We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great support...”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Many comments discribed already a nice place to stay. We specially liked the fantastic service and especially the support of Senora Casilda. She provided us a free parking next to the hotel and gave us many good advices for Girona. Thank you again...

Room Tip: Upper rooms got a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxlait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

Although it took us awhile to find our destination it was so worthwhile!! My husband & I never wanted to leave. He is not the B&B type but he wants to go back to this quaint hotel with all the wonderful old city history with a modern rustic twist! We were able to walk to shopping, dining & sightseeing with so much ease & excitement around every turn!
Relatives who were visiting in area couldn't find us through all the cobblestones twists & turns- it was nice to have our own little getaway!!
The staff is family who are so accommodating & friendly! XAVI is the best & I wish him the best!! He made us feel so welcome & was so helpful in every way!! I can't wait to go back again as soon as possible. The Cathedral with it's beautiful bell tolls is literally around the corner & so beautiful!! I really never wanted to leave!! Girona is beautiful - it's been a few months since our trip but it is engraved in my heart, soul& mind forever!! Thank You Hotel Historic for starting my trip to Spain on the right foot!!
We stayed in the Manaies room at Hotel Historic - which has a story of it's own - Love the symbolism connected to this special hotel & city!! Old Girona is amazing! Thank you to everyone in Spain for such an amazing adventure!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The Historico has an ideal location for a visit to Girona. Probably best to arrive for the first time by taxi since it is not the easiest place to locate among the warren of ancient streets. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable and well equipped. The owner was welcoming, helpful and had a fund of local knowledge and information.

The Historico building itself is fascinating and the owner will happily explain its historical development to you.

When in Spain we like to do as the locals and take breakfast in a local cafe and there is plenty of choice close by.

Some comments mention the Cathedral bells, we thought they added to the charm of the place and they do not chime at night.

Girona itself is well worth a visit of a few days: the people, the atmosphere of the place, the food and above all the history and culture make it a real gem.

Recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMcNBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in old Girona right next to the Cathedral. Is in old historic building but inside is totally modernized. We had a two bedroom apt that was so comfortable I could live there. Girona is such a gorgeous town and this hotel is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The suite on the 4th floor is a fantastic room. The hotel is a great mix of old Girona and modern facilities. Also very cyclist friendly. Highly reccommended family run hotel. Breakfast is also good. The church bells near by aren't really an issue. Some on tripadvisor have complained about them but it didn't bother us at all.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank N371jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here two nights and would definitely recommend. The location near the Cathedral in the quieter part of the old city is very convenient. Place is a lovingly renovated property that combines the charm of old with modern amenities. Rooms had character and were comfortable. We had a junior suite the first night, which has a small terrace but may not be worth the extra money. Smaller room on the third floor was fine. The people complaining about the bells must be light sleepers. With the windows shut and the A/C on, you could hear the ringing but we weren't really disturbed.
Only criticisms have to do with the bathrooms. The shower/ bathtub in the junior suite has no curtain or anything and the water went all over the floor. The standard room bathroom area had a clear sliding glass door that offered no privacy and would be easy for somebody to walk into.
Staff was friendly and helpful. They fixed a broken balcony door very quickly. We did find broken glass on the floor of our room that the maid had missed. We didn't take advantage of the fairly expensive breakfast, but saw others eating in the nicely appointed breakfast area.
Be SURE to get directions ahead of time for the parking, which is almost impossible to find. We spent an hour plus on a frustrating hunt. Google Maps definitely doesn't take you there.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite the first night, which has a small terrace but may not be worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I can't really add anything too different to the comments below regarding the hotel (I am definitely not a light sleeper but on one night it felt like the bell was in the room! of course its charming but from 6am, every half hour when you're tired gets to you after 3 days). Very beautiful, dark, atmospheric but understated. Appreciated being shown to our room on arrival and felt a bit embarrassed when we had to admit to not speaking any Spanish or Catalan, which the receptionist seemed a bit affronted by. The air conditioning was so quiet and the bathroom was huge and well decorated. We didn't take breakfast as there were so many options locally. The location involved getting lost a few times at first as its in a small side road if you detour away from the cathedral steps but that's all part of the charm. Girona is wonderful, lively, full of history with beautiful, well kept green spaces. The people are friendly and there seems to be music and laughter in the air wherever you go. I would return for sure, but for the few hours we spent at the hotel, we probably didn't get the most from it.

Room Tip: First floor room next to lift was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range: £88 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing