We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 October 2006

This is a modern hotel just across the river from the Old Town. Literally a few steps from the hotel and you have the Rambla and cathedral, plus fine shopping and pavement cafes and restaurants in the New Town. The website contained very helpful directions to the hotel and we found it easy to find, as it was signposted several times when approaching on the main route. There is an underground car park very close to the hotel, there was 15 euro charge which seemed OK for a city centre. You have to drive into the one way pedestrian area, but bollards collapse as you approach and we found this quite easy. Tip - pull up outside the hotel to unload bags and pick up a voucher before going to the car park. The rooms are very modern and comfortable (super big beds and brilliant walk in shower) and there are excellent tea and coffee making facilties. The breakfast (included) was superb. Reception staff were very friendly and the ambience is unfussy. All in all, exceptionally good value for a short stay in this lovely City.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mustntgrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2006

I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel - I chose it as a direct result of the great reviews on tripadvisor. The location of the hotel is good in relation to the sites of Girona. However, the hotel is difficult to find if driving and the car park was a nightmare to park in. The room was nice - I had been attracted by the free minibar - not as exciting as it sounds. The worst element was the miserable member of staff at breakfast - she was really unhelpful and reluctant to serve us (and other people).

In summary, it was a nice hotel, in a great location, with below average service.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrsbirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Location - The hotel is just on the other side of the river and about a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral. Shopping and very lively plazas, including the Rambla are very close.
Hotel - Good value. Clean, modern and bright. Reception desk very helpful and parking was just around the corner.
Restaurant - Didn't have dinner there, but the menu looked good, and the decor was nice. Did have breakfast, as it was included in the price, and it was very good. A lot of various options.
Overall I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CubbyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

The position of the hotel is excellent. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is superb with plenty of choice and restaurant is lovely. Rooms are spacious and very minimalistic. but our bed was quite hard.
Only real downside is that the chuch bells chime loudly at eight onwards which woke me up each day so bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
Girona is a lovely city and there is plenty to do there for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and modern. The restaurant is also an external restaurant and so looked like it would be a great place to go for dinner, unfortunately we arrived too late and instead just had breakfast the next morning. We took a look around Girona quickly before we left and found the hotel very conveniently located for the old town.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Maz4Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

We booked this hotel with an English-speaking receptionist from a phone on the Autopiste Service Area 20 kms away and was guided in.

What a wonderful, friendly, brilliantly-run haven in the very centre of the fascinating old city of Girona!

When we explained that it was our last night in Spain before returning to Belfast via Barcelona, the receptionist Joan ( that's a man's name in Catalonia) gave us the most spacious room available for sorting out our baggage -- and lots of new purchases.

We had a great mediterranean dinner in the superbly stylish restaurant. After a quiet, tranquil night's sleep ( the hotel is in a traffic-free zone) we had a truly five-star breakfast and met the hands-on General Manager, a beautiful young woman who was pleased that we made a point of thanking her for such an experience.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Trew'sTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

Great hotel, very clean, modern rooms and facilities. Free WiFi and they even had laptops for use in your room. Perfect ideal location for seeing Girona on foot (the city is quite small and very walkable). Great staff, very helpful and friendly, and spoke English. Great breakfast included in rate and the free mini bar and robe/slippers were a huge hit with the kids. We had 2 rooms with 3 children and they gave us adjoining rooms, which is quite rare in our experience in Spain. Can’t say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cliffu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
893 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#8 of 20 in Girona
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £78 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing