We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but not amazing!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bacardi Sitges

Casa Bacardi Sitges
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.74*
and up
Gay-Friendly Private Sitges Walking Tour from Barcelona
Ranked #8 of 59 things to do in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but not amazing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We did this tour just a day after the cava tour. So we had high expectations. The interior of the museum is so small. And one would expect much more to see after paying 8 euros to get in. We didn't know what to get, so in the first 10-15 minutes I was like, why did we pay 8 euros. Luckily it got better. They took our photo and gave it as a souvenir at the end of the tour. We tried three kinds of rum with different strengths. And the most fun part was the coctail demonstration and making experience. I was the only one to choose Cuba Libre instead of Mojito, but I was happy with my choice. The staff was correct at all times. We thought about booking online before the visit, but it not really necessary I believe. 10 minutes before the tour we got in without a problem. I do aggree that the interviews with the family members could have been a bit longer and more interesting. It is a good option to spend 45minutes-1hour of your time if you are in Sitges not only for swimming but also learning about its herritage...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillurC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    18
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff spoiled this tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The idea of the tour and learning how to make some drinks should have been fun, however the staff (tour guide and one bar tender) were rude and had no patience with the group. We were a group of 17 and there were other groups for a total of about 25-30 guests. The tour guide would not answer question or repeat himself and he let us know that in a rude way. Ending the tour with making drinks one of the bar tenders was really nasty and again our tour guide wouldn't even repeat the amount of sugar to be added to the drink when asked by on of the guests. we ended the tour and were having our drinks outside in their seating area and they didn't want to let us in to use the restroom. I have read some good reviews, but this was not the case for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bit of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was something worth doing on an idle afternoon. You get to make and drink your own cocktail which was great. Couple of areas they could improve on:
1) We booked online and they had no record of us (they blame this on the fact that you are actually booking with Barcelona Tourism Office)
2) We were supposedly to be presented with "the Barcardi family's thoughts on Bacardi" on a DVD screen - these were just 1 word adjectives - which was an absolute waste of time (whoever thought up the idea needs his/her head examining!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trebor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant afternoon activity, but avoid the horribly rude barman!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Now, I have to say, do not be put off by the vile barman - this place is definitely worth a visit. We paid 8 Euros and spent an hour of our afternoon at Casa Bacardi. We heard some history of the BAcardi family, learned how rum is made (and got to taste various ingredients and end products of this process) and then we were shown how to make a mojito and another cocktail (the one that's basically rum and coke with lime juice) and then we were given the opportunity to choose which cocktail we wanted to me and then enjoy it outside on their terrace. Given that, in some bars, cocktails are more expensive than 8 euros, this is great value for money.
In terms of the rude barman, he was abrupt, ignorant and at one point he physically pushed me out the way to get passed. Our whole group had noticed how horrendous this bar man was and, in the end, it became a bit of a joke. The director of Casa Bacardi, however, does need to have a word!
Go - it's great fun and only take an hour (which flew by).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gar82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Person at reception was very unfriendly and preferred locals above tourists. No effort to communicate

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abiorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Bacardi Sitges also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Casa Bacardi Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing