We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT MODERN HOTEL AT GREAT PRICES”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MODERN HOTEL AT GREAT PRICES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a week every year for the last decade whilst visiting local friends. The rooms are excellent and modern. And quiet too. This hotel has all the trimmings you would expect of a 4-star yet its prices are those of a 2-star and have remained so year after year. It is a short 6mins walk from the station which is where the bus from the airport (served by Ryanair) also terminates. It is situated in a bustling retail/residential area just walking distance from the town centre. Don't be off-put by this...it adds to the charm, makes the waiter-served cafe a good place to meet and the outdoor tables/chairs get the sun nearly all day. There is secure underground parking in the adjacent shopping centre. The only disappointment of recent years, and reflecting the Spanish recession, is that their excellent el Pati Verd restaurant now only opens at lunchtime. There is another restaurant adjacent to the cocktail bar but this is nowhere near as good as the Pati Verd. The only downside I can think of is the breakfast (€14?) which is OTT. We just walk 3mins away to an excellent cafe for our breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Those overlooking the square have the better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR20London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    256
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
261
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I have now stayed twice at the Carlemany on business (both times booked by my hosts in Girona). It is a mid-sized hotel over four floors right in the centre of (modern) Girona, 5 minutes' walk from the station and 10 minutes' walk from the old town.It faces a modern piazza with good shopping and eating nearby (three eateries in the hotel itself). I have not paid the bills myself so can't comment on the value, but my experience on both occasions has been that the hotel takes a generous attitude and does not find excuses to charge extras. Breakfast is a buffet with some hot food for the Anglos but mostly in the local idiom (excellent jamon serrano, and all kinds of yummy sweet things that I would never eat before lunchtime!) Free wifi was useful but erratic. If you get 'site not found' messages,persevere! I think the router settings need some tweaking, because it was not a problem of signal strength. Best to use your vpn if you can. I got some good work done in my spacious room and also enjoyed some nice walks around town in the sunny but cool winter weather. A pity that direct flights from the UK to Girona have virtually petered out. A great destinantion in its own right.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfJohn_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Located in the city centre and over a pubic parking. The hotel offers a discount for the public parking and has direct access from the hotel to the parking. There are plenty of shopping stores next to the hotel (as Zara, H&M, etc).
Frigobar doesn't make any noice at all, which is great if you have a light sleep.
Wi-fi connection is terrible, I had a lot of problems browsing the internet and some webpages took ages to load or directly did not load at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

online offer meant this was excellent value. a easy walk to teh old town, supermarket, chain shops and others (in the 'new' town close by. Ordinary looking but excellent cafe on teh main road for chocolate and churros (tapas were fine, good value wine) on the way direct to the river, Dali museum in regional town of Figueras definitely worth a vist - hotel just 5 mins from coach and rail stations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear RRP2011

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your stay and our services and that you got it thru our online offer.


We celebrate that you enjoyed our city of Girona with its heritage, people and culture.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

For a short stay in Girona, especially if you have a car, the Carlemany is a great place to spend a few nights. It is only a 5 minute walk from the old town. Rooms are clean, there is a popular restaurant downstairs. and if you like to shop, there is a Zara and H&M right across the street!

Also try the restaurant Konig which is only a couple of blocks away. It had some awesome fresh fruit juice and had a line up going halfway down the block (so get there early).

Only downside is that internet was extremely weak and slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyMike604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear MikeyMike604

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that even though it was a very short stay you did enjoy both our hotel and our lovely city of Girona. As you certainly said it is worth to spend and couple or three night to discover not just the city but also our beautiful province of Girona.
We regret very much if you experienced low internet speed service, we've recently done some improvements on our internet service for your future enjoyment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Well situated, close to gothic and jewish quarter of Girona. Comfortable room and well furnished. Free wifi connection. Car park in the same building. A convenient place in Girona for business and also to visit the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Juan H,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that you did enjoy both our hotel for business and our lovely city of Girona for your leisure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronshoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We spend two nights in this very pleasant hotel - very clean and modern. Very good service, and location is at a local square - only a 5 minutes walk from the train station, which is perfect if your travelling to Barcelona by train.
The family room we had was very nice and very relaxing to spend time in. We decided to go back to this wonderfull hotel after spending time in a very unpleasant hotel in Barcelona. This hotel in Girona was perfect, and the restaurant serving tapas was very good, and the breakfast in the hotel was also fine. We decided to inklude breakfast in the hotel, which was very easy since we had kid's, and this just make things easier. The breakfast was14€, and mayby it can be found cheeper, but it was well spend the money.
We spend a Day extra in Girona instead of Barcelona, and this was the best decision we've ever made on a vacation. This City is so nice and beautiful and really worth spending time in. We are planning to go back to Girona, and will most likely stay in Carlemany Hotel again. The only downside is that a pool is missing, since we are travelling with kids. But we love this hotel and City :-)

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Tina B

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that even though it was a very short stay you did enjoy both our hotel and our lovely city of Girona. As you certainly said it is worth to spend and couple or three night to discover not just the city but also our beautiful province of Girona.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing