We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlemany
Nearby Hotels
Nord 1901(Girona)
US$223
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Costabella(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Margarit(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$166
US$156
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$104
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$1,387
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
237
304
61
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
304
61
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindigo restauranttrain stationold townmodern hotelgreat hotelcomplimentary toiletriestapas barcentral locationten minute walkgood sizebuffet breakfastlarge roomfree wificomfortable roomsvisit gironathe air conditioningstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked this hotel after a friend recommended it but we were very disappointed. We booked a suite for our whole family to sleep together, but when we opened the door I was very disappointed. The room was very dark, with two windows only showing on a balcony that was shared by other rooms, so we couldn't open it and it was over a very narrow street anyway. It had very old and dark curtains, and the whole atmosphere was very depressing. If it wasn't so late when we arrived I would have asked for a room change.

The walls were dirty and chirped and the whole image was very different from what we expected. We just fell asleep and left early the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel itself is situated over a shopping center, but don't let that put you off, it is modern and is a good 4 star hotel. Our room was large and the beds very comfortable. The staff were attentive, efficient and polite. As we booked room only, I cannot comment on the breakfast but at €14.00 per person we decided to eat out and sample from the myriads of small independent coffee shops and restaurants that are around the hotel and were not disappointed for choice, prices or types of food on offer,

The hotel itself is about 500 M from the Bus/Train station and 1 Km from the Old town of Girona - which is a nice walk.
Girona itself is a typical Catalan city, with the Catalan flag proudly displayed at every vantage point, Thankfully, there are no McDonald's, Burger King or Starbucks in the city so the influence of the large multiples have not destroyed the center yet. It still has the feel of a friendly town where everyone says hello.
The Easter Festival starts on Wednesday night at 20:00 Hrs with a procession of Roman Soldiers through the town and then on Good Friday another big procession with trailers representing the 12 Stations of the Cross being pushed and pulled by locals in costumes led in by Roman Soldiers and bands and then out again. Everyone from the town takes part and it really is a great colorful celebration and with the location of the hotel, we were ideally situated to experience the best of the commercial and medieval attractions on offer in the beautiful Catalan city of Girona.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel not facing out onto the square are quieter, I like a cold bedroom so switched off the air con but the temperature stayed around the 22C mark which was OK.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed just one night in the Hotel Carlemany but we really enjoyed it and thought it was the perfect hotel to stay in when visiting Girona. The location is perfect, very central and 5 min walking from the old town. There is a public parking nearby where the hotel guests get special rates and also you can access the hotel straight away from the car park lift. The room was modern and spotless, and the bed was quite comfortable. We had some drinks at the tapas bar and the staff were really nice and efficient. We also had some trouble with the safe box and one of the staff came 2 min after we rang reception and fixed the problem, so we were very pleased about that.
So, we highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the lovely Girona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TaniaBCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a very clean comfy hotel, in the centre of Girona. The bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel and the reception staff are extremely helpful. I will definitely use this hotel when I return to Girona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a week every year for the last decade whilst visiting local friends. The rooms are excellent and modern. And quiet too. This hotel has all the trimmings you would expect of a 4-star yet its prices are those of a 2-star and have remained so year after year. It is a short 6mins walk from the station which is where the bus from the airport (served by Ryanair) also terminates. It is situated in a bustling retail/residential area just walking distance from the town centre. Don't be off-put by this...it adds to the charm, makes the waiter-served cafe a good place to meet and the outdoor tables/chairs get the sun nearly all day. There is secure underground parking in the adjacent shopping centre. The only disappointment of recent years, and reflecting the Spanish recession, is that their excellent el Pati Verd restaurant now only opens at lunchtime. There is another restaurant adjacent to the cocktail bar but this is nowhere near as good as the Pati Verd. The only downside I can think of is the breakfast (€14?) which is OTT. We just walk 3mins away to an excellent cafe for our breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Those overlooking the square have the better outlook.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GR20London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews