We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Option”
Review of Hotel Historic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Historic
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Good Option”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Overall this was a really nice hotel with very friendly service. We stayed in the fly room which was quite nice but i understand i one of their smaller rooms. In any case it was very comfortable. The breakfast was pretty standard and the only negative was the proximinty to the church bells which were very loud and continued all night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    92
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
146
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Girona is a magical place with cobbled streets. The hotel is right in the centre of the old town and it is nice and clean and extremely well run. We stayed for a couple of nights and we would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Girona.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsR4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uddingston
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This time we stayed in a hotel room instead of an apartment and it was large and airy with a fantastic bath and shower. The room had a balcony over the front of the hotel which was beautiful to wake up to looking out across the rooftops. As usual the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful, courteous and they really go out of their way to do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Free internet access and willingly phone for taxis if your going afar.No matter how many times we are in Girona we always find another cobbled alleyway we missed or another courtyard tucked away. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

If you're looking for 4-star bland international standards then look elsewhere, but if you want somewhere with real character, a family atmosphere and good value for money, this is your spot.
We had a two-bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the amount of space we had. We didn't use the kitchen facilities at all, as there were many restaurants, cafes and bars within easy walking distance.
The hotel is right in the middle of the oldest part of the city, near the cathedral. The bells do ring every fifteen minutes all through the night, but they're not too loud and we didn't find that they disturbed our sleep. The beds were made every day and changed halfway through our 4-night stay. There wasn't a huge choice at breakfast but it was personally served at the table and the food was good quality.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We fled Sitges and a poor quality hotel and drove to Girona. The hotel is family run and in a great location near the cathedral and in the old city - it even has on street parking (free permit with hotel room).

$90 Euros got us a two bedroom apartment with marble kitchen and family room. For some reason the large single rooms are more expensive but smaller than the apartments. My advice - go for the apartments, they are a really nice break after hotel rooms around Europe. There were only two of us but the 2 bed apartment could sleep at least 6 people comfortably with a double bed, two single beds and fold out sofa bed. We even had our own small deck/patio in the light well :-)

Kitchen is reasonably equiped for a long stay but we found 2 days in Girona was enough to have seen everything more than once.

TV was a good sized flatscreen but the programs are a bit limited, only one English channel I could find but I take my laptop and have a slingbox and various iplayers to channels from around the world. There is wifi in the reception area and each room has a plug in/RJ45 high speed internet connection for your laptop.

Family owned, you will probably be dealing with one generation or another. The son was very helpful, spoke good English and recommended a number of restaurants.
We tried one and it was worth the trip.

Also try Taj, if you like Indian food. It is down the hill on Cort Reial, a side road by the Rambla. Very worth the trip - best Indian food in Spain so far.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marknadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The bells toll every hour and in between 24/7 and it makes you feel back in time. The fulles room is very comfortable but has two single beds which was not really exciting for us. The owner makes us feel relaxed and fills you with information about where to go and eat. You´re going to be right in the middle of the oldest part of the city and walking distance from anywhere really important. Just a very exclusive stay and surprising medieval city!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed a night here before catching a flight home the next day and would definitely book in again if I go back. to Girona. The owner's English is fluent, and he was very friendly and helpful. It's a family run business, its up by the Cathedral, and you do get quickly get used to the bells chiming in the night. We stayed in one of the apartments and thoroughlu enjoyed our all too short stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Historic

Property: Hotel Historic
Address: Calle Bellmirall 4A, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Historic 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Girona
Hotel Historic Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing