Everything was clean and comfy enough but not worth staying out of town for. I'd take a more expensive or less comfortable option with more character in the centre of Girona (or at least a truly 'short stroll' away) if I were to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esohos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.1 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
2.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
834 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
568 reviews
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Ibis Girona Costa Brava
Ibis Girona Costa Brava
#11 of 20 in Girona
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costabella

Address: Avinguda Franca, 61 | Girona 17007, 17007 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range: £47 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costabella 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandstone Hotel located 2 km from Gerona train station & 10 km from Gerona Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Costabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabella Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing