We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sant Jeroni

Sant Jeroni
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived to Monserat in the early afternoon, dropped our bags off at the hotel and set off on this hike. First off, there are a lot of stairs and not the nice, evenly cut kind. If that's a problem, you might want to try another walk. About 20 minutes into the hike, we passed a group coming down with a woman who had a bloody face and was crying. She must have fallen, so you really do have to be careful going up as well as going down. It took my husband and I a little less than two hours to get to the top with plenty of stops to "admire the view" (catch my breath) and "take another picture" (catch my breath again). The way down was faster, but we were cautious on the stairs and downward sloping areas. It was really a beautiful way to spend the afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hannabeast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    63
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely walk and fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We got the train from Barcelona, Plaça Espanya station. You need to get on the R5 line.
When we got to the station there was someone there selling the tickets to get to Montserrat via the rack railway. It is also posible to buy combined tickets for the cable car as well. You do need to decide which at this point though. The stations where you get off are different and the ticket is only valid for one or the other, not both.
These tickets also include the funiculars when you get to Montserrat.

I found the website below very helpful when working out how to get there
http://www.barcelona-tourist-guide.com/en/tour/barcelona-montserrat.html

As for the walk and the surroundings: Wow!. Such weird domed rock formations and great views. We did the walk to Sant Jeroni and then down to Monserrat
Allow plenty of time for stopping, taking pictures etc. Also take water with you as it's a reasonably long walk.

I would advise taking a picnic. The website said it's possible to get all you need when you get to Monserrat, however it was quite an expensive deli there.

There is also climbing here if you want to do it. (I didn't want to cart all my climbing gear out to Spain for one day's climbing).

We didn't visit the museum or monastery so can't comment on that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We parked our car for free at the Montserrat-Aeri. There we took the Aeri (return ticket) for the 1s part and the Sant Joan Funicular (one way ticket) for the 2nd part.

We did the "Sant Joan Funicular (upper station) to Montserrat (via Sant Jeroni and Flat of Els Ocells)" hike. It's about 7.5 km. I think it took us around 3,5 hours and we took al lot of pictures along the route.

It was amazing! Beautiful panorama views! On every corner there is something new to see. The paths are very clear, can't go wrong there :-) There are also some marks along the route which tell you how far you are and which ay you need to go. Make sure you have good shoes (running shoes or hiking shoes).

At the information point you can get an overview of all hiking routes in the area. Along our route there were no points to buy food or drinks, so bring enough with you! It can be cold and windy at the top, so take a vest or jacket with you.

We also saw a lot of climbers, trail runners, but also a lot of kids, going to the top. I can recommend it to everybody!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nootje83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

One of the most amazing walks I have done. We did the reverse of the recommended walk - took the funicular, then walked for a couple of hours (parents fit but in their 70's) to the top. It's worth it for the views alone. Path very good, but like any walking in Spain, be ready for changeable conditions. And take plenty of fluids when its warmer. We walked down all the way back to the monastery. Quite steep in places but good path.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank molari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

360 degree views, from the Mediteranean and Mallorca to the Pyrennees! An easy walk up the top from the top of the funicular. I highly recommend! Warning, it gets windy and chilly at the top! And although the walk is no more than 1 hour, you'll be taking many stops along the way for photos! Allow for 3-4 hours total and bring a picnic! Best views would be mid to late afternoon since the sun is near the Med in the morning, it's hard to get good shots!

Helpful?
6 Thank Lydia495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sant Jeroni also viewed

Montserrat, Province of Barcelona
Montserrat, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sant Jeroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing