We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Historic - its a must”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Historic - its a must”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Beautiful building right in the heart of the old town, yes you will hear the church bells, but as long as you are staying for more than one night you will get used to them. From anywhere in Girona old town you will hear the bells. Fantastic restaurants nearby and atmosphere by the bucket load. Apartment was great, two big bedrooms, nice bathroom, kitchen area and lounge with flat screen TV - perfect for families. The owners are very pleasant and rates are reasonable. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiegwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    94
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
73
147
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Hotel Historic is perhaps the nicest hotel of the ones we saw in the old quarter while in Girona. The rooms are clean and the staff very willing to accommodate, even getting us in to a restaurant at the last moment and offering to park our car for us (they have limited parking). One word of advice---if driving, get directions to the hotel from the hotel itself. Do NOT rely on mapquest, google maps, tom tom, garmin, etc....Those maps will not get you to the hotel, I think because the vehicular entrance to the old town isn't the only entrance those maps use to guide you, but you wont be able to get to the hotel using them. You will drive in circles. Trust me. There appears to only be one way for cars to get into the city and Hotel Historic can point then way.

As for the nightly bells, we never noticed them.

FWIW, the hotel has been home to many international cyclists as evidenced by the cycling jerseys on display in the lobby

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxas_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Judging from other reviews, it really matters what apartment you are given. Our apartment was beautifully maintained and the double pane glass windows muffled the cathedral bells to the point that we never heard them unless we made it a point to listen for them. We had airconditioning and it worked; however it was in the livingroom so you had to run it awhile before the cool air drifted into the bedroom. But we were there at the end of August in the hottest part of summer.

The location was perfect and we loved this hotel. We would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadamstris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I too booked a 2 bedroom apartment at the Historic having read the reviews on TA.

The hotel is in the old quarter and we had no problems finding the hotel or parking. The roads up to the hotel are very narrow and steep. We parked in the small square about 50 meters from the hotel. The hotel and apartments are located in renovated old buildings with lovely exposed brickwork and nice design touches.The apartment was spacious but whilst clean it was in need of some improvements. Vanity/sink unit doors in bathroom had come off, shelf had come off and there were quite a few cracked tiles. The kitchen was ill equipped for people wishing to self cater. Not problematic for us as we ate out. Old fashioned stove top kettle with whistle - an electic kettle would have been better. Gas cooker required matches to light rings in order to use the kettle.

No air con and as per previous post this did mean that the apartment was hot and humid in August. The living room area opened out onto an enclosed patio area with plants. Noticed some mouse droppings here so kept the door shut.

The Cathederal bells are bothersome as they do ring on the hour, half and quarter hour. There is also a church nearby so it might not just be due to the cathederal. They ring 24 times at midnight! Due to lack of air con windows need to be open in summer so there us no escape from the bells. As the bedroom I slept in was in the interior looking out onto the enclosed patio, conversations, TV and amorous activities/liasons from the apartment above could clearly be heard and echoed around the enclosed space! Not nice to hear in between bell chimes!! Needless to say did not sleep well as too hot with windows closed and too noisy with windows open. Kids slept well in the other bedroom which faced the street and was cooler.

Some repairs,air con installation and updating required. I could not really recommend as it stands which us a shame as the location is hard to beat. Won' t be returning I'm sad to say and left feeling disappointed having arrived with high expectations having read good reviews on TA.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, in need of updating and lack if air con
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Floradora61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK south coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed here as a family with 10 & 15 year old children. We had a two bedroom apartment with a kitchen/sitting room and a bathroom. Lots of room, very clean and well appointed with a large screen TV, hob, microwave and utensils.

Owners very helpful and happy to chat etc. Booked us an early taxi and gave us their telephone number just in case of any problems.

Hotel is very close to the Cathedral and is a slow, easy 2 minute climb from the old town where there are lots of bars and restaurants. We arrived by train from Barcelona, and tried to catch a bus to the hotel, but ended up in a taxi which cost about 10 Euro. The buses run on a reduced timetable in August. Flew out of Girona airport which took 15 minutes by taxi at 5am, at a cost of 25 Euro.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The good points:Beautiful historic building in lovely Girona
The apartment layout was very spacious and the bed linens and towels(except for the ones that were thin and had holes) were clean(outside laundry service was being used) and in nice conditon. There was a newer, large fridge.

We chose a 2 bedroom apartment as we were travelling with our children ages 11 and 14. We like to have breakfast and the odd meal at our accommodation. We were very excited about the Hotel Historic as it sounded fantastic according to the reviews. We could not have been more disappointed! Our apartment was VERY, VERY dirty, and poorly equipped.(not that you would have wanted to use anything without thoroughly scrubbing it first) The furniture was heavily soiled and filthy , we only sat on the wooden kitchen chairs the entire stay.(and they had to be wiped down first)
It was very warm in the apartment. A fan was supplied but it was so heavily coated in dust and grime that we were reluctant to turn it on. The sitting room door opened to an inside area with plants that made the atmosphere very claustrophobic and increased the humidity inside. There were tiny ants everywhere - tables, chairs,on the kitchen counters and floors - very disgusting.They even got into our luggage.
Then there were the church bells. I had read in trip advisor that the bells rang all night - well nothing could have prepared us for the incessant ringing, as not one but sometimes as many as 3 sets went off hourly! Also, we thought that there would not be traffic as it appears to be a pedestrian area only around the hotel. Wrong - motorbikes roaring by, at least 2-3 in the middle of the night.
I also have to say the owner who was charming when we corresponded by email ,was not very nice, almost bordering on being rude and very unhelpful.
Enough said, we would never go back and would not recommend the Hotel Historic to anyone in the state it's in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank invancouvercanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We have stayed here a few years ago and were amazed that this has not changed. The apartment we were in is faded and cramped. The lack of air conditioning combined with the bells when you have the windows open means that sleep is very limited here.
This place really needs to pull its socks up as it is certainly becoming faded. On the plus side it is in a lovely spot and Girona is beautiful and really worth seeing but have a look at other hotels until the Historic has had some serious money spent on it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
1.3 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing