We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"can not understand how it has attained no.1 in Ratings"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I am listings positives and negatives from my point of view.

1. Very central to old town centre.
2. Clean compact modern rooms.
3. Excellent Triple glazing with rooms virtual soundproof.
4. Very Comfortable beds and pillows.
5. Friendly and helpful staff
6. Restaurant
7. Power showers in bathroom.


Negatives
1. No parking area with hotel.
2. No bar in hotel.
3. 70 TV channels but alas just 1 in English.
4. Carpet on 3rd floor stained and shabby.
5. Pool little more than oversized Jacuzzi.
6. Internet slow /not functioning at all
7. Breakfast little expensive at 12 per person.

Overall rooms pleasant, clean, comfortable, soundproof, except in mornings when cleaning staff were collecting there cleaning equipment in room opposite and having a briefing outside noisily. Great idea to have a “pool” installed in a city centre hotel attracting guests to the hotel, but when guests see the size of the pool I fear this positive will turn to a negative. Trying to watch TV at nighttime when you have 70 channels and only one English Channel becomes very irritating. Hotel advertised as Satellite TV but we could not avail of this or the bar. We still paid for these “facilities” .Little thoughtfulness for the English speakers would enhance hotel.
I personally would prefer a bar area where guests can meet at end of day, even the more economical hotels cater for their guests as per standard.
We enjoyed our stay in hotel but can not understand how it has attained no.1 in rankings. The main plus been Hotel is in central area but all hotels are central and others are better value.

Room Tip: Do not get room by service elevator as cleaners meet here to collect trolley and chat.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you very much for your comments they encourage us to keep working hard and help us to improve our services. As far as our weak points is concerned just want to tell you:
We are the only hotel with parking facilities 1 minute walking from the Hotel "in the old town center."
We have a bar in the hall of the Hotel and in summer time we will open a terrace.
Our indoor swimming pool is a small swimming pool it has (7m long) but the largest swimming pool in the center of Girona.
We are going to change the Carpet in a few month time.
We have more than 10 channels in english so we are checking what was wrong that day and normally with our free internet access we do not have speed problems. (we will check it again)
We hope to see you soon in the Hotel and have the chance to show you that thanks to your comments we have enhanced some of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciutat de Girona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

74 eur in the center of Girona with a short walking distance from old town and cathedral. If you are to visit Girona I would say this is a good choice and two large parking garages are close by as well. Breakfast we did not try as we prefer to have it in a cafeteria and there are plenty of them close by

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, they encourage us to keep working hard. Hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel was not as good as previous reviews led us to believe. We arrived after 12 the room was not ready, not a problem we went and had a walk around for an hour returned to the hotel still not abel to give us a room .Another walk around , and 3rd time lucky, we had a room. Although not a major problem as the weather was lovely and girona has lots of bars in which to pass a few hours, had we plannedsomethig spacific or if it had been wet we would have been very annoyed.The bedrooms are lovely and very quiet ,the brakfast adequate with relly nice coffee and freash orange juice.Wewere dissapointed that the bar wasnot open ,we like to have a nightcap when we get back to a hotel, there are lots of bars within a short distance but this is not the same and i chose this hotel because it stateded it has a bar.We asked at recption for the times of the buses to the airport and were told every hour on the hour, so went to catch the 17.00 bus but there is no 1700 bus . Lucily we had left plenty of time to get the flight home or we would have had to get a taxi. Dispite this the hotel is lovely the staff friendly and helpfull if not to well informed about th airport bus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you very much for your comments they encourage us to improve everyday. We are glad to know that you were ok in the Hotel, although you had some problems we have taken note of them and we will try to sort them out as soon as possible. Hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights here on our "mini-moon". Last stayed here in 2007 and the quality has been maintained

A nice modern room, comfortable bed and lovely soft bedding. Bathroom has a big walk in shower albeit i would prefer a more conventional sink over the modern one. The decor is modern and minimalist

Did not eat at the hotel but the restaurant looked popular

The location is the best only yards from the old town and Placa Independencia with its big range of bars and restaurants. We got the hourly bus from the airport and the hotel is an easy walk from the bus station

Gerona is a great place for a short break, the city has a fair amount to do and a huge number of restaurants at all prices. There are also plenty of easy day trips by local bus (ask at the Tourist Office)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you very much for your comment , it encourage us to keep working hard. Hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We selected the hotel based on trip advisor recommendations for location. We also wanted to be within walking distance of the train station for a trip to Barcelona. The location is excellent. Walk out the door of the hotel and you have a choice of shops, restaurants and bars, cross over the bridge and you are in the heart of the beautiful old town.

We didn't pay for parking while we were there, as we felt that 17 euro a day was excessive, particularly as the parking lot wasn't that close to the hotel. We instead parked in a free public car park for 3 nights without incident. We had requested a non smoking room and were disappointed to be greeted with a strong smell of stale smoke when we opened the door. Reception confirmed that it was a non smoking room, unfortunately someone had obviously been smoking in the room so it couldn't really be called a non smoking room. Aside from this, the room was lovely, with a large bathroom with a good sample of useful toiletries, a reasonably priced mini bar and tea and coffee facilities. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was very reasonably priced and we enjoyed eating there.

All reception staff were friendly and helpful however Jordi deserves special mention for his high level of customer service. He checked us in and helped us with local information on other evenings and is a great front of house representative for the hotel.

The hotel was the perfect base for exploring Girona and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysses2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for your comments they encourage us to keep working hard. We are glad to know that you were ok in the hotel. As far as "smell of stale smoke" is concerned we are really sorry about it. The room you had was a non smoking room but sometimes some guests do not follow the rules. Hope to see you soon in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel with my husband and five friends. We were all really pleased with the choice of hotel and would definitely stay here again. The location is good, very central and the rooms are clean and well presented. There were plenty of sockets in the rooms and some were located next to a full length mirror which was useful and there was a good magnifying mirror in the bathroom. The hotel was very quiet at night and the beds were comfortable. Tea and coffeee making facilities in the rooms were another plus. Breakfast was good and varied with bacon, scrambled eggs, cheeses, meats, pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit and the tea and coffee was really nice, hot and plentiful.The lady in the breakfast room was lovely. She was always pleasant and extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Staff on reception and the bar were also faultless and went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. The lady cleaning the rooms was so nice too, really pleasant and cheerful. We would all choose this hotel again if we return to Girona. The only negative was the stains on the carpet which did spoil the overall image on arrival but overall it was a thoroughly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThompsonTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you very much for your comments they encourage us to keep working hard. As far as the carpet is concerned we are planning to change it in a few months. Hope to see you soon in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We arrived Friday afternoon and were quickly and efficiently checked in. Our room on the 4th floor was good and the bathroom was excellent. The staff were very friendly and anxious to help. We didn't use the restaurant as there is an abundance of them in the immediate area. The breakfast seemed over priced and we used a cafe at the end of the street adjoining the hotel which was excellent and vastly cheaper. There is a little cafe bar adjacent to the hotel which was good for a snack and a few beers. The only negative was the state of the carpets in the corridors which could do with replacement as they were stained and this detracted from the impression of the hotel. Overall we would say it was good and value for money and the location adjacent to the main square could not be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublincrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, they really help as to improve and work harder. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As far as the carpet in the corridors is concerned, we just want to let you know that we´ll change them in a few months.
Hope to see you soon in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £81 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing