We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember "els bells" from Carry On Abroad?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Tara Apartments
Ranked #17 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Sitges
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Remember "els bells" from Carry On Abroad?”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Quite plainly the worst accommodation I can conceive of in this otherwise upmarket town. I think that even by the standards of working class Brits abroad in the mid-1980s this would be unimpressive. In the 2nd decade of the 21st century, it is disgusting.
Walk into the pokey rooms and you are greeted with a very stale smell and horrendous dated furnishings. The tiles and grout are faded and stained. You wonder what kind of tight fisted owners have denied this place any upgrading and maintenance and yet want to charge the rates of a modern apartment?
Then you are filled with foreboding - we have to spend a week in THIS??! Then your thoughts turn to the alternatives - can we get something else immediately?
There is a pool and the building is located in a not too unpleasant part of suburban sitges (although it is not close to anything) - but why not spend just a little more and be much better accommodated on one of the pleasant hotels or apartments in or nearer to the centre of town?
I walked straight out, back to the office, cancelled and got most of my money back (lost the first night but if necessary i had been willing to lose the lot). The staff were pleasant and helpful. Sorry I did not stay in the apartment long enough to take any photos. One final note: the price guide on this page probably harks back to the days when you could get EUR1.5 per GBP.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank puertaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

they are pretty basic self catering apartments in a really beautiful part of town. very clean and the area is nice and quiet. excellent location. not fancy but very reasonable. would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: the keys have to be collected from another hotel. we weren't told this when we booked. We figure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was literally the worst stay we have had in years. It is nice to be "gay-friendly" - though in Sitges what property isn't? - but that cannot make up for an otherwise miserable experience. Upon arrival, we discovered that while the apartments themselves are not too far from the center of town and the beach, the check-in, unannounced, is a couple of miles away at an entirely different property on the outskirts of town. After we found that and got checked in by the friendly, if slow, desk clerk, we got back to the apartments to discover it is a seriously run-down place. Dark at night, with half the outside lights not working - some literally broken - we stumbled around until we finally figured out where our room was, only to find it didn't even have a double bed, just one lone single. After a call back to the reception and some consultation with a supervisor, the desk clerk pointed out that there was another individual sort of hide-a-bed that would pull out from underneath the single bed in the room (and stay at floor level, mind you). This is their idea of a place for a romantic get-away? There were no amenities of any kind in the room - no soap, shampoo, etc. - though probably we could have asked for them had we again driven to the other side of town to pick them up. We were awakened early when the pool scene got going before 9:00 AM, because there is absolutely zero soundproofing between the rooms, or between the rooms and the pool area, such that we could hear every word of the conversations going on outside the room. We weren't really into the crowd around the pool (mostly older, bald, overweight, in speedos) but based on all the laughter they did seem to be having a good time. Still, run-down rooms and grounds, inconvenient check-in, no internet, 10:00 check-out time... what is there to like about this place?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sitges hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We originally booked the Amapolla apartments but were unhappy there as they were small with no air con. The lovely receptionist in the main hotel moved us here and we paid a little more. We were much happier. Much bigger apartment ( slept 5 ) bigger living space, washing machine, well kept grounds and pool. Sunway offer free bike hire which was a plus. It's only a 5 min walk down to the beach and 15 min walk to the Church.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The accommodation itself was quite good in that for 2 of us we ended up with a large ground floor 2 bed apartment instead of the studio we thought we'd be getting. The pool and green area was nice and private. The location to the beach (3-4 mins walk) and the main centre of Sitges (10 mins walk) were perfect. There was no servicing of sheets and towels which for a full week in hot weather was a disappointment. Furthermore, the single roll of toilet paper was not replaced which I felt was a bit petty. I even met the cleaner of another unit on one day, her arms full with a giant bag of toilet rolls and asked for one (even offered a euro) but no way was I being given one! Had to trek 10 mins to a shop to get some!

The sound proofing wasn't great and on our second last night and early the next morning, I could hear a baby crying upstairs with toys constantly being dropped on the wooden floors creating a really noisy atmosphere. To be honest, as this venue is marketed as a gay friendly resort, I'm not sure if the place was suitable for children or infants. Some of the occupants of other chalets freely walked around naked (to the pool/sunbathing etc) so wonder if this would be suitable for kids. Overall it was pleasant enough but I'm not sure if I'd stay there again if in Sitges. The actual Sunway Playa Golf hotel where you collect the keys looked stunning and not that much more expensive so maybe next time...!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We decided to use Sitges as a base for Barcelona, which is a short and frequent train ride, staying at Taragay Apartments. The apartmenst were self maintain with a washing machine which we desperately needed. Apparently during summer this place 'jumps' but we preferred to relax. Great Price Great location

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perthcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.1 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Antemare
Hotel Ibersol Antemare
#21 of 38 in Sitges
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 38 in Sitges
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#8 of 38 in Sitges
667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunway San Jorge Apartments in Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Tara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Tara Apartments

Property: Sunway Tara Apartments
Address: Francesc Armengol 31, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunway Tara Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunway Tara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing