We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could eat off the floors!”
Review of Condal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Condal
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You could eat off the floors!”
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Acommodation was basic and exceptionally clean,Satellite TV & teletext,Price was cheap and staff on desk spoke very good english and could,nt be more helpful Ladies did laundry in the mornings (pair of jeans 3 eur.) tabac and banks supermarket with excellent bargains very near,And a short walk from the bus,train station(around the block,across the main Rd)For Barcelona Sants,Airport Etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elro_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    100
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
76
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This small hotel is only a 3-4 minute walk from the old town and is ideally situated to explore Girona. We were very impressed with the hotel and the value for money that it represented, €69 per night for a double room with bathroom. Yes the room and bathroom were on the small side but they were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The reception staff were extremely helpful - there was really nothing we could fault about this hotel. There is an underground car park about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel which costs €16 for every 24 hours. However we managed to park on a side road which proved the cheaper option.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Good points - Fine, budget hotel with comfortable beds and fairly large bedroom/bathroom. Over the other side of the river from the old city, but it's only a short walk away and it's also a good location for the shops and restaurants on and near Placa de la Indepencia. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful too. Bad points - our air conditioning wasn't working very well and even though it was October, it was hot and you couldn't have the window open as the traffic is too loud. But all in all a good bet for a cheap stay in a beautiful city.

  • Liked — The Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The poor air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Booked direct with hotel a double room for one night.

You get what you pay for which is basic room and bathroom - fairly small,

However, the reason it scores highly is not for it's decor - but for it's price, location, friendly staff, airconditioning. The price, in comparison with other hotels is very cheap.

I think for a short term stay of 2-3 nights this is the hotel to book if you want a cheap weekend away.

We would definitely stay here again on a short term basis.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Handy location near Bus and Train station and 10 minutes to the Old Town. clean, tidy,secure, mostly friendly staff...one guy very helpful, another a bit serious and took him 10 minutes to find our booking which was an anxious moment ! No breakfast, lounge with vending machines instead. We paid 67 euros for double room May 08.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — some noise from rooms above
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JackDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We had to catch an early flight from Girona Costa Brava airport and thus decided to arrive early in the afternoon in Girona and stay the night there. Condal Hotel was the cheapest hotel we could find on the internet.

Pros:

+ Clean and functional

+ Ideally located near the old town, touristic attractions and restaurants.

+ The guy at the reception was extremely helpful and spoke English very well. He suggested a few restaurants around the hotel and also marked some popular attractions on the map, which made our stay very enjoyable.

+ The train station and the bus stop to the airport are both in walking distance (~5-10 minutes).

Cons:

- Basic equipments and no luxury in the rooms.

- Poor sound isolation, which can be a bit disturbing.

For us, Condal hotel was an excellent stop over on our way back and we enjoyed our stay in Girona very much.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Poor sound isolation
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank eindhovenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

This is a well located budget hotel. Just a few minutes walk to and from Girona Bus/Train Station. You can get Airport Bus from Girona Airport to Girona 1.95 then just walk to the hotel .Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Stays are on room only basis (no restaurant or breakfast available) hotel is well located for eateries. There is a little lounge on the first floor which has vending machines for juices, coffees crisps etc. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great location for shoppers, good for a short break. My husband has used the hotel on a good few occasions when on short business trips. I have stayed twice.

Hotel was lovely and warm in winter. It may get a bit too hot in summer as there was no airconditoning. There were some rooms being refurbished so perhaps air con may be added.

Had a good sleep as hotel was not roudy and not too much traffic noise. Overall a lovely little hotel. - paid 56 euros for double room. SIngle rooms were 35-39 euros range.

Great location

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
15 Thank Rebecca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis budget Girona Costa Brava
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margarit
Hotel Margarit
#10 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condal

Property: Condal
Address: Joan Maragall, 10, 17002 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Condal 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condal Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing