We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Margarit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Margarit
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
galicia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We paid 63 euros for one night in a triple room B&B in August - cheapest hotel I found in expensive girona. The hotel is 5 mins walk to the old town and 10 mins to the bus & train station.
I think we got the last available room - it was 40 degrees outside and no air con in the room.
The room was very small, rather rundown, with a tiny, old, cheesey toilet and shower. All a bit depressing. (I expect we were just unlucky.) The beds were comfortable though and the breakfast was good. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    113
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
128
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We spent one night in Pension Margarit in July. We had a standard room. It was simple, clean and comfortable. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and better than I have seen in more expensive hotels. Breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice and you could eat as much or as little as you like. They constantly replenished the buffet as items ran low.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
This is budget accommodation so do not expect luxury. However I we were very happy with Pension Margarit and will stay there again when we next visit Girona.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I expected the room to be small and dingy, since it was so inexpensive, and that's fine. In this I was not disappointed. I thought the bathroom could have been cleaner but passable for a the few uses I needed. But when I turned back the (icky) blanket to find a hair that was not mine on the sheets I was ready to check out (unfortunately for me, my visit coincided with Tour De France and no other hotels had vacancies. On the bright side, since I had my doubts about this hotel I packed my sleeping bag liner so I provided myself with my own sheets.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidycassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

It was one of the weakest rooms where I've ever stayed. Watching the photos and the recently renovated appealing hotel entrance I was expecting a comfy and cozy room, but in fact, our double room (301) wasn't as nice as the lobby. (photos, even mines, seems much better than it really is)
It's a budget accomodation, so nothing fancy to expect, but being Girona (a nice city but not exactly Barcelona and not a beach place), the price/quality was supposed to be much better. I'm not sure if it was only our room (the cheapest) and the other ones (more expensive) were much better, but mine was really weak and that is a fact.
The hotel (in Spain is rated as Pension) entrance is very appealing with modern and colourful decoration, even with internet access at the lobby. The Staff at front desk was kind and friendly when we were attended by 2 guys and unkindly indifferent when we got a lady (it seemed that she was doing as a favour).
There's a useful supermarket aside the Margarit where it's possible to buy some stuffs to eat and drink.
As for the room itself, it was spacious enough, comfortable bed, with a little sofa and bed and a nice balcony with views to a little but cozy interior 'Zen Garden'.
As for negative items: a small and old fashioned TV with no remote control, old and used wardrobe, no air conditioned (only a fan). The room, such as the bathroom, was no cozy and appealing at all - old fashioned, seemed to much used and needs restoring - and we didn't felt comfortable, specially at the bathroom where, although being clean, it had a half bathtub (tipical in some spanish Hostals and Pensions), but not so practical as a poliban. The shower-wall-support was loose and we had to hold it all the time while taking shower (with good pressure 'thou). Obviously, the sound isolation was terrible - sounds from stairs, corridors, other rooms and even from outside.
The room wasn't so nice as the entrance and photos antecipated - what a pity! I'm expecting to pass by Girona more often in transit for other flights, but I will try other places for sure - I paid 50€ for a double with breakfast included (it was a nice breakfast with spanish tortilla, juice, bread, ham, cheese, pastries, yogurts, coffe and milk), but I think there are other better options to stay the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Girona, although a hidden gem (people flying in with the cheap airlines usually give it a miss and head straight for Barcelona – a HUGE mistake), does not have too many good value accommodation options. Margarit is one of the few. The location is perfect for the train station (5 mins) and shopping in the new part of the city (2 mins), and not far from all the stunningly beautiful sights in the old town (10 mins to the cathedral, on the other side of the river). For a reasonable price, we got a "superior double" room, with ample space (especially by Iberian standards), a lovely bathroom, TV, aircon, and a big (again, for Iberia), comforatble bed (even though the mattress was a bit on the hard side). The breakfast (included) was basic but OK. The only nuisance (and we were aware of this before arriving) was the lack of a wifi network; there was just one public PC at reception (and the receptionist made me pay for using it on one occasion). COME ON, it's 2009, no? Margarit also serves as the left luggage office for the train station, as the one at the station is closed for security reasons (July 2009). So after walking to the station, the tourist information guy sent us back to Margarit. Good it's so close, as we ended up covering the route three times... Overall, basic but definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

we spent one night at the Pensio Margarit at the end of a holiday touring Catalunya. Our room was large, clean and simply but adequately furnished with a comfortable bed. The refurbished bathroom was fully tiled with a large walk in shower. if you want airconditioning you have to leave a 10euro deposit with the receptionist for the remote control. The hotel is located midway between the bus and train stations and the old town, 10 minutes each way. We would stay here again as it represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Just back from a 4 night stay in the Hotel Margarit. Excellent location, less than 10 minutes from bus station. Bus leaves outside the airport and takes about 15 minutes. Our room was a superior room. Couldn't see why it was regarded as a superior room though. Double bed, two chairs and a very clean bathroom with hairdryer and soaps etc. There was no balcony. I think some of the rooms overlooking the very small Zen garden had little balconies. The weather was fabulous and it would have been nice to be able to sit out. Reception staff seemed very friendly and let us stay on until 1 pm as our flight was a late one. They had internet in the reception area. We went on bed only basis. So cannot comment on the food. There is no bar in the hotel but right around the corner from the Hotel we discovered a great bar with an exceptionally friendly staff Ca La Gadea, C/ Rutlla 6. They couldn't have been nicer to us and we had many drinks on the house which was a lovely touch. We also discovered a lovely restaurant that did the most fabulous lunches for €9.50 for 3 courses and this included a bottle of wine and bottle of water. It is called d'ara, C/ del Carme 19. The food was amazing. We had lunch there on three days. Closes at 4 pm and is closed on Saturday and Sunday. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay and will probably go back later on. You could easily get around the city in 2 or 3 days. Most bars closed at 10 pm but you will get a few that stay open later but a little bit more expensive. A Farrell, Dublin

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margarit

Property: Hotel Margarit
Address: C/Ultonia, 1, 17002 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margarit 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the banks of Onyar River, in the heart of Girona and just a five minutes walk from the Historic District and the Major shops. Our 30 room pension is still a family establishment which offers professional and personalized service in a comfortable, homey environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Margarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Margarit Hotel Girona
Margarit Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing