We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant exceeds expectations”
Review of Massana

Massana
Ranked #3 of 516 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant exceeds expectations”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had high hopes for Massana, given the reviews and its location in Girona. Indeed, the moment you walk in, you know you are in for a special treat. The dining rooms are spacious, tables perfectly separated and decor and tone picture perfect.

What we were not prepared for was the friendly staff which immediately determined whether they should converse in Spanish, Catalan or English and who displayed good humor, competence, and a very thorough knowledge of the evening's menu.

Because we were driving back to Figueres, we felt it imprudent to order a bottle of wine, so we asked the sommelier to pick out a couple of glasses, each to match what we had ordered. The good fellow spent 5-10 minutes prowling his wine cellar and ultimately delivered two beautifully chosen generous glasses of red wine ($wince?). (He was also very cheerful when I mistook him for our waiter and ordered a side of bread.)

The 10-course tasting menu looked like a challenge so we settled for five dishes ala carte: each was beautifully prepared and presented. The morel mushrooms as an entree was fantastico; this is a creamy dream of a dish that could turn anyone into a vegetarian (at least for the night). The faux baked apple for dessert was equally memorable (see photo).

When we departed the chef and owner Pere Massana met us at the door, shook my hand and thanked us for coming. Final touch of class for a perfect meal. Total cost: $187.00 (U.S.).

P.S.: Here are the highly rated restaurants we ate at during a 3-week trip to Paris and the Barcelona area in May, 2014:

Massana (Girona)
Kitchen Galerie, Fountain de Mars, Bistro Perigord, Le Passage (Paris)
Manairo, La Minerva, Restaurante Gorriabarcelona (Barcelona)
el Motel Restaurant (Figueres)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zososfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    82
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I made reservations for Massana before we left for Spain. Girona is the food capital of Spain and we wanted to go someplace special for our one night in Girona. We were glad we chose Massana. Excellent food and service. We ordered ala carte and found the prices very good for the quality. For starters, we ordered the cannelloni and the tuna sashimi and for the entrees, the fillet of Girona beef and the sea bass. The wine list was very good with reasonable prices. Everything was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the first glance when we entered the restaurant, we liked it. The deco is stylish and artistic with warm atmosphere. The service was outstanding. The waiter who served our table was very knowledgable. We asked several questions about the dishes and ingredients and he always had answers. Most importantly the food was excellent! All dishes were prepared with great care, full of flavour and creativity. The combination of the ingredients for each dish was perfect. The restaurant exceeds our expectation. We were really satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were here as part on an anniversary celebration. The food here was amongst some of the best ever. We have eaten at Michelin restaurants in France and Germany and this was by far the best. Service and food quality, presentation, creativity, wine pairing selections were all absolutely outstanding. We would be back here in a heartbeat, and when you compare the pricing against other Michelin style restaurants this is a winner in every way.The food presentations are a work of art and I could not tell you which was best....everything was exquisite.
Muchas gracias!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephencanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria De Palautordera, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent elaborated meal without "invents"”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is my favourite restaurant (One star Michelin) for special celebrations because it has a superb carte or taste menu with or without "wine maridage" that makes that you've to return for taste what you've not eat the previous visit. The owner is in the dining room supervising the service that is outstanding, and also to help you with the election of food according with your taste. The cellar is also excellent and the "sommelier" wills advice for wine more convenient for the food chosen. (But not choosing the more expensive, what is quite important).
I would recommend having this experience if you're visiting Girona

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaquimB509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Massana also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Massana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing