We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I told you so”

La Marinada Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“I told you so”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I promised I would not write another review of this restaurant. Why because it appeared that no one wanted to go. Now i see there are a few other exellent reviews merely echoing what I was saying several years ago.
If you enjoy absolutely the freshest fish simply cooked to a high standard then this is your place.
You need to check the opening days (as of June - I think Thursday Friday Saturday and (Sunday lunchtime only)).
I have never, ever tasted fish as good as this. Fish is cooked over an open fire which preserves the flavour while imbuing the flavour of the skin to the fish.
Remember something else this sort of fish may not be around for much longer.
Not a lot of English spoken but they smile a lot and there is an English menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    40
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at La Marinada a treat”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch at this restaurant is a treat, it's a bit expensive.
The quality of the sea food is the very best, so you have to pay for it. The four of us started with a bottle of cava, then our fist course was prawns in garlic, mussels and a portion of clams with artichokes. Very good.
We all had the same as our main course, a beautiful sea food platter, monkfish, clams, prawns, hake and sole. This was the best I have tasted, so fresh. To this we polished off two bottles of Rueda and finished off with coffee.
The bill €300, I said it wasn't cheap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomsitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sitges
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant so far”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

For those who come to Sitges and want an excellent paella, La Marinada serves the best one you will ever try.
For those who come to Sitges and want to try superb fish, La Marinada has the best choice of local Mediterranean and Basque wild fish, cooked to perfection.
For those who want meat... Excellent choice, La marinada serves an amazing braised beef "chuleton", so delightful you will not miss any French or Argentinian restaurant, I tell you.
Just be generous to yourself and try this place. For us, the best restaurant so far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laia_sitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Coming to Sitges and missing this place would be a pity...”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Definitely, if you come to Sitges for some days and really want to know how paella tastes, how the best Mediterranean fish smells or how the perfect beef chuletón looks, La Marinada is the place to go straight to the point. Their exquisite choice of wild fish, sea food and entrées means this place is considered to be the best fish restaurant in town. Of course, it is not cheap, but the value for price is outstanding.
Some friends of mine, gastronomic experts, came from the Basque country and I decided to bring them there. They were amazed by this restaurant and confessed Basque food in there was superior by far to Basque restaurants in the Basque country…
Don’t miss it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TheEmptyQuarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best fish in Sitges”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you like eating fish, then La Marinada is a must for you. The best grilled fish you can eat in Sitges. My special recommendation: Grilled Turbot. Simple but delicious.

Something more elaborated? Try the hake with kokotxas (that's hard to translate, sorry for that!) in green sauce.

My only "but": the wine menu is not that good as the food.

Just, one thing left to say is: Bon Profit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank oprunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Marinada Restaurant also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Marinada Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing