We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

What a great location looking over the town in all its glory. This hotel is an oasis in a desert in a world of varying standards. The rooms are big, clean and the staff are very caring. My only complaint, once again, is the fact that wifi has to be paid for in increments depending how long you wish to be connected, but even paying for it it is not a good service. The Spanish hotel relationship with the Internet has always been an enigma. Why not charge clients more, but provide a good Internet service. The Internet has become vital to business and the traveller. There should be safes in each room to lock away valuables. We would love to return

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    403
    125
    30
    17
See reviews for
104
528
25
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albi, France
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August and enjoyed it so much that we booked to return at the end of the month. However, I think we were blinkered in our view of the Hotel and just over-whelmed by the beauty of Girona itself! I would definitely recommend anyone to visit the city of Girona . . . but maybe stay in a different hotel. The view from the terrace is good, as everyone has said, but let's face it you cannot see the beautiful old city and you cannot see the mountains at night! We enjoyed a reasonable meal with friendly staff on the Saturday evening (informed it was closed for the Sunday night). The rooms are good and increadibly clean, although the mini bar is more suited to teenagers, than adults, and if you look out of the window you are staring into someone else's bedroom! However, the major problem here is that the Hotel seems to be run for the convenience of the staff. The reception staff on arrival and during our visit were so unprofessional. Infact I couldn't ask a single question of them as they were too engaged in their own personal conversation, and yes, this includes the check in process! The restaurant was good, but although it should be open until 2300h, the staff started clearing away the empty tables at 2230h and then seemed somewhat disappointed when two tables of four people arrived to eat! The bar opens and closes at whim . . ! This is not the kind of service I expect from a four star hotel. Will definitely not visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherSolaFerres, Gerente at AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We acknowledge receipt of their comments during their stay at our hotel AC Palau de Bellavista and thank him for his contribution to our continued work to meet the needs and expectations of our customers.

I am confident that, apart from this inconvenience, the rest of its services and stay in general would have been pleased. We hope to see you again in the hotel and able to greet personally.

At your disposal, greets.

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good room in all respects. Great view over Girona from the outside roof which was also a restaurant and bar. Excellent staff. Old town easily accessible. Our room cost only £68.Plenty of free parking. Finding it was not easy but one stop to ask directions was all that was needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst driving from uk to southern Spain, and having booked online a few days prior to our visit. As others have said, the views are quite stunning, and the hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the old town and its wonderful atmosphere. The walk back up the hill is steep, but take it easy and its should be fine, and a drink on the terrace once you return is a just reward!

The hotel itself is very modern, and the space layout of the bar, lounge and restaurant is done with style and practicality. We didn't use the restaurant as it was closed on the Monday night we stayed, but the menu looked tempting. That said, we wanted to experience the Girona cafe culture anyway, so enjoyed the stroll into the city, which took no more than 10-15 minutes.

The bedroom is very comfortable, and very cleverly designed to maximise space. Good amenities, great bathroom and shower, and nice touches with full toiletries and a well stocked mini bar. Our online rate was only €65 which we both agreed was excellent value for money. We'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel as great base for a city break, a stopover or to explore the surrounding area. We'll be going back for sure!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, having made a reservation on the internet a couple of days in advance. There was a special for a suite (less than 100 euros), which we enjoyed. It was a pleasure after a month of traveling to spread out in a couple of large rooms. The bathroom was also large, with lots of thick towels. Everything was perfectly clean and well-maintained.

The view from the hotel is nothing short of spectacular. On a clear day, you can see a wide panorama of the city of Girona and the mountains in the distance. All the public spaces (lobby, bar, breakfast room, terrace) are oriented toward the view, while the guests' rooms views are more mundane. We looked at some tree tops in a nearby park.

The staff at the front desk was always polite and helpful to us. One day when we wanted to drive to the Costa Brava, they gave us a map and suggested our route.

As for the walk to the old quarter of the city, it takes less than fifteen minutes--and only half of that is on a very steep incline. Unfortunately, the weather was extremely hot when we visited Girona, so the walk was indeed strenuous. Otherwise, I'd say it was easily manageable for anyone comfortable with a little climb. Parking isn't always available in the city, so it is definitely easier to leave the car in the hotel's free parking and walk.

We enjoyed the city of Girona and wished we had longer to explore the surrounding area--we'll certainly stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked a night at Palau de Bellavista over the phone and paid around €100 for a double room. We did this on the day and upon arrival had to choose between a disabled access room and a stinking smokers room. Easy choice.

We were driving a hire car so the parking was convenient. The walk uphill from the city centre was not quite as strenuous as has been suggested in some reviews. You should have no problem unless you are particularly infirm or geriatric. And if you are there then is a bus you could take which passes close to the hotel.

The room was modern and comfortable. Considering all the raving about the view from the terrace, the view from our window was a bit of a disappointment - perhaps the guests opposite whose view was of our window had the same thought. Bathroom was nicely equipped. The only down side being that one wall was a translucent screen (covered with a picture of a 90's fashioned family enjoying the sights of Girona) facing into the room. When somebody turned the light on in the bathroom the whole room lit up. Wifi in the room was only available for a fee. I really don't understand why wifi is usually free in cheaper hotels but costs in more expensive ones.

The terrace did indeed have spectacular views over the city. The reception area to which it was connected had some seating and free wifi. This was also where breakfast was served. There was a pretty good selection of items.

The serving and cleaning staff I encountered were very friendly. Reception staff were a mixed bag and overall not particularly welcoming. As we left I tried to say thanks and bye but staff completely ignored me as they were deep in their own conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

in this hotel everything was great!nice staff,polite and helpfull,spacious modern rooms fully airconditioned,very comfortable,nice breakfast,free parking,nice terrace with a great view to the city!highly recomended!better for free access to the internet in the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Property: AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing