We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if you get the room through the tourist office”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value if you get the room through the tourist office”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Thanks for the tourist office for finding us this pleasant, business hotel in the heart of "new" Gerona. The front desk treated us well, and we got great recommendations on where to eat from them. The room was fine -- good size, clean and quiet. It's not an exciting place

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    256
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
261
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

This place is located in the commercial area of Girona, and is walking distance from the marvelous Old Town area. Carlemany has all the basic services, is clean and comfortable -- more like a business hotel. We would have preferred to stay in one of the Old Town cozier hotels, but because they are mostly small availability is not easy to come by.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Dear KathyKitty,

Dear Wirral-Tripor,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your accommodation and our services and facilites, these will be shared will all our associates in order to keep up with the good work and service. As you noticed we mostly cater to business type of guest however we are now upgrading some of our rooms to fit independent travellers.

We hope you enjoyed our lovely Christmas decor that has been on since late november.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms very nicely furnished. The only thing I would have liked would have been a coffee/tea hot water pot and service in the room.

The one issue I had was with the internet. -- free but VERY VERY slow. It took 3 hours to accomplish work that should have taken an hour. For that reason, I probably won't be able to return to this property as I spend a lot of time on the internet even during a leisure trip. Otherwise loved the hotel, the location and the breakfast (try the local pastry XiuXiu)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomentsNotice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Dear "MomentsNotice"

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany with other Tripadvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your accommodation and that you enjoyed one of our most typical local pastries: El Xuixo, a sweet thing to remember for sure.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you had with our WIFI system. We do acknowledge that some technical issues took place during your stay, we can assure you that those were properly solved and our Wifi is working at is regular speed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

The hotel is in an excellent quiet location, less than 10 mins from Rail/Bus station, a modern hotel, very clean and with all the usual facilities including free internet and restuarant, no breakfast included in our deal but can be purchased at around Euro 13 per person (expensive) attached to the hotel was a very nice cafe with pastries etc.. which would easliy set you up til lunch time. Easy walking distance to the old part of the city, wandering down the narrow streets findings lots of unusual shops/bars and restuarants, surprisingly not too expensive, recommend Cafe Irlandes for food and drink their lunch menu euro 10.50 for three courses was exceptional all home cooked try the pork with apples casserole "yummy" one night we tried the El De La Lleona Morrocan/Catalan style food very well cooked and excellent value three courses with a bottle of wine Euro 40 for two. The old city is compact and a pleasure to walk around. All in all a great hotel and Girona weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirral_Tripor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Dear Wirral-Tripor,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your accommodation, these will be shared will all our associates in order to keep up with the good work and service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

I liked everything about this hotel. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was great, no split in the middle and nice bedding. The location was surrounded by shops and about a 15 minute walk to the Old Town. This hotel is very close to the train station which is wonderful because we took a train to Barcelona and spent the day then returned to Hotel Carlemany for a good night’s sleep. Last but not least, the hotel staff was helpful, pleasant and efficient. We had a great weekend and would highly recommend this hotel and Girona Spain.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear "TamaraAlexandria"

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to our city of Girona.
We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your accommodation, these will be shared will all our associates in order to keep up with the good work and service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

As others have written, the hotel is a short walk from the historical center of town and is surrounded by shops, small cafes, banks, etc. As a naive American, I assumed on site parking was a free lot. I should have known better. The parking is in an attached, city garage. We paid 20 Euros per night.

We did not eat at the hotel. A block from the hotel we found two small cafes serving breakfast. The old quarter of the city and the blocks surrounding it contain dozens and dozens of cafes, bistros and restaurants.

The room was OK. We did not have any issues with the free internet service. The TV carried CNN, FOX news, BBC and several other English language stations. Another reviewer referenced "street noise" from rooms facing the square. I am a light sleeper and I never heard any street noise. By 10:00 p.m. the streets around the hotel were desserted.

We book through Travelocity and had a good price of around $110 per night. We prepaid and that was that! We loved Girona. The hotel is functional and that is what I expect for $110 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear "Accounting Professor",

Thank you very much for taking some of your valued time to write about your experience in our hotel.
We appreciate very much for positive comments about the hotel and our services and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel General Manager.
Hotel Carlemany Girona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

This hotel is very conveniently placed for both old town sights and new shops. There was a well-stocked buffet breakfast including fresh fruit, cakes and pastries, toast, and the usual hot breakfast items. It was clean and comfortable.

My only criticisms are that the decor was slightly drab (fawn net curtains, fawn bedcovers with brown pillows!) and that rooms overlooking the square tend to be a bit noisy at night, but I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direccio, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear "Family152",

Thank you very much for taking some of your valued time to write about your experience in our hotel.
As per your comments regarding the decor we must say that each floor has a different style. Moreover we are now undertaking some re-styling in our bed linen for your future enjoyment.
We appreciate very much for positive comments about the hotel and our services and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel General Manager.
Hotel Carlemany Girona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing