We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas”

Tasca Galega Esconxuro
Ranked #50 of 498 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

One of the better restaurant choices in Girona with a fine menu and a wide variety of extensive and ever changing Specials, this is truly an unmissable experience for the Gourmond exploring the best of the city. Service is friendly and fun, and they have a fine (if somewhat limited selection of my favourite wine of the Emporda) winelist. Street side dining is best to soak up the atmosphere - the interior can be a little warm when crowded. This is not a budget choice however and the cost of plates (substantial as they might be) adds up. The seafood and fish Specials are usually unmissable - I'm still dreaming about the gambas and the salted cod.
This was my second visit and I heartily recommend it.
It is worth noting that the tapas here are not the traditional small plates usually associated with the word 'tapas'; rather a selection of Appetiser / Starter plates (at a minimum) although the salad is truly enormous (too big for even two to finish).
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best tapas in Girona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have been to a few girona restaurants and as tapas goes this offers some of the best. At 28 euros for 4 dishes (meatballs, tomato bread, peppers, prawns), a glass of wine and a coke it was also pretty good value. Authentic and tasty food in quirky surroundings. We'll be visiting next time we go!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kookat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rather expensive, just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes the tomato bread was amazing. Yes the roast peppers were good and was a generous portion. Yes the garlic prawns were cooked very well. But the octopus dish was so disappointing, we are lost for words. The price on the bill wasn't the same on the menu. For only those 4 dishes and 2 soft drinks, it came up to EUR 38. You can eat better and cheaper elsewhere for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tree3te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food and cool spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Cool place. I went on my own and didn't feel uncomfortable at all. The food was delicious (meatballs followed by filet). Good and kind service with genuine smile. Catalonia can be proud of such places! Will come back!

Helpful?
Thank Bonkers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is a real find. The tapas were amazing, unbelievably tasty and plentiful - we tried the gambas, pan con tomate and the calamares, and we went back again and had a steak!!! This has to be one of the best restaurants we have visited anywhere, the quality and preparation was so lovely. The service was great, extremely genuine (they were really and honestly wanting you to have enjoyed the food), and the wine was delicious too.....great little location just off the main square. Cannot recommend it highly enough, it cant be beaten. So tasty!! I love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasca Galega Esconxuro also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Tasca Galega Esconxuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing