We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartment on 3rd floor.”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good apartment on 3rd floor.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Apartment was ok. 2 rooms with 3 beds. Moved one out in the living room as we were 3 friends. No aircon, but three nice fans. Simple Kitchen, but enough to make a light meal, and have some breakfast etc. Nice Breakfast served by the table downstairs for 10 Euro extra. The placement is excellent in the middle of the old town. Close to the restaurants and the sights.
Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: They are rebuilding to some work will be heard on the topp floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    91
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
71
143
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What an extraordinary place! Quite an adventure driving to it - ignore gps and trust your instincts. Beautifully presented at the top of the old town. Top floor rooms with panoramic stretch across Girona to the hills. However, if bells aren't your thing bring ear plugs as it's right next door to the cathedral. Staff happy to help put however they can. Genuine coffee for breakfast a big plus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentGartons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntexas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is a challenge to drive to but the owner's will assist in finding a parking location after check in. The rooms seem to be scattered thought out the old building and the apartments have fully equipped kitchens. The lift is small but adequate. All Girona's sights are with in a five minute easy walking down hill. With the windowns closed the cathedral's bells are not necessarily loud.

Room Tip: We moved to the 2 bedroom apartment because it had a tiny balcony. The view was the wall across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockwallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for five nights at Hotel Historic in March, 2014 – while riding the hills both north and south of Girona. Hotel Historic is a family owned business – Shobi and his mom run the small hotel, in a restored medieval building; his dad created much of the artistic brass and other metalwork.

The hotel is drop-dead gorgeous – the rooms are large, and mine had a shower with four horizontal nozzles. They have individually controlled heat and air conditioning, and the windows open out onto a quiet street in the old city. Beds are foam and comfortable, even after a long day in the saddle.

Breakfasts can’t be beat – and you need to watch the orange juice squeezer. Shobi cooks eggs and catalan toast to order, and there is great chocolate granola and fresh fruit. The hotel is English-friendly and bike-friendly (our bikes sat in the dining room).

I’ll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffinbelmontma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we lived here for one whole month, very cosy place and very quite and decent sized apartments
it is located in old town near cathedral. The owner of this apartment is very nice and very friendly, if you want to experience girona i would suggest you to stay in this place. The buliding is very old which they have maintained very well, kitchen has all the utensils you need to cook and there is a cleaner who cleans your apartment and internet is good we had no issues with internet.

It's a very safe place to be which is close to university you can see lots of young crowd around and very quit in the night. i would recommend this place best place to be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
759 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 764 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Hotel Historic is ideally located in the old part of Girona and close to the Jewish quarter - El Call. We arrived by taxi but as traffic is restricted in the Old Town the taxi could only drive so far, from there it was a few minutes walk to the hotel.

We received a friendly welcome on arrival where we were given a wifi activation code and also a map showing the nearby sites. The apartment was on the 2nd floor and was spacious consisting of a large sitting room, kitchen, dining area, a double room, twin room and bathroom.

The whole apartment was nicely decorated and well appointed. The kitchen area contained everything that would be expected and was ideal for our 3 day stay; there was a table and 4 chairs for dining in the apartment. The sitting room was comfortable with a large 3 seater sofa, and an oversized TV with a good range of domestic channels and a few international channels. Both bedrooms were of good size, both with small balconies. The bathroom was large with bathtub, a good shower and plenty of toiletries.

This is an excellent base when in Girona and is close to the main sites in the city, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. The people who run it were amazing, the rooms were excellent, and the building is an ancient and beautiful former Roman ruin, what could be better? Granted it is at the very top of a large steep hill, so unless you have rolling luggage and are in good shape, call a cab. It is worth the climb though.

I should point out that this place is near a church, and loud church bells sound off on the quarter hour. I found it a great part of the local culture, and I am not a deep sleeper, but very light sleepers or people sensitive to noise might not like it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_127245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing