We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Can't fault this hotel in any way. Rooms large and clean, great breakfast. Also very convenient for the old town of Girona. Unfortunately, as with many hotels in Spanish cities, there is no car park. Underground car park a couple of blocks away with discount for hotel guests. (Car park cost 18 euros for 24 hours).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    212
    82
    25
    10
See reviews for
49
183
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a very spacious and well appointed room. The hotel is perfect for wandering about the old town, the breakfast was good and the staff friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here a week which is probably why we were given a slightly larger room. Hotel is superbly located and was scrupulously clean, and the cleaning staff were lovely. Room was quite basic with very little storage space and only one power point (for television), but bathroom was quite large and well-fitted. We were at the front which had a lot of street noise - mainly from the very industrious street cleaner trucks which seemed to come three times during the night.
Didn't have breakfast in the hotel but used one of the many cafes a stone's-throw away.
Would certainly stay here again when we next visit Girona as it's excellent value for money and so very accessible for the Old Town, bus station, everywhere .....

Room Tip: Street noise in rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pookie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clutton
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Brilliantly located in the old town, a stones throw from the river. Helpful staff, clean, quite large room, recently decorated and a great price....but.....very noisy at night from within the hotel..plumbing, tv's, conversations, footsteps. If we go again will take earpieces for our own music to try to block it out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room is nice and clean with airconditioner. Big bathroom. The breakfest is OK. Very nice and kind staff ecspecially the roomcleaners. No parkingspace on the streets but close to the hotel there is a parkinglot, not too expensive. Excellent location. Short way to the old citycenter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

arrived at this hotel on 10 july for 1 week.a short walk from the bus station it is ideally situated for the old town.the girl on the desk was quite pleasant but did not give us much information except to say we had been given a spacious room,this proved to be correct although there was not a lot of drawer or closet space for clothes.the room had no fridge but the air condition was good,that is once you figured how to turn it on.this was done by putting your card key in slot beside door and pressing a button above it when it turned red the air condition came on the windows had electrically operated blinds the switch to operate these are either side of the bed this we felt should have been explained at reception.other minus points are there is no mirror in room no electric points for ironing and no tea or coffee making facilities.there is a nice tv but no English speaking programmes.a plus was the bathroom a good shower and bath with plenty hot water there was also a safe and I made my way down stairs to be pleasantly surprised to be told there was no charge for the safe only a 10 euro deposit repayable when we leave unfortunately when we went to retrieve our deposit we only received 3 euros as we owed them 7 euros tourist tax something we had never been informed about.another minus is that the hotel closes impossibly early we never once had a drink here unfortunate as we do like a nightcap.breakfast is nothing to write home about a drinks machine that everyone had trouble operating a mundane selection of food that never varied all week.some of the staff were very nice and cleaning staff kept the rooms very clean as I say this hotel is ok for a short stay of a couple of days at most but no longer.

Room Tip: pick a room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Over the years we've stayed in several different hotels in Girona but having stayed at The
Peninsular that's where we'll go in future.The location is excellent and the rooms are very nice.
There is a good breakfast too.Parking near the hotel can be a problem and rather expensive.
However, they do have ONE parking space very near the hotel which is reserved for their own
vehicle.This space is sometimes available for one of the clients ( for 12 euros ) so when checking in, ask whether it's free.You may be lucky as we were on our last visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santpedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Av. De Sant Francesc, 6, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peninsular 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing