We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
newbridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

3 of us stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 4 nights. Very spacious , clean ,beds comfortable in beautifully restored building in the heart of the old city.very personal friendly service from the owner.bring sensible shoes Gerona old town full of steep steps and cobbles.we liked the sound of the bells ringing and they didn't interrupt our sleep. This is the best place to stay in Gerona to soak up the atmosphere of the beautifully unspoilt old town .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    92
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
146
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Hotel historic is situated in the heart of the historic quarter of Girona making it an superb location for exploring and soaking up the atmosphere of Girona. The hotel is perfectly decorated to embrace the architecture and beauty of the city. We had a two bedroomed apartment that was fully equiped to ensure a comfortable self catering stay if one wished to do so. The hotel is family owned we had a warm welcome. The views we had of the surrounding buildings was breath taking. The wifi access was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived at the train station in Girona and got a taxi to the hotel. No problem getting a taxi, but what a ride! Up, up we went through narrow streets in the old part of Girona finally arriving at the door of this old, stone hotel which has been updated with modern amenities. We were greeted warmly by the owner and shown personally to our room which was modern and of good size with a very nice bathroom. The cathedral bells were loud but they didn't bother us. We rather liked them as they reminded us of where we were. We loved the stone walls and the historic nature of the hotel. Right in the heart of old Girona, we could walk everywhere from the hotel to explore this lovely city. Good Wi-Fi in rooms. Owner does everything at this hotel including making breakfast which includes eggs if you want them. It took awhile to get them, but breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again. Girona is/has been the training base for well known cyclists and some have stayed in this hotel. Their visits were memorialized in pictures and jerseys displayed in the lobby. Since we are cyclists and were starting a bike trip, we enjoyed this aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindamyers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is in an excellent location. More of an apartment than a hotel room. Just up the road from social services so perhaps not good to arrive by foot late at night. Well appointed owners very helpful with advice taxis general information. Excellent wifi. We ate breakfast around the corner as directed by the owners son as we didn't want a big meal. Would definitely recommend this place . Enjoy!

Room Tip: Level three was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uddingston
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was, as always, a great pleasure to return to the Hotel Historic. On this trip we had a two bedroom apartment as this was the last room left in the small hotel. We found a warm welcome awaiting us from the moment we arrived. All the balcony doors in our room were open when we arrived and so the room was lovely and cool. The thick bare brick walls help to keep it cool too. The noise of people walking and talking in the narrow alleyways surrounding the hotel greeted us too. Immediately we felt at home. The hotel sits at the back of the beautiful cathedral and quite near the university. At once Javier filled us in on all that as happening in the city during our stay. That evening there was a 10k run through the streets, which we enjoyed watching. Next night there was a food festival with all the restaurants setting up stalls with small tapas of their food and drinks. 3 euro for food and 1 euro for wine, beer or soft drink. What a fantastic atmosphere. As usual the walks through the streets of the old walled city were a delight as was passing over the various bridges to the "new" part of the city with the lovely squares and shops. As usual the trip just wasn't long enough. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in the city since we found Hotel Historic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

this is not a hotel in the normal sense of the word, but rather an unique apartment hotel. i am sitting in a large fully equipped kitchen, with a separate bedroom and a full bath on the other side of the apartment. just off the kitchen is a small lounge with a tv. the wi-fi works great. the place is spot less and the staff very nice. don't drive here as there is no parking and the historic district is quite tight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilgerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Only stayed for two nights but enjoyed the hotel greatly. Lovely decor downstairs in the lobby and in the apartment, good kitchen facilities.

Was kept awake in the night because of the closeness to the cathedral and its bells, but didn't mind as it's all part of the experience!

No air conditioning in the rooms which was difficult in mid-August, but fans were provided.

Lovely friendly staff, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing