We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Historic
Nearby Hotels
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Costabella(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nord 1901(Girona)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Peninsular(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Carlemany(Girona)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
215
103
24
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
103
24
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral bellsfamily run hotelold citystone wallsevery hourbedroomed apartmentlight sleeperart museumlots of charactermodern amenitiessmall balconylovely hotelhotel roomperfect base for exploringamazing locationnarrow streetsgame of thrones
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The suite on the 4th floor is a fantastic room. The hotel is a great mix of old Girona and modern facilities. Also very cyclist friendly. Highly reccommended family run hotel. Breakfast is also good. The church bells near by aren't really an issue. Some on tripadvisor have complained about them but it didn't bother us at all.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank N371jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here two nights and would definitely recommend. The location near the Cathedral in the quieter part of the old city is very convenient. Place is a lovingly renovated property that combines the charm of old with modern amenities. Rooms had character and were comfortable. We had a junior suite the first night, which has a small terrace but may not be worth the extra money. Smaller room on the third floor was fine. The people complaining about the bells must be light sleepers. With the windows shut and the A/C on, you could hear the ringing but we weren't really disturbed.
Only criticisms have to do with the bathrooms. The shower/ bathtub in the junior suite has no curtain or anything and the water went all over the floor. The standard room bathroom area had a clear sliding glass door that offered no privacy and would be easy for somebody to walk into.
Staff was friendly and helpful. They fixed a broken balcony door very quickly. We did find broken glass on the floor of our room that the maid had missed. We didn't take advantage of the fairly expensive breakfast, but saw others eating in the nicely appointed breakfast area.
Be SURE to get directions ahead of time for the parking, which is almost impossible to find. We spent an hour plus on a frustrating hunt. Google Maps definitely doesn't take you there.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite the first night, which has a small terrace but may not be worth the extra money. Smaller room on the third floor was fine.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I can't really add anything too different to the comments below regarding the hotel (I am definitely not a light sleeper but on one night it felt like the bell was in the room! of course its charming but from 6am, every half hour when you're tired gets to you after 3 days). Very beautiful, dark, atmospheric but understated. Appreciated being shown to our room on arrival and felt a bit embarrassed when we had to admit to not speaking any Spanish or Catalan, which the receptionist seemed a bit affronted by. The air conditioning was so quiet and the bathroom was huge and well decorated. We didn't take breakfast as there were so many options locally. The location involved getting lost a few times at first as its in a small side road if you detour away from the cathedral steps but that's all part of the charm. Girona is wonderful, lively, full of history with beautiful, well kept green spaces. The people are friendly and there seems to be music and laughter in the air wherever you go. I would return for sure, but for the few hours we spent at the hotel, we probably didn't get the most from it.

Room Tip: First floor room next to lift was noisy
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Omg definitely difficult to find and parking is challenging. Bells did not bother us but limited AC is not great. Make sure you get a fan to blow air into your room---and that they do not take it out (as they did ourss but replaced when complained. Place has great location and charm but not sure if apartment worth value. Owners seem marginally invested in helping guests seems like they are tired of job. Very clean but did not check out kitchen. Girona lovely city with many fab food places to explore. Get out to explore nearby wineries and beautiful sites close by like cap de cereus and Cadeques

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylegabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I arrived in Girona during the annual "flower festival," unfortunately, because it was overwhelmed with visitors and very crowded. I had a rental car and had a very difficult and stressful time finding the hotel, which is on a little street in the old part of town. But once I was there, all was well...the owner's son (Xavier) was extremely helpful thoughout my overnight stay.

My room was spacious, well-appointed, and not crazy expensive for the quality. The breakfast was generous and delicious. I hardly noticed the cathedral bells which so many are annoyed with...must be very light sleepers. I would certainly stay at Hotel Historic again, but definitely not during the flower festival!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calhounseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews