We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a number 1 hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly a number 1 hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Pros
- great location. Very close to the old town and yet you're outside of the old town so you have access to better restaurants and great shopping nearby
- The hotel's restaurant, Blanc, has amazing food with very reasonable prices. I normally don't trust hotel restaurants, but this one was an exception --- gourmet food at regular bistro prices.
- great service
- spotlessly clean rooms
- comfortable beds
- nice decor
- very fast internet!

Cons
- only thing i can think of is the very limited English TV channels

Definitely deserving of its number 1 status in Trip advisor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buena_Familia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, General Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
After reveiwing you comment, we noticed that you indicated that our English TV Channels are limited.
So we would like to inform you that we have taken steps to resolve this issue.
Thank you for everything.
Yours sincerely,
Esther Soler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    270
    56
    9
    8
See reviews for
87
421
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Excellent boutique hotel. Room comfortable, quiet, usual amenities. Hotel staff were great in helping us with directions and information. You are within walking distance of many shops and restaurants as well as the medieval village just across the short foot bridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcamicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We did a brief stop in Girona built around a dinner at Can Roca, and chose the Ciutat as our place to stay for one night. It met or exceeded all expectations....once we found it.

If you are arriving by car, make sure you have printed some detailed maps of the immediate vicinity, because your GPS is unlikely to get you there, given the warren of one way roads and roads blocked to car traffic. We probably spent about 20 or 30 minutes stopping, asking directions, and trying to get to the front door, before we found it. After we knew where it was, it was easy to get in and out, and there was very convenient parking just down the street. But our first attempt was a challenging one.

That said, don;t let it dissuade you, as the hotel is excellent. Great location just across the bridge from the old town. The staff were wonderful. The rooms very well equipped, and very clean. The sound proofing from outside was excellent. The only complain would be that interior sound proofing was not as good, and we could hear noise out in the hall through our door. We made the classic mistake of accepting the room by the elevator, so this was likely not a unique issue with this hotel, more an issue of our not asking to be move away from the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HenderTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

First impression was the excellent service. We were greeted by our names late at night upon arrival and the concierge gave us excellent restaurant recommendations.

Very well located, good value, clean rooms, etc. All that you could ask for.

We did not enjoy as much the modern decor for visiting a city that has so much history to offer.

The bells from the nearby cathedral are nice to hear but they ring every hour during the night.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for a modern setting in Girona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Lovely room, the best food we had in Girona, and right where you want to be in Girona. Staff were very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here in October 2011 for 2 nights, it is right in the centre of Girona, less than 5 minutes walk to the square with lots of bars and restaurants.

The hotel is very modern and well looked after, the staff on reception were very helpful, let us check in early. I arranged late check out by email before we went which was very easy.

Breakfast buffet was very good, a little expensive but no more than you would pay in other places in the area.

I asked the receptionist to call for a taxi to the airport, she had no sooner put the phone down as the car arrived outside!

Excellent service, very clean, friendly staff - would return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireDolly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were in Girona for a business trip with an extended stay over. The hotel is well situated if arriving by taxi not sure if I'd be so happy if driving. Everyone was extremely friendly and made us feel relaxed. Efficient check-in and check-out with no problems on the bill. We had a good advance rate so considered it good value based on the central location.

The room was okay if a little austere. Everything smelled strongly of bleach. I think the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, are looking a little tired and I would agree with an earlier review about the firm bed. We had a view of an inner courtyard and were directly overlooked by a wall of flats. Consequently we had the curtains closed a lot of the time which didn't help the feel of the room. Although, it was very quiet which was a big plus. Air con was great and everything worked.

With regard to general services, the restaurant is very chic. We had a reasonably priced supper with excellent service. However, breakfast is too expensive in my opinion so we went out on 3 of the 4 mornings. There is no outside space at the hotel and no bar as such but there are many cafes close to the hotel so no problems with eating and drinking.

Overall, I would say it is a reliable hotel and I would use it again for business. However, when it is warm and bright outdoors I like some outside space. This is only a personal prefererance so I would probably try their sister accomodation - Nord 1908. If it has the same standards, I don't think you'd go far wrong.

Room Tip: Be careful. I suspect more light is balanced out by more noise! Check when you book if you have cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing