We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Only stayed for two nights but enjoyed the hotel greatly. Lovely decor downstairs in the lobby and in the apartment, good kitchen facilities.

Was kept awake in the night because of the closeness to the cathedral and its bells, but didn't mind as it's all part of the experience!

No air conditioning in the rooms which was difficult in mid-August, but fans were provided.

Lovely friendly staff, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    91
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
71
143
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We returned with friends to the Hotel Historic this August after a lovely stay last October. The location is fantastic right next to the Cathedral at the top of the old city. The hotel is friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and we would highly recommend it as a great place to stay for a visit to Girona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosterandchick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Right in the heart of the old city. Very well appointed and spacious apartments in an historic building. Welcoming and helpful staff. The bells chime throughout the night. Parking is available - need to ask, Difficult to find your way there ask for instructions, particularly where to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 694Doron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hotel Historic is in a lovely area of Girona, near to the cathedral and Arab baths. We were a family group of 3 adults and stayed in one of the apartments for 2 days. We would recommend getting a taxi to the apartment if you arrive by bus as we did (Frogbus from Perpignan) as the location of the Historic is via many steps uphill and is quite a distance when carrying luggage (taxi cost us €8.20)

The manager was very helpful and the apartment was big enough for our needs (2 bedrooms). However, I have to say that unfortunately we found the apartment to be quite hot and sticky in August despite the fact that fans were provided (this was especially so at night when trying to sleep). The supply of crockery could do with improving as there were no small plates and it would also be helpful if a tea towel and washing up sponge could be provided as these are usually standard in self catering apartments and not really items that you carry with you or expect to buy. The bathroom although adequate could do with some updating - there were several broken tiles around the bath.

We loved Girona and would definitely recommend it as a destination for a short break (and a quieter alternative to Barcelona).

Room Tip: Apartments are very hot in August with no air con. Probably better to book a room in the hotel in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARKY36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent just 48 hours in this beautiful old city city, but we were able to see everything we wanted, take two much-needed naps, and have three very lovely meals because of the location, service, and comfort of the Hotel Historic.
We stayed in the actual hotel rather than the apartments, and our room was wonderful. Bed, bathroom, storage, space, bed, decor-- all were Spanish and beautifully appointed. But the location is what makes this place special. Our room literally looked right out on the Cathedral and was in the middle of the Jewish Call, the winding old streets that we had come to see. As our reviewers have commented, the bells ring throughout the day, but we find that magical, and the room itself was as soundproof as we could have wanted for sleep.
We also appreciated that the hotel manager took complete care of us so that we could make the most out of our time. Maps, restaurant recommendations, timing suggestions, etc. With the maze of streets in this medieval neighborhood, we would never have figured it all out without his help.
We had breakfast one morning in the hotel, and it was fine--a full meal including fresh juice as well as eggs made to order and ham and cheese, but the other morning we just had a cafe breakfast of croissant, juice and coffee on a square near the hotel. The restaurant options, however, are endless, both in the hotel neighborhood and across the river on the Plaza Independence. We had a wonderful traditional meal at Marietta, a perfect tapas dinner at Didal, and a one-of-a-kind fish dinner at a restaurant where they greet you at the door with a glass of cava so that you can sip while you choose your fish and preparation from a display.
From carrying our bags up when we arrived in a taxi from the train station to calling our taxi when we left, the Hotel Historic took excellent care of us, and I would return to this charming hotel and city in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We took the room Manaies for its partial balcony view of the Cathedral, although the heat wave need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60811Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just had 9 great nights at an apartment associated with Hotel Historic in Girona. The management were very helpful and spoke good English which made it easy for us. Our apartment was spacious (2 bedroom), nicely furnished, well equipped, clean, and great value. The location, in the centre of the old part of town was ideal with lots of interesting sights and restaurants nearby. The old stone structures of the hotel/apartments and surrounding buildings, labyrinth of narrow cobbled lanes and alleys, steps, arches, and bridges, combine to create a wonderful atmosphere.

The old part of town does have a number of churches including the cathedral, and they tend to ring their bells a lot! Not a problem during the day, but could be disruptive to sleep at night. The hotel had very double glazed windows which we chose top keep closed at night to effectively minimise the bell noise.

Our apartment didn't have air conditioning but had good fans and a central heating system. We were there in very hot weather, and the combination of the thick stone walls and fans was sufficient for our comfort.

We explored the region on road cycles and the Historic was an ideal base!

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our apartment 2A, which is above the street corner, and has several window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Five stars for the Historic Hotel!! The service, quality of the hotel, and breakfasts are first rate. The location is quiet and away from the crowds while being a short walk to all of the activities. Book your reservation now; you will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrSRJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#15 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: C/ Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing