We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well located business hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were in Girona for a business trip with an extended stay over. The hotel is well situated if arriving by taxi not sure if I'd be so happy if driving. Everyone was extremely friendly and made us feel relaxed. Efficient check-in and check-out with no problems on the bill. We had a good advance rate so considered it good value based on the central location.

The room was okay if a little austere. Everything smelled strongly of bleach. I think the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, are looking a little tired and I would agree with an earlier review about the firm bed. We had a view of an inner courtyard and were directly overlooked by a wall of flats. Consequently we had the curtains closed a lot of the time which didn't help the feel of the room. Although, it was very quiet which was a big plus. Air con was great and everything worked.

With regard to general services, the restaurant is very chic. We had a reasonably priced supper with excellent service. However, breakfast is too expensive in my opinion so we went out on 3 of the 4 mornings. There is no outside space at the hotel and no bar as such but there are many cafes close to the hotel so no problems with eating and drinking.

Overall, I would say it is a reliable hotel and I would use it again for business. However, when it is warm and bright outdoors I like some outside space. This is only a personal prefererance so I would probably try their sister accomodation - Nord 1908. If it has the same standards, I don't think you'd go far wrong.

Room Tip: Be careful. I suspect more light is balanced out by more noise! Check when you book if you have cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    267
    56
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
418
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Very much enjoyed this hotel. Location is perfect, and the room was comfortable and had everything we needed.
Especially loved the breakfast staff who were really efficient, attentive, and just a little bit cheeky which made it sooo human!
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myoung15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Truly great location in the city center (and can't beat all the street signs that help you find it if you're driving as we did, coming in from Barcelona). Very pretty area with cafes and stores and then a half block to the bridge to the old quarter. We really appreciated the staff, too. They were extremely friendly and helpful, and I don't say that about many hotels and their staff. The room was modern, and the price was good. Our only criticism was the bed, which we found to be too firm and uncomfortable. The room had a great shower, which helped in the morning. We'd stay there again. One more note on the parking. As others here have noted, you can park for free near the bridges. But we could never find an empty spot and cars were lined up there awaiting openings. We opted for the parking garage about two blocks from the hotel. Finally, one question. What's with the fascination with gelato in Girona? Unbelievable amount of gelato stores. Not necessarily a bad thing. Just remarkable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feckenham
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Right in the centre, near the river - just a hop over a footbridge to the old town and just round the corner from the Cinema Museum. Lots of restaurants close by. Pleasant multilingual staff on reception and in the restaurant. Undoubtedly a business style chain (Faderson) hotel but with lots of pleasant touches. Good buffet breakfast (a trifle expensive at 12 EU). Spotlessly clean. Good for a city break.... and to answer a previous reviewer's comment - there's no English TV because you're in Catalunya - we don't have Catalan TV in the UK or the USA do we?!

Room Tip: Because of the tight layout of the city there's no such thing as a room with a view - it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feckenhamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota FL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Ciutat de Girona is a modern, upscale in a wonderful location. The rooms are considerably larger than typical European rooms. There is an excellent, popular and reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel, with a value-priced midday 3-course fixed-price menu with several options for each course. The double beds are big and comfortable--and are true doubles, not two singles pushed together. The bathroom is bright and immaculate, with a wonderful supply of toiletries, including the ones you'd want for a short overnighter to the coast or to the mountains. The staff were extremely helpful, even helping us store rent-a-bikes when we came back from a 3 day bike trip down to the Costa Brava on Girona's amazingly wonderful bike path.

Girona itself is a beautiful city with plenty to keep you busy for several days. There are FOUR major museums (cathedral, history, Jewish and cinema) and we spent a couple of hours at each. Descriptions of the exhibits are available in four languages at least (including English) and are detailed, clear and interesting. There are also an archeology museum, an art museum and several temporary exhibits. And if that's not enough, there are two self-guided walking tours, plus a guided tour of the city, plus a cute little tourist train, plus several well-marked walking paths into the nearby hills, etc. Girona describes its historical core as an open museum, and we'd agree....we'd also call it an open art gallery. In sum, Girona is a beautiful, wealthy, old city which has made a serious commitment to tourism, but is by no means overrun/spoiled with tourists.

Three minor criticisms of the Ciutat de Girona:

1. The TV is a good-sized well-located flatscreen, but there are no channels in English.
2. The soundproofing is good, but not perfect. We heard almost no street noise, but we could hear people in the hallway, and the sound of doors opening and closing.
3. The hallway carpet is grey, without a pattern, and shows dirt and wear.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonorCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for one night with teenage son. Room was good size. We drove to Girona from Tossa de Mar and found the hotel with the help of numerous road signs. Parked in a free parking area under the railway and walked 5 minutes to the hotel. Close to all the sights in both the old town and the new. Highly recommend Girona - a smaller, less frenetic Barcelona! Lots to see and do - cathedrals, churches, medieval walled section which is a nice late afternoon stroll, museums and much more. Plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Agree with others that rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and extremely well located for walking to old town. However, if you drive to Girona, the hotel is difficult to locate even with GPS, parking garage is difficult to find with very narrow entranceway and very expensive. Even after 3 days there, it was hard to locate. Girona is a beautiful town and we used it as central point for 3 days with trips to Cadequez and Figueras.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing