We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Condal(Girona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Piscis(Empuriabrava)
View Hotel
Bellmirall(Girona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Europa(Girona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
325
452
143
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
452
143
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbella vistasteep hillfree mini barfree parkinghill overlooking the cityold townnice hotelglass wallminute walkgreat views over the citystar hotelgoogle mapsbusiness hotelrooms are moderntown centreresidential areapublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 976 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Modern hotel ten minutes' walk from the city centre. Beautiful views over the city from the communal areas and terrace but not from most bedrooms, sadly. Our room was spotlessly clean, of a reasonable size with comfortable beds. The bathroom was spacious and the towels large and fluffy (why can't all hotels do that?). We did not eat breakfast but went into the city for a coffee and croissant as we felt €12 a head was too much for what we wanted to eat but it looked inviting if you were hungry. The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to be multi-lingual. We had to ask for more coathangers as four between two girls travelling together is not very many but they were provided instantly. The only criticism I would make is that in a hotel of this quality we were surprised not to have free WIFI in the rooms - it was available in the lounge but that is really not very convenient and it was an expensive add-on. Also wondered why there were no bin liners in the room or bathroom bins - cleaning out bins after every use must be time consuming for the staff and metal bins do not take kindly to damp contents like cotton wool balls which have been used to remove makeup.
If I were travelling during the heat of summer I would have liked a pool

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its personnel - friendly and extremely helpful. The building is modern and beautiful, sunsets over the Pyrenees unforgettable, the room was comfortable and very quiet. Good breakfast buffet, very decent restaurant, convenient parking. This is a perfect place to explore Girona and surroundings, especially Dali places. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Up the steep hill on foot or by vehicle is a bit of an adventure but you soon get used to it and is only a ten minute walk to get into town for sights, eat, dink and shop. Enthusiastic staff. The idea of the terrace and lobby area is to enjoy the view as views from most rooms is not of interest. Quite a good spread at breakfast. Easy and safe parking. Chief GRIPE is Internet charge in rooms. PLEASE STOP RIPPING OFF CLIENTS.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherSolaFerres, Director General at AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like before all to thank you for your time in writting about our hotel. We are very pleased to know your stay with us was great.
It is always a pleasure having a good feed back from our guests it makes us proud and motivate us to continue working to improve and to the satisfaction of our guest.
I hope having a Pool in a future, we will forward your comments to our headquarters in Madrid.
We Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Thanks again for your interest towards our AC Palau de Bellavista, we remain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Girona. It is at the top of a steep walk, but this is easily dealt with in that 10 minutes and is a nice work out after a good night of a varied choice of alcohol and restaurants the town has to offer.
Shops are plentiful and are of a boutique style. The large shopping centre type location is frowned upon here, but the shops that are available are numerous and competitively priced.
The hotel itself has very nice decor. The rooms are also very nice if a little "business" like, but are also comfortable and clean. The staff are excellent, attentive and all speak the required amount of english. The balcony overlooking the town is worth a mention as it is a great sport to see the mountains and watch the sun set every night.
The breakfast is decent enough to fill you up for what ever you need to do during the day, though the times cooked food is available for are a little awkward.
Girona is in Catalunya, not Spain, so don't expect any shops to be open on a Saturday, Sunday or most of Monday. Most restaurants, including the hotel observe siesta time which is usually 4pm till about 8pm for the majority of places, but check before you venture out.
The showers are good, the beds comfy (although their idea of a double seems to be sticking two singles together) and there are plenty of TV channels, but don't expect to entertain the kids. I would recommend not bringing children to this hotel. That is not to say it isn't child friendly, it just isn't very child accommodating. One thing this hotel could really do with is a pool. It is a massive shame there isn't one. However with so many things to see and do (and the beach is half an hours drive away) why stick by the pool anyway.
Room service is available 24 hours, but as you can imagine is outrageously expensive.
There is plenty of free parking and rooms stay cool if air con and windows are left open at sensible times. There is decent enough free wi-fi available in the main area of the hotel, but for room access if it rather expensive at 12 euros a day.
Particular staff of note are Montse (receptionist) and Andrea (waitress) they were both extremely helpful and recommended place for us to go. However, all the staff are happy to stop and chat and give you ideas on things to do.
One last thing, if you don't want to be woken by an over enthusiastic rooster, don't book a room over 125! Whilst the view from our room (132) was lovely and green, we were but a few meters from a locals chicken coup and they tend not to shut up! It just encourages you to get out and explore the town more.
To summerise; the area hotel is in, is otherwise very quiet. If we were to visit Girona again we would certainly stay here and not in the city. If you are looking for cute and quaint this hotel is not it. But if you are looking for a comfortable room, attentive staff and good food then you can't go far wrong. Oh and the view from the balcony is amazing, just that there is no pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you say double room. We asked for one and got two single beds stuck together with separate mattresses and covers. This maybe the Catalan way, but ironically it works as you don't argue over the sheets!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was a really oddly designed hotel, and was described as 5 star on some maps and 4 stars on different websites. It's a fair way out of the town on a hill, walking through a residential area. The journey down is ok but walking up is harder. We didn't have a car. It's about 15 mins from the station at a brisk walk but too far with luggage (uphill) so we got a taxi the first night and it was about 6 or 7 euros from the station. The view from the communal area is fantastic, overlooking the town and hills, for miles and miles. The rooms, however, are a different story, they are all facing an inner area of gravel or facing the hills. We had an inner one.

The bed was big and lovely, ditto pillows. It said on TripAdvisor and in their brochures that there was a free minibar, but when we got there, there was a price list and the receptionist explained that it was no longer free, it changed in September 2012. Prices were reasonable though. They also don't advertise that there is free coffee and croissants in reception some days in the evenings until 7pm.

Lovely tiled bathroom, great toiletries and creams. Heated mirror means it was never misted up. Hairdryer. Slippers and bathrobes. The odd thing was the glass separating the bathroom from the room, it had a picture of Girona's houses on it. It was very pretty and original, but if you went to the loo in the middle of the night, it lit up the whole room, so take a torch with you if you don't want to disturb your partner. Also, there is absolutely no intimacy so if you aren't familiar with your partner's bathroom habits and noises, you will be by the time you leave. You can hear everything. Absolutely everything. Not recommended for a romantic weekend away with a new partner!

There was free internet in reception and if you sat on the floor right by the door, you could just about pick it up without leaving the room! It was very touch and go. When you arrive and try to log on, you might not be assigned a user until several hours later so we managed to get access the next day, which was not very good for a 4 star hotel.

There was very poor tv reception the 5 days we were there, due to a fault with the main aerial, apparently. We reported it and they emailed to apologise, once we had already left. It was a shame as the hotel is a long way out of the centre, so once you are back for the evening there is nothing to do without the tv!

Reception was efficient but there never seemed to be anyone else around. Big area to sit around and read papers and do your internet stuff, and a very big outside terrace, but we couldn't use it as it was raining most of the time. Nice views. Didn't try the restaurant or room service.

Big function room downstairs, for weddings and that sort of thing

It was a really odd place, there was no pool, no gym, nothing to do when the weather was bad, and you have to buy food and provisions from the main town and carry everything back to the hotel. If you have a car and are using this hotel as a base to visit Figueres and the coast, then I think it would be perfect. We had no car and were relying on public transport and walking and so it was a long way out of the town to walk to the train/bus station every day. We chose this hotel to use up some Reward points my husband had.

Behind the hotel it is like scrub-land, people living in a shack etc and one morning I woke up to a cockerel crowing and looked out of the window to see if it had finally stopped raining, only to see a woman going to the loo out in the open. Lovely!

Whoever designed the hotel could have put in some facilities for guests. Certainly not a 5 star hotel. Very pleasant, despite awful weather, once you get used to all the walking, I suppose the hotel could always get taxis for you to go to the centre and there was a little bus which went up and down the hill, until about 9pm but not on Sundays or Bank Holidays. Good to use up your Reward points.

Girona was lovely and we went to Figueres on the train and also Platja d'Aro, Besalu and Banyoles on the bus, all very efficient and cheap services. Train to Barcelona was about 10 euros for the slower service, about an hour and quarter. Will definitely go back to Girona but not to this hotel as we were using up the points and it was too far out of the centre.

Room Tip: I think we had 105, just near enough reception to get internet, but you had to sit on the floor right by the door. View was across to the rooms on the other side and to your left you had the shack with the cockerel and the peeing lady.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexinargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews