We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel. not near anything..but. very comfortable room. nice price”
Review of Hotel Margarit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Margarit
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“very nice hotel. not near anything..but. very comfortable room. nice price”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

i am on my own but i was booked into a double since it was the only size available the room was perfect and with a very upscale bathroom/shower. also wifi fine. and front desk helpful.
the hotel is not really close to either the train station or the old town and is more or less equidistant from both.about a 15 minute walk to the station and a 20 minute walk to the old town but nothing of interest is actually close.

Room Tip: all rooms i would imagine are ok so long as they are not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    118
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
132
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

a clean, functional hotel in Girona. Ideal for short stay for a fair price. We traveled with 1 year old and found the facility was just what they promised. You can hear movements from another room but rest of the stay was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mademytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

No-frills hotel centrally situated in the lovely city of Girona. Helpful staff provided a map. The room was very clean. Shame the pillows are thin (and only one spare provided in a double room) and the towels thin and rough.

The room faced a busy road but with the window and shutter shut, this was not a problem. The floors must not be insulated as people seemed to be clog dancing above! Luckily this did not go on long and did not stop us sleeping.

The breakfast was good - a range of bread, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, hard boiled eggs, juice, donuts etc. One doesn't expect hot food for breakfast in Europe. I wish they wouldn't put cheese next to ham and with one implement to pick them up - this is not nice for vegetarians.

Secure parking available nearby though there is no free parking for you to pick up and drop of the key.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place will never win any awards for the facilities as there aren't any. However if you are looking for a good budget option close to the bus/train station and the old city for 2 or 3 nights Pension Margarit is well worth considering. It is only a 5/10 minute stroll to the station and the same to the old city. Following reading some adverse comments on here about small noisy rooms I asked for a quiet room and was given,without question, one of the two rooms on the 4th floor which was lovely and quiet with enough room to swing several cats round in, if that is your thing of course.

Breakfast is a little bit of a meagre affair as stuff doesn't seem to get replenished as it runs out so it is best to get there early if you want the best choice. Perfectly adequate though for the 8.50 euro charge.

Would I go back again? For a short stay = yes.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The locations is good, 5 minutes from the edge of the centre, about 10 to the Call and Placa Independence.
The price is low, but for when we went at least, not a great deal lower than some other options.
However the room was extremely cramped (just space to get around the bed), was extremely hot (mid September, rainy days, room was hotter than outside almost all the time) and had no windows at all - making it very dark and impossible to cool. There was a door out to a balcony facing out onto the courtyard. One wall also faced onto the staircase, making it very noisy when others came and went.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the inside courtyard if possible - they have no windows so dark and very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for three nights, arriving quite early in the morning on our first day. Were able to leave luggage locked in cupboard until room was ready at 1.00pm. We booked one of the larger rooms and were not disappointed. Obviously used as a triple room as there was a large settee. The bathroom was huge for a one-star hotel and everywhere was clean. Decor is a little drab, but for a city break this is not a problem. We're not the fittest of people, but found the walk into town easy and enjoyable. As the hotel is slightly out of the centre it was quiet at all times. The breakfast was such a surprise: fresh fruit, cereals, toast, excellent selection of bread rolls and pastries and croissants, cold meats and cheese plus tea and coffee. There is also a lift and the air-con is quiet and efficient. It even stays on when you leave the room. Don't always get this in four and five star places! We'd definitely return and can recommend Margarit to others.

Room Tip: Possibly worth paying for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Pension Margarit two years ago and didn't hesitate to book again. It's close to the station and city centre, a few minutes walk to the lovely old quarter of Girona. Bags can be left in a secure cupboard at reception until it's time to catch your onward transport. The weather was much hotter this stay and our room didn't have air conditioning, only a fan. This wasn't really adequate to allow a good night's sleep so perhaps make sure you ask for air conditioning when booking. Otherwise, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning/a room not in the sun for too long during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margarit

Property: Hotel Margarit
Address: C/Ultonia, 1, 17002 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margarit 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the banks of Onyar River, in the heart of Girona and just a five minutes walk from the Historic District and the Major shops. Our 30 room pension is still a family establishment which offers professional and personalized service in a comfortable, homey environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Margarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Margarit Hotel Girona
Margarit Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing