We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of Girona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top of Girona”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I went there with my best friend to relax from a hectic 48hrs in Ibiza so needed a retreat and I got exactly what I wanted and more at Palau de Bellavista.
The hotel combines ultra modern and slick design in a beautiful natural setting at the top of a hill overlooking the city that has a medieval charm with its churches,Museums and old streets.
They served a hearty breakfast with a good selection of local cheeses and fruits,good coffee and fresh pastries.
The hotel room decoration was a bit too generic but it was a spacious room with all the necessary amenities and a great view.
Hotel staff was professional and accommodating when it came to special requests.
The hotel surroundings were very quiet and relaxing, it is a shame we did not get to have dinner or a drink at the hotel bar which had an amazing view by night.
Would recommend it for couples or friends looking for a relaxing time in that beautifiul city of Girona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HindLouiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    397
    123
    26
    15
See reviews for
102
513
25
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

An excellent hotel. The location is impressive with wonderful views over Girona, the surrounding area and the Pyrennes in the distance. OK, it's a bit of a hike from the old town of Girona but it's absolutely worth it.
The personnel are excellent, always nice to be greeted by all who work there. It may simply be company policy but it is appreciated.
The rooms are very pleasant, all modern amenities are provided although it was a bit of a nuisance that there are no safes in the rooms; they are available next to reception( no cost). Excellent beds and the air conditioning worked quite well.
The breakfast makes a good attempt to represent Catalonia; it's not the usual international breakfast. I liked it that it didn't include the 'eggs and bacon' type breakfast, instead nice selection of meats, cheeses, pasties and fruit. Also I thought the price of €12 was good for this.
Car parking was free - added bonus.
Because of its location it is quiet during the day although it has to be said that noise from the music in the bar below does travel upstairs to the bedrooms and as there is only one floor of bedrooms it might affect some who have rooms at the nearest end to the reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritneyNorthGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This place is just great! They are doing everything right and the location is very close to the historic district of Girona, a charming, and historically important town about an hour outside of Barcelona.

The rooms are super; clean, modern, and stylish with great amenities. The restaurant in the basement has very good food for a fair price. There is a stylish bar in the basement as well. As it's on a hill, the basement has a walk out deck on the backside of the hotel with awesome views! In fact, there are fantastic views throughout the hotel. I could even see the snow capped Pyrenees, while it was almost 60 degrees in Girona.

This is a super hotel with great service. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the outside of the hotel, you'll enjoy a great view. Otherwise, enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiseallen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Pros: spacious rooms and very nice bathrooms, cleanliness, location (if you have business somewhere in the old side of Girona; although it is on top of a hill, it is a 5 minute walk to the walls).

Cons: service feels a bit inexperienced, they make small mistakes which are not terrible, but show lack of attention to detail. Also, there is no quiet space to read a book or work within the hotel but your room.

Will probably give it another try in June and see how it has evolved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great comfortable hotel near everything. Great views. Great winter rates. Comfortable beds. Rooms have no views but the views from the deck and lounge are fabulous. Helpful staff. We came here somewhat by accident to recover from jet lag on our way to france. Girona was a real find for us. There is no fitness facility but the walking and climb uphill was plenty for us. That could be a different story for a business trip or longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annawhartonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros:
-Spacious, nicely-equipped rooms with a few extras (stereo system, bidet, etc) and pleasant, modern design.
-Great road-trip hotel: plenty of free parking, and yet, only a ~10-15 minute walk from the Girona city center.
-The on-site restaurant referenced in a couple of the earlier reviews has finally opened - and it's excellent! My wife and I generally avoid on-site hotel restaurants, except for breakfast, but after a long day of traveling we didn't feel like hunting for a place to eat in Girona. Our meal turned out to be one of the better ones on our trip.
-We got a great rate.

Cons:
-No free wifi in the rooms, although it is free in the lobby (and rooms near the lobby can pick up the free signal).
-Thin walls/doors - we could hear people in adjacent rooms and in the hallway.
-A few quirky design elements. Despite the amazing hilltop location, rooms were not oriented towards the views. Also, no pool, spa or fitness center. Given the newness of the hotel, my guess is that some of these omissions may have been the result of value engineering by the owners, who were opening the hotel in the midst of lean times in Spain. Perhaps over time, more amenities will be added to the property (the excellent restaurant is a great start).

Overall, the missing amenities didn't bother us, as we were just using Girona as a base from which to explore the Costa Brava region. If you're traveling by car, it's tough to beat the AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donato86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel on top of a hill with a great view .... UNLESS you follow your GPS and go the "back way" ... We put the address into our i-phone and headed on our merry way up a narrow road, got to a tight turn and a patch of dirt and thought "there's no way this could be correct" so we headed back into town found a cafe with WiFi and looked it up again ... tried calling the hotel to get confirmation but no - one answered as it was starting to get dark we thought it best just to hit the road and get there before we had another thing agains us (no sunlight) Well lets just put it this way ... we are still married but my husband and I haven't been that tense at each other ... well ... ever.

We had rented a BMW in Barcelona so the thought of having to pay to replace the scraped up rental kept me from gunning it through a needle-eye alley - my hesitation prompted my husband to leave me on the side of the road as he plowed through .... long story short we finally made it to the hotel - I mentioned the trials and tribulations to the front desk and they said "oh you shouldn't have followed your GPS" .... and continued on to tell us it happens all the time but it is a prob with Google .... I get that but put something on your website or warn people when they confirm a reservation.

Anyway other than that it is a great place a bit quiet as it is a few minutes walk from town but nice hotel all in all. (Especially if you are a Marriott member as it doesn't take many points for a free room)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillBHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Property: AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing