We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but quite basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good value but quite basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights which was a little long as the hotel offers no recreational facilities. The view down to the town is great and it is only a 10-15 minute walk into the old city with all the historical sights, although it is a steep hill on the way back! Plenty of parking outside and some under cover. Rooms are modern, clean and fairly comfortable. There was no safe in our room and we were surprised as this is a business hotel that there was only one free power point in the room.The terrace is nice to sit out on for a short while as the seats are most uncomfortable. We did find the restaurant was very good with fast efficient service and also represented good value. Our waitress for the 3 evenings was excellent. There is no restaurant service on Sunday and the Monday Bank Holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    392
    120
    26
    15
See reviews for
99
508
24
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Nice modern hotel with large balcony area overlooking Girona. Our room was large, clean, good air con however the walls are paper thin. You can hear every noise from other rooms. 10 mins downhill to old town with tons of restaurants etc. Free parking was great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Being so high up on Tripadvisor and with car parking I made a booking for 2 nights. However I felt let down by 2 faults I do not think should occur in a modern hotel of this type.
1. No expel air/extractor in the bathroom so steamy ect.
2. Noisy.not enough noise insulation present in the structure of the hotel.
Would I book again ? Probably not
Shame as location is good and Girona is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beechwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaCiurana, Front Desk at AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest.

We refer to your stay with us lat May. First of all, I would like to thank you for your time in filling up our questionnaire. We are very pleased to know your stay with us was great.

It is always a pleasure having a good feed back from our guest it makes us proud and motivate us to continue working to improve and to the satisfaction of our guest.

We apologize if was found uncomfortable because the noise isolation it's insufficient, we are trying to do actions for solve this problem.
About the extractors in the bathrooms, We have extractors in all the bathrooms, if you are so friendly and can inform us about your room number, We can review if the extractor are working well.

We Thank you again, We are looking forward to welcome soon again.

Thanks again for your interest towards our AC Palau de Bellavista, We remain.

Alejandro Berlanga
Front Desk
AC Palau de Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

best hotel view ever of girona . just a ten minute walk to old town an a very inexpensive taxi to train station. we loved the large clean room and bathroom excellent air conditioning and great staff too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS, FRANCE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Even from Tripadvisor’s own comments, this hotel looks promising. It’s supposed to be one of the best in town. It used to be, I’d say. It was my second time here. Hadn’t been here in a few years and I can’t say changes have been for the best.
All rooms face this intern yard U-shaped so called Japanese zen something. The walls are thin, very thin. Next door neighbour’s hustle is heard as if he was in your room. Really noisy. I don’t think I’ve been to a noisier 4* hotel in my life.
Rooms are clean and modernly decorated. Toilet is proper though low water pressure. The hotel is up in the hill, that’s why.
View wise, although baptised BELLAVISTA (the nice view), it offers a good view, more than a nice view. Truth be told, Girona is an ugly city from above (totally the opposite from within; Girona is a most beautiful little town with lots of secret ways and charming corners to discover). The hotel has a spacious deck outlooking the city but lacks a swimming-pool. It can be very hot in the summer.
Staff was kind but too informal to be professional.
Sad to say, the hotel’s reputation is bound to fall if some upgrades from the management don’t take place.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, you'll be put up facing the Japanese Zen courtyard: a functional classic backya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherSolaFerres, Front Desk at AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mr. Paris,

We refer to your stay with us. First of all, I would like to thank you for your time in filling up our questionarie. We are very pleased to know your stay with us was great.
It is always a pleasure having a good feed back from our guests it makes us proud and motivate us to continue working to improve and to the satisfaction of our guest.

We apologize if you have had problems with the noise in the room and had no rested the desired time. We work to offer the most relaxing stay in our hotel. Our staff works to make your stay feel like in home, sorry if you found it too informal.
We Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Thanks again for your interest towards our AC Palau de Bellavista, we remain

Alejandro Berlanga
Front Desk
AC Palau de Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

When the satnav was directing us to the hotel we were in disbelief that there was a hotel up on a hillside in a typically Spanish residential area. But there it was a large glass modern building at the top of the hill beyond the housing area. What strikes you are the views from the hotel which are beautiful as you can see across the whole city. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was very nice, modern and well designed. I slept very well on the comfortable bed. The breakfast which was overlooking the terrace and the magnificent views was ok, continental and not a great variety of food but fine for one morning. It is a ten minute walk to the city centre which is ok going downhill but a bit of a hike on the way back. The city to the east side of the river is very beautiful and the architecture is spectacular. The hotel was fairly empty when were were there, we only seen three other guests on our one night stay, and there didn't seem to be any free wifi in the rooms, only in public spaces. Overall we were satisfied with the 4 star quality of the hotel in this very pretty city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DStewart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice option - there for golf in the region

Awesome terrace rooms excellent and well equipped, but no tea/coffee in room - however lack of restaurant Sunday/Monday was not good - dined in Saturday day of arrival 65 euros meal for two, had to walk out Sunday have reviewed separately what we found
Monday took room service - asked if we could have this in bar / terrace area but this was not possible?! Have to ask why? would have saved trolley service and incrased bar sales

Disappointed to find broken glass on floor 7am one morning - breakfast open and went to collect a coffee

Possibly being picky but in the trade and if manager would not be happy if staff not picked this up

Room Tip: Outward facing the inward look to other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Property: AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing