We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
uddingston
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 18 November 2008

The hotel was a real find. We have stayed several times in Girona but this was the first time at Hotel Historic. We took a two bedroom apartment. One bedroom had two balconies and the other a window. There was a spacious lounge area and an ample kitchen. which needs some refurbishment. Although there were 4 of us there were only 2 cups, 3 cereal dishes, 2 dinner plates etc. and some were badly in need of replacement. The family who own the hotel are lovely and very helpful. The hotel rooms were very well decorated and furnished and were of a much higher standard than the apartment. That aside the stay was fantastic and the location of the hotel is right next to the Cathedral in the old part of the city. Would definitely use it again.

  • Liked — The location which is in a beautiful part of town.
  • Disliked — Well I could say the bells but actually they didn't bother me but added to the ambience.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    91
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
71
143
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

its a great value hotel in the midst of the historic quarter in Girona.

  • Liked — friendly staff grat location
  • Disliked — the bells - you do need ear plugs!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We were delighted with our short stay at the Historic. We didn't stay in the main hotel, but booked 2 rooms in the house across the road, which I think has just opened. The rooms and location are fantastic and the man who met us at reception (I'm guessing the owner) couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating. He booked our taxi to the airport for the following morning, spent ages showing us round the house, gave good tips on navigating Girona and the location of restaurants and told us to ring the bell of his own house (at 6am) if our taxi didn't show up on time! Couldn't be better!

  • Liked — The location, the welcome and the rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank S_Jane040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My wife and I had the attic apartment which is very nice. Good size Sony TV but could not get any English speaking channels.Comfy beds, but oh, those bells! First night I think I heard every ding and dong - every quarter is also announced! For the next 2 nights earplugs and an extra pillow solved the problem.
Breakfast was extra (7 euros each) which was in my opinion poor value, but it's not compulsory so you can breakfast elsewhere if you wish.
The hotel is nicely located - close to the cathedral as you may have already guessed and the art museum. The old town is quaint with lots of narrow alleys and easily got round in a day.In fact, 2 days is sufficient time to stay here.
There are lots of restaurants/cafes to choose from. We ate on 3 occasions at Angelots - very nice salads. There is 1 Indian restaurant so if you like that type of food don't go there! It's called the 'Taj'
We travelled from Barcelona airport by train to Girona. 20 mins into Barcelona and about 1hour 20 minutes to Girona. Trains run every 30 mins and are excellent value (about 8 euros from airport to Girona!
There is of course far much more to see and do in Barcelona. I would recommend Marina View B&B and if you have the time, take a day trip to Girona.

  • Liked — Spacious, nicely decorated, comfy beds and good location
  • Disliked — Those BELLS!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

It was nice to be so near all the beautiful sights in the old part of Girona . We even loved - well, ok liked the Cathedral bells. Our room was luxurious with its own small balcony and views of the roofs. The shower we had was unusual to say the least! Great fun and puts one in a good mood for the evening....But once in a lifetime is enough...
Xavi, ( I think thats his name) is very attentive and helpful. Girona is a real cyclists city and we enjoyed seeing all the cycling memorabilia in the lobby. The cyclists must have been practising in the shower to be so fit....

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

What a great little family run hotel, old building fully renovated. We had booked for 1 night but stayed for 2 nights. Everything was great, beautiful room, bathroom was fab, extremely friendly staff - even booked us another hotel down on the coast for the weekend. Couldnt fault the hotel itself. Right beside the Cathedral which was nice until the bells chimed at 5am !

  • Liked — The building itself
  • Disliked — It was up a hill
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon,Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Great Hotel. Lovely location in the old town. Close to cathedral so beware of the bells!!. Lovely family run hotel with very helpful staff and great rooms. I will definately be coming back here again.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TaffsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#15 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing