We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in the cenentre of pretty Girona”
Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Montefollonico, Italy
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in the cenentre of pretty Girona”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The location cannot be better. Stick your car in the garage and walk,eat and talk in this pretty city.
A lot of history, nice and smart city.

The rooms are fantastic and there is nothing you will miss. The service friendly and the morning coffee in their coffee bar is excellent. Go to the main square(Independenza) and youy will find restaurants in all price range.

Room Tip: All rooms are not noisy as it is in vehicle free zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    268
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
271
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is located in the new part of town about 5/10 min walk form the historic centre of Girona. It is a large fairly modern hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and were directed in rather brisk fashion to our room on the third flood. The room had single beds and looked a little small and dated. Given that we had booked a double room I rank reception to complain and after a bit of persuasion were moved to a double room which felt much more roomy.

The rooms themselves were clean if not a bit dull. The bathrooms were nice with a powerful shower. A few of the basic extras were missing from the hotel, no slippers, dressing robes, free water etc which you might expect from a 4 star hotel.

The hotel has three bars/places to eat which range in formality. We ate at the indigo bar and had tapas and wine. The wine was excellent and good value the tapas was quite standard and expensive. We also ate in the bat attached to the hotel which was nice and good value for money.

Save for the first night the staff in the hotel were friendly and suggested good places to eat. The hotel also has free wifi which is useful.

All in all, this is quite a good hotel nothing special but a good base to explore the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
348 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked this hotel after a friend recommended it but we were very disappointed. We booked a suite for our whole family to sleep together, but when we opened the door I was very disappointed. The room was very dark, with two windows only showing on a balcony that was shared by other rooms, so we couldn't open it and it was over a very narrow street anyway. It had very old and dark curtains, and the whole atmosphere was very depressing. If it wasn't so late when we arrived I would have asked for a room change.

The walls were dirty and chirped and the whole image was very different from what we expected. We just fell asleep and left early the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel itself is situated over a shopping center, but don't let that put you off, it is modern and is a good 4 star hotel. Our room was large and the beds very comfortable. The staff were attentive, efficient and polite. As we booked room only, I cannot comment on the breakfast but at €14.00 per person we decided to eat out and sample from the myriads of small independent coffee shops and restaurants that are around the hotel and were not disappointed for choice, prices or types of food on offer,

The hotel itself is about 500 M from the Bus/Train station and 1 Km from the Old town of Girona - which is a nice walk.
Girona itself is a typical Catalan city, with the Catalan flag proudly displayed at every vantage point, Thankfully, there are no McDonald's, Burger King or Starbucks in the city so the influence of the large multiples have not destroyed the center yet. It still has the feel of a friendly town where everyone says hello.
The Easter Festival starts on Wednesday night at 20:00 Hrs with a procession of Roman Soldiers through the town and then on Good Friday another big procession with trailers representing the 12 Stations of the Cross being pushed and pulled by locals in costumes led in by Roman Soldiers and bands and then out again. Everyone from the town takes part and it really is a great colorful celebration and with the location of the hotel, we were ideally situated to experience the best of the commercial and medieval attractions on offer in the beautiful Catalan city of Girona.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel not facing out onto the square are quieter, I like a cold bedroom so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed just one night in the Hotel Carlemany but we really enjoyed it and thought it was the perfect hotel to stay in when visiting Girona. The location is perfect, very central and 5 min walking from the old town. There is a public parking nearby where the hotel guests get special rates and also you can access the hotel straight away from the car park lift. The room was modern and spotless, and the bed was quite comfortable. We had some drinks at the tapas bar and the staff were really nice and efficient. We also had some trouble with the safe box and one of the staff came 2 min after we rang reception and fixed the problem, so we were very pleased about that.
So, we highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the lovely Girona.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TaniaBCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a very clean comfy hotel, in the centre of Girona. The bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel and the reception staff are extremely helpful. I will definitely use this hotel when I return to Girona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a week every year for the last decade whilst visiting local friends. The rooms are excellent and modern. And quiet too. This hotel has all the trimmings you would expect of a 4-star yet its prices are those of a 2-star and have remained so year after year. It is a short 6mins walk from the station which is where the bus from the airport (served by Ryanair) also terminates. It is situated in a bustling retail/residential area just walking distance from the town centre. Don't be off-put by this...it adds to the charm, makes the waiter-served cafe a good place to meet and the outdoor tables/chairs get the sun nearly all day. There is secure underground parking in the adjacent shopping centre. The only disappointment of recent years, and reflecting the Spanish recession, is that their excellent el Pati Verd restaurant now only opens at lunchtime. There is another restaurant adjacent to the cocktail bar but this is nowhere near as good as the Pati Verd. The only downside I can think of is the breakfast (€14?) which is OTT. We just walk 3mins away to an excellent cafe for our breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Those overlooking the square have the better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR20London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing