We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We missed our flight.....what better place to be”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We missed our flight.....what better place to be”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Xavier and his family were so welcoming, one of the distinct advantages of staying at a family run hotel.

We missed our flight home so had to stay another 2 nights which was great as we couldn't have asked for a nicer friendlier hotel to stay.

The pillows were a bit hard and there was no draw space, only wardrobe hanging space which was a bit of an inconvenience.

The bells became part and parcel of waking up which I actually liked.

As 2 girls on our own, we felt very safe in this charming little town and had lots of late nights but were not at all worried about walking home, even though the steps were a killer!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaGinaTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    91
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
71
143
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This hotel was really just great,
and it's such a romatic place to stay with your mate.

It's also a place where a former Tour de France winner has frequently stayed,
and being there we thought we had it made.

The decor in the room just worked really well.
Being there made us feel real swell.

They spent a lot of money making it that way,
that I have nothing at all bad to say.

The bathroom decor had a lovely design,
and all the tile and fixtures were very fine.

The rooms are not big but they are not that small,
and there's this cool spiral granite staircase outside in the hall.

The hotel is located in the walled city of Gerona,
it was frankly so much cooler than Barcelona.

But that's just my opinion because I like the slower pace,
not the feeling like I'm at a NASCAR race.

Gerona is like going back in time,
the old wall city streets are magically sublime.

Let yourself get lost and walk in circles like we did,
and feel like you are a little kid.

As you meander along all the cobblestone streets,
make sure to wear comfy flat shoes on your tired feets.

You'll see professional cyclists zooming around,
you'll feel like a hidden gem of a town you have found.

We stayed in the hotel as opposed to the apartments in the same place,
because it had been modernized and suited our taste.

If your lucky your cab driver might take you to the door,
and I think the rules of it being a walking street he did ignore.

It made it easier for us as we didn't have to worry about getting lost,
and the cab fare wasn't really a bad cost.

Maybe you'll discover this wonderful crepe place we found,
and eat ten of them and gain an exta pound.

The owner of the hotel speaks English just fine,
and in the town I hope you enjoy fine Spanish wine.

-Hailes

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The hotel was beautiful and the host were very nice. We only stayed one night and wished we had stayed more. The bells were beautiful and not bothersome. We reserved a room but on arrival host told us about an apartment within hotel that was bigger and cheaper than room. It was a welcomed bargain! I would definitately recommend this hotel and area to visit...both are beautiful! Did however not get back earrings I had forgotten on nightstand and purposely went back for...was told I could contact them and they would mail them but I needed to contact them first so they could tell me how much money I needed to give them for mailing :>(

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug & Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Live in Barcelona but wanted to spent a weekend away. Wonderful choice of boutique hotel. Could not have been better. As we speak Spanish the owner proudly told us about the renovation works and the challenges of converting three 7th century homes into a cozy hotel and apartments. We hit cold and rainy days but got lots of suggestions what to do, where to eat, have tapas ... and complementary umbrellas were provided.
Ah, and we liked the traditional 'jamon' (dried ham) and manchego cheese for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zug_BarcelonaSwizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We came for four nights after a time of travel through Spain and were not disappointed at what we found. In fact, we lliked it so much we extended our stay to 10 days. The Hotel Historic is located, as noted, in the historic section of Girona and we have had the pleasure to stay in two of the apartments down and around the corner from the hotel.

We've had two apartments, due to our extension, and we've loved both. The second one has all the charm of an old home with the modern amenities and I appreciated the bath/shower at the end of a long day.

Be warned there are cobble streets and steps to get anywhere and I loved all of it. We are close to many restaurants and cafes. Shops are within a few minutes, as are a number of small groceries, pastry shops and meat markets. We've chosen to eat breakfast and lunch in and dinner out each evening.

The bells, I love the bells. I don't know if we're just so tired at night that we don't hear them or we're getting older, but I will miss these time keepers.

We've day tripped to Figueres to the Dali Museum, and over Els Angels pass and to the Costa Brava. My husband has biked many beautiful routes and we can't wait to return.

This family run hotel is perfect for a home away from home. They personally oversee everything, and everything is clean and wonderful with touches such as fresh flowers in the entrance hall.

We came by car, but it would be easy to arrive by plane or train and get around the town easily walking or on public transport. Day trips are easy by train. The owner even volunteers to pick people up at the airport or station by prior arrangement.

If you want to experience living within an old city that is still being lovingly restored, try Girona and the Hotel Historic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Great value little hotel in the most perfect location. Oh yes, there were bells, but after the first night you got used to them and I kind of missed them when we left. And to just walk out on a fresh sunny winter's morning into the little atmospheric squares around the cathedral was just glorious. The room we had was beautifully appointed, with enormous TV (with access to BBC World and CNN for English speakers), great little bath and shower (and lots of little freebies - the razors came in really handy seeing as we can't take them in our hand luggage on the flight!), plenty of space for clothes and a little fridge. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, recommending places to eat and helping out with travel arrangements to the airport. Room was fairly good value although would have been better value had sterling not plummeted against the Euro - never mind!

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islawight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

The main building is one of those locally owned, historic building turned updated boutique hotel that you really cherish. It is perfectly situated in the old quarter (which is within walking distance of everything). The hotel is owned and run by a local family that personally inspects the cleanliness of the rooms, and are pleasantly enthusiastic in their efforts to direct you to good places to eat and visit. There is a lower cost annex around the corner that contains more private apartment style lodgings. The building and common areas are beautifully restored, though the rooms are not all updated to the latest standards. Still it is a good deal, very comfortable and a great option for larger parties that need more space and privacy.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrenadaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#15 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing