We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The view across the city is great but the balcony looks like a car park and is rather stark. Rooms were clean but the furniture was rather like IKEA and both the table and floor lamps in our room were broken (nothing quite finished off properly). The air conditioning is noisy and kept me awake but it was too hot to turn it off.
It's quite a trek into Girona, up and down a steep hill, but a pleasant enough walk. The hotel lacked atmosphere as it's out of town. It was a decent price so I guess we shouldn't expect anything special. I would say that it's fine for a business trip or as a pit stop if you have a car. If I visit the beautiful city of Girona again, I will go for something in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eureka089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Girona is a wonderfully understated place, and the Palau is a truly wonderful find. The location in an elevated position gives a tremendous view from the beautiful terrace to the mountains.... especially beautiful at sunset.
The building is a great example of good modern architecture, with extensive use of glass, giving a panoramic feel to the outlook. Rooms are comfortable and a bit quirky, with a free minibar.
Girona is a great venue for a short stay, and this is where to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Difficult to find from the airport due to approach road being closed for roadworks. Once there found room to be very clean and comfortable. Found out on last morning of our 4 night stay that we could have continental breakfast for a very reasonable price. A bit of a walk into town but part of the fun of sightseeing. Would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel did the basics right. The booking was hassle free, the room spotless, the bathroom and bed a good size and the free mini bar (with 1 bottle of alcohol beer and lots of non alcoholic drinks) was an added bonus.

It has a lovely terrace with a great view, perfect for enjoying a cocktail in the evening. We did not eat at the restaurant, as the reviews were not fantastic, but breakfast was fine (we went for continental breakfast).

The hotel was a bit far away. And to be honest, i found it lacked character. However for the price we paid i did think it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiionabarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The lobby is nice and airy with a beautiful view while the rooms are functional and comfortable. A very nice feature is the free minibar. We didn't think the walk from the town was very long, it seemed to be 5 minutes either way and the hotel makes up for it by being quiet.
The only negative point was that there was no shower cap in the bathroom and the reception did not have one either.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room was very clean with a free minibar with coke, water, beer, orange juice, which was restocked each day. The hotel is near the old town, about a 15 min walk. It is up quite a steep hill which means the views are great but could be a struggle for those who are less mobile. We hired bikes and the hotel staff were very helpful with arranging somewhere for us to store them overnight. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel so can't comment on value for money in that respect, although the breakfast buffet was €16 each, which seemed a bit expensive. We paid around £60 a night for a standard double room here, which was great value. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby which is free to use and the hotel also has free wi-fi. The only downside was that a 'double' bed was actually two singles pushed together.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica_c_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

For the price we paid, this hotel is a gem. We stayed for only one night but wished we could stay longer. The room is clean and minibar is free (which include drinks like orange juice, lime juice, beer, etc.) ! It would be better if they had provided a safe in the room. Also there were not enough tissue paper for our use (there were only four sheets packed in a ziplock bag!) Free internet service can be access at the hotel lobby but not the room. Breakfast was a little expensive for the limited spread but the view at the terrace is spectacular. It overlooks the whole town. Service at the hotel is good and friendly. The hotel is located up on a hill, so it do requires a bit of walking (and climbing slopes) to get into town although it only takes about 15 mins. It is good exercise though. This is the hotel to stay for a short getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinjacoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#8 of 20 in Girona
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range: £47 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing