We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very nice:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed there only for one night( we were waiting for transfer from Girona airport) but hotel made a big impression. Hotel is located in the city center very close to the train and bus station and local medieval attractions:)
Reception Staff are very helpful, restaurant employees are way less attentive to costumers needs( girl behind the bar quite rude, poor knowledge of English):P
Rooms are clean and large with HD flat TV. Bathtub is equipped in massage shower head- very nice experience after all day walk in burning sun weather:)
Only thing that I missed was....swimming pool:(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    257
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
261
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The biggest attraction of the hotel is the convenience and comfort in the medieval city within walking distance. Also the train is close just a short walk away. Nice but not outstanding rooms, great breakfast and fast internet are useful for casual traveler and those visiting for business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We arrived very late, and were welcomed warmly at Hotel Carlemany. The room was very clean and comfortable, and with plenty of space. The location, near the station but not too far from the old part of the city, was great. An excellent place to stay and for a very reasonable price. Girona itself was worth much more than an overnight stop .... maybe next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Jules52,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that even though it was a very short stay you did enjoy both our hotel and our lovely city of Girona. As you certainly said it is worth to spend and couple or three night to discover not just the city but also our beautiful province of Girona.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in July, and had a trouble free stay. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable, with a mini bar/ fridge, free safe. I agree with other reviewers that the hair dryer in the bathroom was out of the ark, but other than that our standard room was fine. 5-10 min walk to both the bus/train station and the beautiful old town, where many great eateries and chic shops (the ones that haven't gone bust) can be found. The old town really is lovely and we spent many an evening mooching around the shops/ice cream parlours.
To conclude, Girona is a lovely city and the Hotel Carlemany suited our pocket/purpose. I have to say the free WiFi was a boon, until I tried to connect, the speed was soooo slow. Can I recommend the restaurant Artusi in the old town. Great food and service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danoofcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear danoofcfc user,

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your stay and our services. We regret very much if you experienced low internet speed service, we'll look into our internet service and improve it if necessary.

We celebrate that you enjoyed our city of Girona with its heritage, people and culture.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Carlemany and used it as a base for touring. We upgraded to a suite because the price seemed reasonable and we thought it would be a good place to splurge. The Carlemany is a good choice if you are driving, because it is much easier to access than any hotel in the old town and parking is directly connected to the hotel. Our suite was large, comfortable, with a view overlooking the square. The soundproofing was excellent and we were never troubled by noise. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, but a little pricey. If this is an issue it is easy to find a cafe within easy walking distance. We were disappointed that the restaurant (which is very attractive) was only open at lunch. However we did have tapas one evening in the bar/lounge of the hotel and had an enjoyable evening with a good bottle of wine at a reasonable price. Also Girona has many good restaurants within walking distance, so this should not deter you. Overall the Hotel Carlemany is definitely recommended.
I should mention that in summer the hotels along the Costa Brava are very crowded, expensive, and often require full pension. Girona is an excellent alternative unless you absolutely have to be on the beach. It is an interesting city with a Gothic cathedral, an old town made for strolling, and lots of good restaurants and bars. There are numerous things to see within an easy drive, such as the Dali museums, the monastery of Sant Pere de Rodes and the villages of the Costa Brava.

Room Tip: Book ahead directly with the hotel on the internet on a non-refundable basis and get a considerable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear retired698 user,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience about our Hotel Carlemany and our city of Girona.

We celebrate that your overall experience in our hotel was very positive and you did enjoy our different restaurants.

As you mentioned Girona is an excellent base to discover not only the Costa Brava but the inland and Pyrenees of our area.

Again, we appreciate very much your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
General Manager
Hotel Carlemany Girona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

1. The first room we got facing the square was noisy as the windows did not close properly, so even people talking could be heard, fortunately we were able to get another room facing the inner part. No view but at least quiet rest at nights.
2. We had a major problem with the breakfast and the situation was handled extremely poorly.
At the time of check in, we were told and even written on the key card holder that breakfast is included. The next morning we went to the breakfast room, started to make pour some coffee and by the time we returned to our table, a nice bill with 28EUR was waiting to be signed.
After trying to explain the staff that we were told that breakfast was included, they checked our reservation and said, it is not included, so it is a mistake, but not really admitting that it was their fault or any apologies. Instead, they sort of made us felt bad that we already started with the 2 coffees to pour, so we should be happy not paying for those. Ridiculous. This is what you expect from a 4star hotel?
3. Another issue was the WiFi, which was rather non existing, the signal strengths said connection was good, but we were happy if a single web page page was loaded in a day. So basically, internet access was not working at all.
4. AC only works if the key card remains in the slot. Make sure to request 2 keys, so you can leave one in the power slot when you leave your room, so when you return later, you do not enter the sauna.
5. The entire AC system seems outdated, there is no choice to select the fan mode, only the cooling at 3 speeds and the auto. For the night we tried both low speed, we woke up frozen. Next day auto mode, woke up sweating. The temperature settings were not accurate at all showing like 27C when it was already 22C. So during the night, you have a choice to either be sweaty or freezing. Good luck with the thermostat to set to your needs...
6. Hairdryer is extremely noisy and looking at the model, it is probably from the last century.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Mr. Pusztai,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany.

We sincerely regret that you overall experience wasn't as good as expected, however there are a couple of points we would like to clarify again.

1.-All our rooms are soundproof however and if it is facing a crowded square you might be able to listen some noise only at busiest commercial hours. It was our pleasure to offer you a better room that suites your needs.

2.- Concerning to the major breakfast problem as you said, we both know there was no major breakfast problem. According to your reservation, actually made through a promotional TRIPADVISOR CODE, you chose to book a Double Room non refundable. No breakfast was included on this rate. Once at check-in time you were informed that buffet breakfast is optional and available in our Restaurant El Pati Verd at 14€ per person and day. This was the information we wrote you on your check-in card.

3.- All our rooms have individual A/C siemens systems, no records found of mis-function those days. We do apologize if we didn't success in explain how to use it properly.

4.- Wifi service is free for our guest through out the hotel, also no records found of mis-function however had it had disturbances we ask you for apologies on this matter too.

We do hope and wish your stay and experience in the city of Girona was memorable and we wish you to have you back to Girona in the near future.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel Carlemany.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing