We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Girona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Girona
1 review
“Trip to Girona”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. But at night there was quite a lot of noise from the street such as from motocycles though it was supposedly a pedestrian street, and toiletries missed body lotion

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    267
    56
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
418
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel so we weren't too sure what to expect, we needn't worry..what a gem. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern, clean and impressive. The room was really nicely decorated, the shower was great and was stocked with shampoo etc, the mini bar was very reasonable. We didn't use the pool but we had a look and it looked really nice. The best thing about this hotel is the location, within 20seconds of walking you hit the square which has great restaurants and tapas bars..you can spend your nights(and days!) here eating and drinking your way around it!the wine and tapas are a steal. If you want friendly local service hit Lizzaran on the square, it might look a bit shabby compared to the more hip places around the square, but there are locals here for a reason!For the best tapas in town you have to venture out of the square and find Zanpanzar..get here early..it fills up. Its only a short stroll across a nice bridge off the square and your in the centre which leads to the old town so everything really is on your door step with this hotel. We will be returning and we will most definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
520 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a very nice, very quiet hotel, located on a pedestrian street just off the lovely Independence Square, and a two minute walk to one of the bridges over the river leading to the Old City. The rooms are very nice (but not big) and the fixtures and furniture are modern. My only complaint was the plasticky floor material. The hotel has free WiFi and there is a restaurant. Breakfast was very good. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner or lunch. The staff is very pleasant, and everyone seemed to speak English. Highly recommended if you are going to be in Gerona (which is a lovely city...well worth visiting). Parking is very difficult. As you come into the city, just as you cross the river, there is a big roundabout with a big free parking area on the side. I would suggest parking there and walking to the hotel...a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 210 (and I presume rooms 310, 410, etc.) has a window, but the view is of a wall. That didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Location is just excellent. We had some trouble finding it by car, but they were very helpful on the phone. The room was honestly much better that we had expected. There's no parking at the hotel, but there are two public parkings within walking distance.
Girona is an amazing city that will surprise you, and it's now home to the best restaurant in the world. If you're not up to El Celler, there are many other places where you can enjoy local food, all very close to the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaterZeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent service from the front dek staff when we arrived, nice room and good recommendations for somewhere to eat. Very good location too. An excellent choice for staying in Girona, I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for everything.
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a modern hotel very close to the river & Old Town. The reception staff were very helpful & welcoming. The facilities were excellent as was the breakfast. It was a little difficult to find, especially as the Sat. Nav. got confused. There is an underground car park nearby, in which the hotel has reserved spaces - cost 20 euros/day. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Many thanks for completing this writting after your recent visit at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona.
Sorry if it was a little bite dificult to find us we are going to try to resolve this issue.
We hope to see you again on your nest visit to the Girona city area.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The best thing about this hotel is....everything!!! The front of house staff have the rare ability to make you feel not only welcome but special. Their warmth and friendliness is genuine and appropriate. The exceptionally well designed and comfortable rooms have all the nice touches not often found nowadays including the sewing kit you always need when a button falls off! People have mentioned the lack of bath in some rooms but the showers are so well designed and powerful that, for us, it wasn't an issue.
We had the generous offer of a free breakfast and I know people think €12 is a lot but I would pay this as the variety and quality is far better than most Spanish hotels. Yes it's cheaper round the corner if price and economy is paramount to your holiday but quality and convenience can be much more enjoyable than saving a couple of euros maybe?
This is a hotel that has got it right!!!!

Room Tip: The showers, if you don't request a bath are big,powerful and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcgremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
From the front desk we would like to say thank you !!
And we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing